We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best properties in Coorg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Certificate of Excellence
Vadodara, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best properties in Coorg”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a 3 night stay at Windflower, Coorg and found it to be a great place to relax. The property is well spread out and is really peaceful. Maybe the very poor cellphone connectivity really contributed to the peace. They do try to make up for the poor cellphone connectivity by providing free Wi-Fi connectivity throughout the property. However, the speed of the connectivity leaves a lot to be desired. However, the beautiful surroundings of the property really does not make one miss internet connectivity. The resort has very beautiful infinity pool albeit with a very inadequate and poorly maintained shower room. The suites where we were staying were beautiful, spacious and had great bathrooms. The view from the Suite was also beautiful. One of the great assets of the property was its restaurant and its very friendly chef. Our kids had a great time in his kitchen, where he very patiently gave them cooking lessons. The food throughout our stay was great and the chef and the staff very graciously entertained any special requests we had. All in all, we had a great stay at the windflower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you feel The Windflower is one of the best properties in Coorg. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    258
    57
    19
    14
See reviews for
413
149
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We planned our 1st anniversary spending more than 14k per night.

Appreciation for:
1. Villla (spacious and comfortable)
2. Jaquesy (open jaquesy, well located was very nice)
3. Pool (aesthetic)
4. Spa (very good staff and treatment)
5. Chef (we were lucky to get good food from chef)
The hospitality by restaurant staff and especially chef was very nice.
6. All the staff except front office.

Hiccups:

To our surprise, when we reached the resort, we were requested to move to an other resort.

Reason:
We were told that the problem was with reservation software. But the actual reason was that there was a corporate check in and to offer them extra rooms, we were asked to move, which we were not aware of.

Front office Managers:

1. We were told that the other property was just 30 mins drive and they will provide the transport. My car was left in the parking. Windflower driver tried his best to help us reach the resort in 1hr 20 mins and it is 50 kms away.
2. We were told that the resort that is being provided is as good as windflower. But it is not even worth of 4k and has very bad restaurant and food.
3. After we returned, we told them that they actually spoiled our mood. So they promised us that they will do everything to make our stay memorable. They told us we can use all the facilities as a compliment. They mentioned the word surprise and told us that we have a candle light dinner. But they finally charged for few things in dinner like WATER and cocktails, which were forcefully offered by them only and which were not interested in. For this reason we were made to wait for 1 hour at the time of checkout to talk to the GM and Guest receiving officer.
4. Communication is very very poor.
Front office staff including heads needs some ethical lessons.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Anush M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that there was a problem with your reservation and there were the ensuing issues. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. We are particularly sorry that you were made to wait for some time at the time of check out. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I spent 30K on a 2-night package with all meals included.
Let's start with the positives: the property is beautiful and the suite and villa are a nice stay. The service staff is courteous and the spa service was good as well.
Now the brickbats which really spoilt it for us: the room service takes long and is poor (tea took about 40 minutes, no cups were provided even after request, just a pot of tea!), unclean linen, poor food (a full buffet for all three meals - but every dish on the buffet consistently poor in taste, kebabs were served quite cold).
If you're investing >10K per night for a relaxing weekend with all food taken care of, this is not your place.

Room Tip: Suites are better than the villas, unless you want a 4-seater and outdoor jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parthsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we could not live up to your expectations. We have made a note of your comments regarding the food and we will endeavor to improve our services. We do hope you will consider another Windflower for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This April was our third visit to windflower coorg and the most important of them all. While we were with friends for a getaway at other times, this time was the most special one as it was my daughter's first birthday. My earlier visits were not so good as the food was not upto the resort's standards and quite naturally I was a bit apprehensive choosing this location for my daughter's first birthday celebration. It would have been a disappointment had it not been for the executive chef Mr. Nandakumar, a very warm hearted person who went out of his way in arranging for the birthday party. The person who was actually responsible wasn't even there whereas the chef actually saw to that the party decor was done at the requested venue and the cake was ready on time.. This review is specially to thank him for ensuring my daughter's first birthday was a memorable one .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nivedita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Coorg. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We checked in on 29th but had prb of rooms being prior 1 month booking but they compensated us by giving 1 nite stay free with postponing our flights tickets on their own cost. After that they served us so extremely nicely with their service that we are ready to forgive all their mistakes done . The executive chef Mr. Nandkumar should not miss his food & his hospitality it's like nothing can b compared. Should visit this property for chef Mr. Nandkumar & their staff service they treat us like we r god for them .

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you feel The Windflower is one of the best properties in Coorg. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here with family during the last week of March. Nice place to rejuvenate and revitalize oneself, especially with their Ayurvedic treatments. Friendly staff. Food was just about average though, surprising for such a quality resort. Overall, it was a good experience for me & my family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamal_Chowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that you had a good stay at our resort but we have noted your comment about the food. We will look into the matter and have it sorted at the earliest. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Dear friends,

I have check inn at The windflower resort - Coorg, today at 11.00 a.m. I had done my bookings well in advance, but I was surprise when I check inn that I have been upgraded with out my knowledge, I had book 6 rooms, I was given 4 villas and 2 suite rooms and the distance between villa and suite room is too far. today at the time of check in. when i asked the reason for upgrade, i was told that big corporate group has check inn. hence they have upgraded our rooms. we are 4 couples with 4 kids. hence, we have booked 6 rooms. we were in total mood of holidays and this room settings has spoil are moods, we are unable to understand whom to settle in suite rooms and whom to settle in villas as kids are in age group of 12 - 14 years long and how to remain together as we have to send more 3 days here. we requested them to give 6 suite rooms or 6 villas but they say that they have just 4 villas and 2 suite rooms left only. till writing this review around 5.00 pm i am still at reception waiting for check inn. the resort manager is very rude and tells us to talk to travel agent through whom we have book the rooms and not to the manager. seeing reviews of windflower resort on trip advisor we had done the booking but its all gone. we have done our booking trough M/s. Heena Tours & Travels, Mumbai.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bharatvorajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry that our endeavour to make your group comfortable by upgrading your rooms left you unsatisfied. Please note that there are some factual errors in your review:
1. We never make a commitment to any group that we will give them 6 rooms in the same block as this is not physically possible given the plan and layout of our resort.
2.We had no prior intimation from your travel agent Heena Travels that you had asked for 6 rooms in close proximity.
3. We have very clearly indicated our check in time as 1 pm so in high season it is unfair on your part to expect room allotment at 11 am.
4. As regards your statement that you were still waiting at 5 pm for check in, our records show that all 6 rooms were allotted by the time your group returned to the reception after having lunch.
5. We also have on record the fact that you checked out of our resort in Vythiri only at 9.30 am and the drive to Coorg is a good 3 hours minimum so it is factually incorrect to say you arrived at our resort by 11 am.
We at The Windflower always seek to make our guests most comfortable and will go the extra mile to satisfy our guests. Your review makes us wonder whether we should review the practice of upgrading guests( which is always so highly appreciated by all our guests).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
8.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 24 in Madikeri
1,417 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
492 reviews
9.0 mi away
Evolve Back Luxury Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 24 in Madikeri
436 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
160 reviews
8.0 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg

Property: The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
Address: S.No.202/1, Kedakal Village | Suntikoppa Hobli, Somwarpet Taluk, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windflower Resort And Spa, Coorg Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing