We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homestay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suntikoppa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Flower Resort
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Homestay”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We reached Coorg 8 PM at night and were searching for "homestay". We came to know about this through online .At night it was too awesome. We liked it and immediately booked it.It was a good stay as expected."Home away from home"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilbagh_guha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    5
    18
See reviews for
21
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Having read all the reviews, I can say that although my experience wasn't all that bad, but now I feel we were too good to complain while we stayed at FF. We reached Coorg 5 in the morning and landed at a super boring homestay in Madikeri and decided to switch immediately, which is when we found FF online and planned visiting the place immediately, roughly 15 kms from Madikeri bus stand. The rates (Rs. 2100 for two) sounded reasonable on the phone. On our way to the place we realised we are either going out of this world or entering another undiscovered world. At 6:30 am we reached the property, created in middle of a coffee estate, with narrow kachcha roads. My first words were 'wow', this is heaven. It was a breathtaking view of a beautiful misty morning with small cottages surrounded by trees of all shapes, sizes and kinds. A lot of thought has gone in building and naming the place 'Forest Flower'! The lady owner was welcoming and indifferent at the same time...honestly who cares! The rooms were decent for two bachelors...especially for a getaway weekend trip. The breakfast was a super letdown, especially after a nightlong road trip. Lunch and Dinner were charged @Rs. 255 per head / per meal. All extra facility was charged separately (Bar-b-que, Borne fire, home made wine for tasting, special order like Pork in dinner). Food was just about alright, but what was bad were the attendants (never to be found). The second day the owners and attendants were dying to kick us out before 10:30 am...for next set of guests to arrive. Also, due to no connectivity on phone (except VSNL numbers) it is very difficult to organize a instant plan to move around, so it is advisable to either take your vehicle or get a per-booked cab. Honestly, the owners were not as bad as the rest of the reviews say (may be they have become better after reading all the reviews), however do not expect warmth from them, which one would expect after seeing the place for the first time!

At Forest Flower, I got what I wanted from this trip - peace, tranquility and a good night's sleep!

Although the hospitality is not so great, the sheer beauty of the place can win you over, (if you are not expecting a 5 star experience, which i didn't).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravSinghRajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here on a long weekend getaway in july.
To be honest this is not a "homestay" as claimed. This is more of a rundown resort. The location is pretty secluded- off the very narrow and lush Haroor road.

We had booked all the 4 rooms, so we were on our own. The isolation is great, but can be unnerving at night as there is no proper security and there are frequent power cuts in the area. We were a large group, so this was not a big problem. But I wont be coming here if I were visiting with kids.

The caretakers are greedy and dont hesitate to switch off the generator at the earliest.

The rooms were OK. Basic furnishings and hot water in the bathroom. A basic TV with a basic cable connection. Anyways who wants to watch TV on vacation.

The thing that was really lacking was the service. They served morning tea and coffee which were sub standard. Also, we did not realise that they were charging exorbitant rates for such poor tea/coffee.The breakfast is way below expectations as well.

We requested for bonfire one night and some starters to go with it (both at an extra cost). The starters were horrible. Strongly advise against this. Also, we had to order dinner in the resort itself. Not only, we had to order the dinner in the morning itself, it was very basic and pricey at the same time. But, we didnt have any other option as there are no places to eat in the surrounding areas.

The resort is set in a beautiful locale (see pics). However, the lack of service and the attitude of the owners left a bad aftertaste.

Room Tip: Security at nights is a concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bpbindaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Suntikoppa hotels

Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I booked this room after visiting the website of forest flower. Immediately after booking my wife checked reviews and we decided not to go there. But my Rs 2K was struck up as advance. When I asked the money back, owner was making excuses for 5 days. Finally I cooked a story that my friend will be visiting Coorg so he will collect the money. Owner agreed and we took a left turn on NH 88 to Forest Flower. To my horror, it is not at all a place for Family stay. It is deep inside the forest with almost no contact to outside world. Some people might find it adventurous, but just imagine, if there is nobody to help you out and there is a power cut or any medical urgency. There is no mobile network there.

We reached homestay and there was a big lock on the gate. This means that nobody was staying there. I was really thankful to my wife and god that I have not booked this place. It looked like a haunted house. Not a single attendant was there.Anyway we went to the owner's house(which is 500 mts away from the Homestay)and whatever we had read about the behavior of owner's were 100% true. They were really rude and unfriendly. Lady owner made us to sit for 20 mins to give our money back after noting down all details and undertaking. Somehow I got my money back and moved out of the place asap.

Never ever go to such place where you will be on the mercy of owners and these people were really really bad...please avoid

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Jitender V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Owners are horrible. No customer service at all. Customers have to follow as per the owner. No food provided. Major safety concern. Food is provided only if the owners are at their house. If they go out for their personal work we have to stave and sleep... Horrible experience in my life.. Owners are so rude and dont know how to behave with the customer...

Please do not vist this place and spoil your vacation

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Priya197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

its a humble request from a fellow traveler to not to even dream to chose this place. Major Security concerns specially when you are with ladies, due to frequent power cuts the place gets pitch dark. in case if you have any kind of emergency/situation nobody will be around to help you even if you gets killed by any crawlies bite (just in case) no communication whatsoever to the other side of the world. the So called major's wife is so rude and arrogant all she cares about is just money. Please people its my request to never try this place named forest flower.

Room Tip: this place is really not good one to any one do not chose to stay in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Magrishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Its a request to avoid this place as it was the most horrible stay we have ever experienced... the property which looks radiant from outside is equally disgusting from inside... the cottages are not well maintained, shabby, dirty and has a damp feeling... the rooms are full of insects and creepy crawlies...

The owner on top of that was a very rude person who charges a bomb for this place which is not at all worth it.

The next day breakfast served was very limited and the butter given to us was stale... It was stinking badly.

We had booking for 02 nights, but stayed only for one night and came back...

It was my worst experience.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank 304554Namrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
0.6 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
216 reviews
6.3 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
8.1 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,663 reviews
11.2 mi away
Parampara Resort & Spa, Coorg
3.1 mi away
The Ibnii
The Ibnii
#6 of 21 in Madikeri
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Flower Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Flower Resort

Property: Forest Flower Resort
Address: Nani Estate, Horoor Post | Sunticoppa, Coorg, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Suntikoppa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Forest Flower Resort Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing