We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suntikoppa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balaji Villa Home Stay
Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was our first experience with a home stay, we had some understanding about home stay after listening to other people, but it was not all great. The property is easy to find and it looks great too. From facility perspective it is a fine place but as somebody else noted though the food was good but not all the dishes were in sufficient quantity. On our first day even curd was not there in sufficient quantity. On top of it we were asked to pay for food separately for 4 kids (one 5 years and two seven years and one 12 years). Though I can understand for 12 year old kid but it was never our understanding that we will have to pay for other kids too especially when I declared the number of kids in group.

Overall, it was a decent stay but not sure if we would be able to go for a home stay in future.

Room Tip: Call them and check with every details before booking or traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manish100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

So again this year we planned to Coorg and booked Balaji villa, through a website which was promising. Planned stay was for 4 days and paid advance for 2 days.
When we reached the home stay, to my surprise, there is no one to greet and welcome us. At least a smile… OMG, guess they need money to smile also. One guy who called himself as “Rajni“ came with us to show the rooms. He started to command us to leave the footwear outside, dictates us to take care of children’s not to pluck / touch any plants and started to treat us as slaves. I understand the reason for asking all these things, but there is a way to ask the guest, he was just rude. All lights focusing the lawn was switched off by 9:00PM, forcing us to get back to room. Morning alarm was the water pump sound which was next to the room. Though food was good, the way it was served was as if we are begging. He used to count number of people and get less than minimum quantity. If we ask extra, we were asked to finish it first and ask. We were also told to take care of the water jug as it was purchased from Bangalore. 2nd day morning when we are out on sightseeing, I recevied a call from Rajini saying there is a burning smell from one of the room and he has to open the room to check. Later we came to know that there was a wiring problem which he wanted to repair and used this as a trick to get our panic permission.
I felt as if they are closing the home stay. I had no options other than staying there for two days because of the advance what we had already paid. This was my first bad experienced home stay at coorg where I even did not meet the owner. Not sure if Rajini is an owner or an care taker. If he is a care taker, I am sure owner has not paid his salary.

Message to owner, if any, Please educate Rajini how to treat your guest. You get paid because of your guest. You did not have any courtesy even to call me when I sent you a SMS expressing my dissatisfaction .

To all my fellow visitor. Not sure if I had a bad time, but beware of this crazy Rajini.

Room Tip: We had taken all three room on the top. Not that great Food taste was good but quantity was poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandyr_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajivillacoorg, Owner at Balaji Villa Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Sir
Thankyou for the feedback given to us. After reading your review i got two positive points which are that you have mentioned that the food was good, i would like to thank you for the same. Second point is that you have promptly accepted that you had blocked our homestay for 4 days. But during check in you mentioned us that you have booked for only 2 days. I appreciate your promptness atleast during your writeup.
We actually blocked the rooms for 4 day after you called us and told that you wont be able to make 4 days advance payment and would be making only for 2 days, thought it was against our policy but still we considered your request and blocked the rooms for you. Now after reading your review i understod that you had prior obligations which allowed you to stay for only 2 days. Inspite of this we did not charged you for suddenly canceling your stay.
As soon as you arrived at our place rajini was there to receive you people, When your kids started playing in lawn they started to pluck the beautiful flowers which is there, rajini politly asked you to tell the kids not to pluck the flowers and you got annoyed and even said that to put a fence for the flowers and also convayed that you prefered homestay because you can do all this which is damaging the property. I would like to ask you was it impolite that we tried to protect our property. Even one of your friend also agreed to what rajini has said.
Food at our place is always prepared in sufficient quantity and because it is a buffet you are free to take as much as you can eat. But we are against wastage of the food. It is also true even in your home you would not allowe wastage of food. We also tell our guest the same not to waste the food. Rajini is there to assist you during the buffet so that you dont have to struggle taking food.
The electrical problem was genuien and we took your permission to enter your room during your absence and rectify the problem. It was a problem of a switch of water heater if unattended i might cause inconvinance to you which would be not having hot water for your use.
Lastly we wont charge money for our smile, we always take care of our guest which was evident that you enjoyed you stay at our place and also invited rajini to accompany you to chiklihole reserviour which you would have not done if you had problem during your stay.
Rajini is my brother he is not a care taker but also one of the owner of the property.

Above all i will surely look into the matter of motor which was on which intrupted your sleep early morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were really some what not comfortable in staying at home stay at first but after visiting this place our fear was converted to excitement. we had stayed in triangular cottages in this property. There is just forest on the back side.. its greenery all around with various flowers, trees with various fruits like mango, lemon, tomatoes, etc are growing. they have developed a pond with to grow Lotus.. We also had camp fire at night... it was simply superb.. had amazing family time.. they had served hot good home south indian food which was great in taste.. they also have kept activities like carom, badminton, dart game, basket ball, volleyball, swimming pool, etc so that one will remain occupied.

Room Tip: Beware of insects as its greenery all around. take necessary precaution with you. Go for triangular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PankilShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

As other travelers have mentioned, the place was easy to find. Serene.. lot of birds chirping in the morning. The accommodation is basic, but adequate. The little arbor in the lawn, the duck pond, basketball hoop, nice pathways all lend to the home away from home atmosphere. There was a carom board/playing cards for evening play. The place is very close to Chikalihole Dam.

The caretaker/host Rajni comes across as terse and reticent. This was my only complaint with my stay. But it appears he is spread a little thin handling many tasks. He did take care of our requests for tea/coffee. Food was served warm and fresh and on time and was tasty.The caretaker family seems to work really hard at running the place well.

I took away a point for the cold welcome we got. Its still a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in two of the upstairs rooms. Some noise in the morning as swimming pool pump was turned o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaykolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The reach to the place was very easy, just that you need to take the correct turn off the Highway. I have opted for cottage and it was right in the middle of the farm. One can wake up with the chirps of the birds in the morning. Cottage was clean & well maintained. The hosts were very helpful. A special note for the food it was very much home made and very tasty. A quiet and nice place and you would miss nothing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prasanna1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

It took a while to locate the place but the place is simply awesome and in winter it was more amazing. The person who looks after the place was very helpful. Food was also good, but toilet was not so good. for the given price, its a good option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikas2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Approach is very good as it is 1 minute from the Madikeri - Mysore highway. we stayed 2 nights in the cottage. The cottage is well built but could get cold so request for extra blankets. The food was good & simple (both breakfast and dinner) in a buffet style seating with 4 tables. The premise is kept clean with variety of trees and plants. There are 2 dogs as well but they are secured all the time.

The owners on one night lit up a camp fire since it was running full house and it was a good 15 to 20 minutes of warmth and getting to know other visitors. For larger groups as well up to 20 people the first floor set of rooms could be made available. Definitely would recommend this for a family or friends get together.

Room Tip: one of the 2 cottages at the rear;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suntikoppa hotels
0 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
265 reviews
0 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
0 mi away
Recluse Resort
Recluse Resort
#3 of 9 in Suntikoppa
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
River Tern Homestay
River Tern Homestay
#5 of 6 in Suntikoppa
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Balaji Villa Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaji Villa Home Stay

Address: 7th Hoskote, Tondoor Road, Suntikoppa, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Suntikoppa
Price Range: $63 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balaji villa home stay is located in Bangalore Madikeri highway, just adjacent to "Anekadu" forest range. Anekadu the name itself is self explanatory which means forest of elephant. A mere road separates the villa by forest. We will make sure your stay is greatly rejuvenating, with the environment and the facilities modifying your senses. With impressive service capabilities, we determined to treat you with utmost care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balaji Villa Home Stay Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing