We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best things in life are free”

Stodmarsh National Nature Reserve
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best things in life are free”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

OK, so you do need to like nature and wildlife to make the most of your time here.. But today we saw Konik's ponies, Marsh Harriers, a bittern, ruff, garganey, blackcaps, marsh frogs, green sandpipers, snipe, skylarks, marsh warbler, tree creepers, woodpeckers and long tailed birdtits ( won't lety you use the right name) along with large flocks of great birdtits. It was a glorious sunny day and we spent six hours here dividing our time between three hides. The walk length was about three miles. Where else could you get so much for free? We live in a glorious country and all you need is open eyes, open ears, binoculars and a bird book. No dogs and wheelchairs would be possible but quite heavy going.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank derizzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

It is a remote location and during my visit there weren't many other people around. There are plenty of opportunities for walks around the area with good pubs on the river Stour but if you are walking across the fields be prepared for mud!

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely day trip”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A lovely walk around the reserve even if like myself your not particularly into bird watching. It was a little wet when I went down but what do you expect at marshes!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bekesguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

lots to see good for wildlife good walk a good day out in the countryside

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank kahru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifull on every way !”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A real hidden gem and worth visiting. Quiet, natural and a good pub on the corner. (The Red Lion)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank PBscuderia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stodmarsh National Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Stodmarsh National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing