We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Nearby Hotels
$225
$218
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$46
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Treebo River Tern(Suntikoppa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Recluse Resort(Suntikoppa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Woodpecker(Suntikoppa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
211
55
13
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
55
13
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome theatercoffee estateprivate gardencommercial resorthuge collectionenglish stylebig bathtubbirds chirpingbritish eraspecial mentionfried ice creamsurprise candle light dinneroff beatmini theatreplantation walkthe cottagesheritage property
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 288 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we stayed their three beautiful nights in this new estate.welcome drink and food all things are good.staff where doing too good at their work.lighting and place is awesome to take rest and have good break.Manoj was great support to their team and tara too.,(Hospitality never fails 100% sure on that)
me and my husband really enjoyed well n my 8th month son too.coffee plantation walk was very good.sounds of bird and nature peace was too awesome in early morning.they tried to manage us well.
we always stand and support properties of FREN CREEK n OLD KENT :)
ALL THE BEST n GOOD LUCK

Room Tip: any place and any room will be good :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemapriyafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Madam
It was very nice of you to take the time out to write a review about us, especially 2 months after check out!! It was truly thoughtful of you.
It is encouragement like this that keeps our team motivated to constantly provide 'more' to our guests. Apologies for any short comings in the service rendered to you as you have given us lesser stars but we can assure you that we have ironed out most of the teething issues.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We selected the "Governors Retreat" package for our familys' reunion vacation. It was an "all paid package for 3nights/4 days".
After a 2hours drive,from Mysore Railway station,we entered a private road covered on both sides by thick Coffee trees shaded by tall, big trees. After a couple of kms through the coffee plantations,we took a hairpin bend and entered through big wrought iron gates to come face to face with an elegant Colonial bungalow (170 years old, we learnt later, the home of Lt.Col.Wright's family), sitting gracefully on well kept garden.
Manager Manoj and Tara were waiting with welcome drinks and wet towels, as if they were expecting some old friends.
They showed us around the sprawling mansion starting with the plush reception, followed by Party dining and Snooker room. The wings of the bungalow housed the Library with comfortable leather sofas and Game Room for kids on one side and the cozy Home theatre, Lovers Cupid room and boutique (the last two not yet ready) on the other side.
Then they escorted us down the pathway to our living quarters, a handful of Chalets.The chalets are independent, lined up not with numbers, but with names of English Forests, arranged alphabetically, a novel idea! We were staying at Cannock Chase, Delamare Forest and Epping Forest.Each chalet opens into a living room, followed by a huge bedroom with period furniture. The bathrooms were a destination by themselves, big, with 3 bathing areas. I liked the shower with a view of the woods and the big bath-tub made of solid rock, the sky roof giving you a view of the huge trees hovering over the chalets.
Breakfast, Lunch, and dinner were served at The Café perched high above the chalets with a 270 degree view of the whole domain of Old Kent Estate, and the hills beyond.
Was up early with the sunrise and took brisk walks through the estate, enjoying ourselves in the pure greenery untouched by pollution, construction, noise or traffic. We were lucky,one day, to catch a glimpse of a shy family of small turtles in the water pond.How did they get here ,in the first place, I wonder! We could see the plantation workers tending the coffee bushes and other trees.
Back to the open café for breakfast, a feast for a prince. The Chef,Deepak was eager to fulfill our hearts desires, whatever we wanted. He was particularly good with Indian and Chinese dishes. Each meal was a full treat. Kept us wondering what is for desert. Don’t forget to ask for Chef’s own special “Oh my God”.
The kids enjoyed on their own in the Games Room or target shooting or Archery during day time and snooker or Home theatre in the night. The elders spent lazy afternoons in the garden or on the sprawling verandah of the bungalow during the day, reading or sipping Tea with
homemade cakes and scones. In the evening we were enjoying the cool breeze in the verandah and also gazing at stars through telescopes.The wife enjoyed a relaxing massage, in the privacy of our chalet.
At dusk, the property is lit up like Alice’s wonderland, a shining jewel in the middle of the woods. One of the nights we had a barbeque dinner with a shank of Raan and kababs next to a warm bonfire!
We understood that there were other things to do, like driving down to The Tiger Reserve, Elephant Camp, Harangi Reservoir, all within half an hour drive. But with so many things to do within the property, we managed to go only to the Tibetan village.
It was difficult to part from this paradise on earth, but the thought of coming back, for sure, offered some comfort. All the staffs, so humble and caring, came out to say goodbyes with special gifts that kept them lingering in our memories till now.

Room Tip: Ask for chalets closest to The Cafe, unless you dont mind walking a bit. Helpful to work up an appetite.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank najmudin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights in this beautifull new estate. The place is fully renovated but it has kept the old colonial atmosphere with modern amenities. You could see that the owners have not spared money on quality and finishing and more is to come in the next months when spa and pool is getting fully operational.
The individual houses are roomy with a 5 star bathroom.
The place is very quiet with a lot of bird life just before your door. We enjoys also the scenery and there is a lot to see in the vicinity which makes a trip of three days very entertaining.
Staff is welcoming and professional.

One of the best marks goes to the cook. We travel a lot but this cuisine is really of the highest standard and super fresh. ! The cook discusses with you the menu and that is what you get. We went with two European couples and this restaurant got the highest marks of our two tour in south India

We definitely will come back !

Room Tip: All rooms are in independent houses , all are the same
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurens N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Even before we started for the place, the reviews on the net had us looking forward to the experience. A train from Chennai to Mysore followed by 2.5 hour drive took us to Old Kent Estate. The staff headed by Manoj welcomed us with a cool drink and a refreshing wet towel. We were shown around the club house by which time our luggage had been deposited in our chalet.

The club house consists of a lovely dining room, a billiards room, a library, a home theatre and a games room for children. Each of these was outfitted appropriately. We made full use of the billiards room. The home theatre had comfortable furniture and an enviable collection of movies to cater to all tastes. The library has a decent collection of books and one can pick up a copy and read in peace on a hammock outside. The games room has the works: A foosball table (the balls are awaited), chess, carroms, scrabble (lovely board, a collector’s item), Upwords (a variant which scrabble buffs will enjoy).

We were then escorted to our chalet. There are eight chalets, all named using forest names starting from A to H. Ours was a warm room with a king-size bed, nice sofa and chairs. A lovely touch was a note welcoming us and a vase of flowers. There was a good tv and a sturdy wardrobe. The best was saved for the last! The bathroom was gorgeous: spacious, two showers, a different kind of tub and a range of toiletries to choose from. The soaps were especially nice; also provided were shampoo, moisturizer, shaving kit, comb, a sewing kit etc. The towels were large and soft but left fluff when used: one of the very few negatives.

The food was excellent. The Indian cuisine was really exceptional, the Chinese and Italian were also good. The outdoor Café was good to have our meals in. Since we are avid bird watchers, we would take our pair of binoculars to every meal and end up spotting a few birds there!
The grounds are well-maintained. Near the club house is a small garden with a hammock and several tables and chairs (wrought iron). The chalets are a 50m walk from the club house. The paths are well lit even at night. There are large old trees everywhere and the original forest has been left untouched. This contributes to so much bird activity! In our 2-day stay, we managed to spot and identify 43 species of birds and heard several more. The most common are Malabar grey hornbill, white-cheeked barbet, golden oriole, Malabar parakeet, hill myna…one can go on and on. You wake up to the melodious bird calls every morning.

Above all this was the attitude of the staff—always courteous, smiling and ever willing to fulfil our smallest desire. Sunil and Suaib took us on a trek to see the plantation. They also picked up on our enthusiasm to see the birds and were very helpful. Once the day is gone and dinner is done, you don’t run out of things to do! There is a good Celestron telescope with which we were able to view Jupiter and four of its moons.

It is an eco-friendly resort and solar panels are used for heating water. Though appreciated, there are still some issues which can be ironed out. The waste water is also used for the garden. There are little notes on the bed and in the bathroom urging guests to reuse towels and bedsheets!

Though we didn’t leave the resort at all, Manoj was ready to organize transport for sight-seeing. Other guests did take advantage of this. The resort is getting ready to become senior and disabled friendly. There is a ramp to the club house. There are ramps to two of the rooms and toilet fittings are also appropriate. If you are travelling with one small child below 5, it is fine. For older kids, the sofa is made into a bed. It will be even better if the resort can provide an extra mattress since the room is large enough to accomodate one!

We had a fantastic holiday, with good food, nice room, relaxing atmosphere and most of all rejuvenating time. I will definitely recommend the place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Chalet "Abernathy forest" or "Bedgebury forest" are the closest to the club house. So if you don't want to walk too much, ask for these. Otherwise, all of them are equally good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GitaBhukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've been to Coorg several times as a child, but this experience at Old Kent Estate was marvellous. I really enjoyed being in the heart of a coffee estate- surrounded by nature- and at the same time, dining on international cuisine, and staying in spacious and well maintained chalets. I do wish there were more activities, especially for younger children. Overall, the stay and the atmosphere was excellent, I'd definitely go again!

Room Tip: A couple of chalets have ramp access, which is useful if guests have special needs. We saw a suite-type chalet coming up, with a lunge pool- I hope it's finished the next time I go :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fathimashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews