We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Straight out of a book!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kedakal Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suntikoppa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kedakal Estate
Ranked #1 of 6 Suntikoppa B&B and Inns
Pune, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Straight out of a book!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

It was our first exp with a homestay, fortunately turned out to be a beautiful experience. Primary difference has to be the personal touch associated thanks to the Divakars! The place is absolutely awesome. Every corner you set your eyes on and you know why traditional cant beat contemporary on most occasions. Having said that; the extremely well maintained pool, bar and Jacuzzi doesn’t let you believe the age of the property. There are so many things about the place which appears to be straight out of a classic paperback that you read years ago… the entrance, fireplace, sitout, dining room and so on! Its perfect to just laze around in the company of the scores of books/mags placed all around the house. Food has to be fab and to see that every course is being perfectly laid out at the BEAUTIFUL dining room is just amazing! Its picture perfect and thoroughly relaxing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunjMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Trip to Coorg was the first ever vacation trip with our newly born baby girl, when she was hardly 8 months old. We flew from Delhi to Blr & from there family of one our close friend also join us. It took around 5+ hrs to reach Kedakal Estate by road as with family so we took many pit stops in between as & when the kids & anyone of the adults want. We were already aware that Aunty wont provide lunch so we bought something from one of the Cafe Coffee Day on the way as we were reaching around lunch time only but still Aunty made nice coffee & give us banana chips along upon our reaching. Than in the evening we all along with kids gone for a walk with the Uncle who gave us great brief on types of coffee< black-pepper & vanilla. He even explained us the entire process how we get coffee from beans & beans from coffee flowers.
After coming back to home we again served with wonderful coffee made by Aunty & than she got busy in preparation of the dinner. As she makes everything of her own with some help from the maid but she never allowed anyone inside. The food she cooked is out if the world, be it vegetarian or non-vegetarian she makes finger licking tasty food all the times. Thanks to my friend who didn't took any liquor along for the trip so i asked uncle if he can arrange anything & luckily he was having stock of 4 KF lager beer, which he provided very chilled & at very reasonable price. Even if you forget to bring liquor along than Uncle can easily arrange the same from nearby local market upon request. The entire house is such nicely maintained that you wont find untidy & dirt anywhere inside. Later we realized that just two nights were not enough for our stay at Kedakal Estate & to taste home cooked food made by Aunty.
None of us ever felt like that we are not at our place & on vacation. It was amazing experience & we will definitely like to refer this homestay at Suntikoppa to everyone who are planning to visit Coorg & looking for reasonable but serene place for their stay.

Room Tip: Nt many options so no need to tip for booking of any particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I arrived at the homestay frustrated and stressed due to problems with my driver and left feeling refreshed, calm and relaxed. They were so kind and helpful when I arrived. They helped me get a taxi to the Golden Temple so that I could get a break from my driver. While I was gone my driver started their plantation on fire! Luckly they were able to put the fire out with much help from their workers. I felt awful but they were so kind about the whole incident. The dinner was some of the best food I have eaten. Wonderful grilled chicken, flavorful rice,fresh vegetable and flan for desert. If you are looking for a quite, beautiful place to stay with kind people and amazing food this is great place to stay. Probably even more relaxing if your driver doesn't start the place on fire :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peace777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Excellent Food ! Excellent stay !
Amazing stay !

This should describe all what we experienced, We will cherish our stay forever.
You can enjoy your holidays by staying here, no need to go anywhere.. Live the place, love the place.........

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pratik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We'd checked out their website and reviews of the estate on TripAdvisor, and had high expectations of Kedakal. Starting with our booking, we were impressed by the level of personalization that the owners put into their customer interactions. Saying we were blown away by the entire experience is an understatement.

Despite having driven ~840 km without much rest, we couldn't wait to explore the estate's gorgeous facilities and surroundings as soon as we reached there. We were welcomed with a refreshing chilled drink and our room was cozy and welcoming. The cottage is in the heart of a coffee plantation and all you can hear is the calls of birds and the rustling of leaves -- music to our ears! The swimming pool is beautiful, immaculately maintained, and makes for a great value-add to the Kedakal homestay experience. The property has lots of quaint little nooks that add to the character and beauty of the property. My wife and I spent many hours talking and playing with our daughter while lounging in the sit-out, sipping cups of coffee, and feasting on freshly prepared snacks. Every meal was a feast; prepared by Aunty Uma who paid great attention to our preferences. Our hosts even went out of their way to prepare a particular dish that my wife and daughter like.

While there are some tourist attractions nearby, we preferred staying on the estate and enjoying all that it had to offer. The only disappointment for us was not being able to visit Garvale and spend a day by the riverside (as mentioned on the website) but were grateful for the time and effort taken by Uncle Diwakar to show us around the estate.

We chose to go on holiday to spend time together and unwind -- our stay at Kedakal helped us do just that (and put on a few kilos thanks to the sumptuous food!). We're already planning our next trip there, with more family members in tow, so everyone gets to experience the amazing-ness of Keds!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdarshVarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This home-stay should definitely be considered by anyone looking for a peaceful coffee plantation in Coorg.

We're a Canadian couple who need to visit Bangalore at least once a year and always plan a short trip outside Bangalore to have a few restful days away from the traffic and pollution. This year we chose Kedakal Estate B&B in Coorg and weren't disappointed.

The homestay looks very much as it does in pictures. The pool is very clean and in a gorgeous surrounding. The food is excellent.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. They are very intuitive in estimating how much interaction guests are wanting.

We swam, visited Madikere, played some badminton on the well manicured front lawn, played some scrabble in the evenings in a very pretty candle-lit outdoor room and had delicious dinners in another outdoor room overlooking the pool.

Overall a very relaxing and satisfying mini-vacation.

Room Tip: The room inside the house is much nicer than the one that has a separate entrance. While some review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marple2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Blair
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed from 24th Dec - 27th Dec 2011.

We reached Mysore railway station and the cab was waiting as promised. Uncle had arranged for the cab. The cab driver was very helpful n polite.

After a 2 hr drive we reached the coffee estate. The moment we saw the house and its surroundings we fell in love with it. Being from Andamans we prefer to be in peaceful n quite areas rather than tall buildings with lots of noise, like in cities. The house is very tastefully decorated. You will find lots n lots of books placed thoughtfully at various places (pool side, verandah, hall etc). The pool is beautiful n inviting. Though we didnt get in our 3 year old daughter did play in the jacuzzi.
After we kept our bags in the room, we went near the pool and auntie made coffee and hot hot pakodis and served some chips. Guys sipping on the hot coffee besides the pool in the cool climate was really nice experience. Pakodis were yummy.

Uncle, auntie and sandeep are so caring n loving, u can ask for anything without hesitating and they always are there to help with a smile.

During our stay we had breakfast and dinner at home. It would be injustice if I dont mention here that every meal was a splendid feas!!! Food was so yummy u just cant resist helping yourself generously for repeated servings. Chicken manchurian, hot upma idlis, soft rotis, delicious pork, finger chips, barbecue everything was mind blowing.

Uncle n auntie arranged for a barbecue by the pool side on christmas eve during dinner. Guys u have to experience it I tell you. They even had a cake and my daughter cut it for us, which she enjoyed so much. All of the above was on the house!! Yes!! On the HOUSE!! So sweet of them, they made this our most memorable christmas. Auntie gave my daughter a christmas present. You should have seen her eyes gleam when she saw the present.

The quad bike ride in the coffee plantation was thrilling. My daughter also took a short ride with me.

Guys the list is endless, I can go on and on. But there is no point in me blabbering so much, cos all that i want to express can only be felt if u stay there. It is to be experience by yourself. Words cant do justice to the exciting, thrilling, wonderful holiday we spend with the Divakar family.

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend anyone blindly to go there and have a wonderful holiday at this place.

Me, my wife n daughter never felt that we were at some place holidaying. It was just a home away from home for us.

Thank you uncle auntie and sandeep for everything.


Oooo I forgot to mention!! The furnitures!! Antique furnitures!!! Looked so royal.

Guys u have to go there n experience it...

Room Tip: All rooms are superb and beautifully decorated. EVery room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gopi_aish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
1.3 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
1.1 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedakal Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedakal Estate

Property: Kedakal Estate
Address: Suntikoppa, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Suntikoppa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kedakal Estate Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing