We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most enjoyable country house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5-bedroom 4-bathroom country house with 2-acre garden View southwards, from the deck and house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
5-bedroom 4-bathroom country house with 2-acre garden
View southwards, from the deck and house
Large drawing room with comfortable seating and wood-burning stove
Dining hall with table that extends to seat 10 comfortably.
Well-equipped kitchen
Breakfast area in the kitchen
Looking into the study
Master bedroom with super-king bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite bathroom
Guest bedroom with king bed
Guest bedroom with twins
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
One of three family bathrooms
another of 3 family bathrooms
Corridor linking the bedrooms
3rd floor landing library
Lots of private parking space for all guests
Al fresco dining pergola
Wisteria-covered pergola with teakwood dining table for alfresco eating
A stunning Spring garden
Fab views in autumn!
Fab views in winter!
Stunning five-bedroom country home set in 2-acre gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawkhurst, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
alex20139...
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable country house”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A marvellous spacious country house,well equipped and tastefully decorated.We felt at home from the moment we arrived.Close to village and within short driving distance to many attractions such as Sissinghurst,Bodiam Castle and Rye.Large gardens.Quite property with views over the countryside.Friendly and caring owners.Recommendation without any reservation.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
We are delighted you felt at home at Barnfield House, and do appreciate your thoughtful and generous review. You were wonderful guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again; there's still lots to do in the area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadescand...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Easter”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for Easter with my family, which included my parents, my sister, my nephew, his girlfriend as well as myself and my husband and daughter. The house was big enough for all of us to have our own space. The two separate living areas was fantastic for us to be able to spread out. The garden was beautiful, and there were great walks in the area. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The large kitchen
Liked least: You need to turn the water on for bigger groups or you run out of water. However, we spaced out our showers and it was not a problem.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you so much Jade. It was a pleasure to welcome your extended family to Barnfield House, and I hope we can look forward to a return trip in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_m...
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at this unforgettable property during the early May bank holiday, a large group of 11, friends and family. The property is Huge, has an uniquer character and everything you need during your stay. Local shops 10-15 min walk. We were blessed with a lovely weather and were able to enjoyed the garden. We had a bbq, played games, had breakfast on the decking, stayed until late watching the stars (when is the last time you've done this?) A short drive will take you the Bodiam Castle, it's worth a visit but not the 8.20£ entry ticket. 30 min drive will get you to Cambers Sands, a beautiful white sandy beach. We also drove to Bewl Water specially for the Blue bells woods.
We enjoyed our stay here but I would not recommend for families with young children as there are a lot o fragile decorative objects and furniture all over the house.
Jenny the owner was great, she answer all our questions and did her best to accommodate our request. Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Belated thanks for your lovely review Andreea – what an idyllic-sounding bank holiday in the country! We're glad you were blessed with good weather and were able to enjoy the garden.... kids love playing cricket, badminton and football, and on rainy days there are lots of indoor boardgames and books to entertain them. (We do advise parents of toddlers to feel free to move things beyond inquisitive fingers if necessary!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateID
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, big cosy house - perfect in rain or shine.”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed at Barnfield with large group of friends on a rainy weekend in November. Despite the dreadful weather, the weekend was great. The house is wonderful - big, but cosy and homely. Booking was really smooth and Jenny was really fast at replying to emails and queries. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

Date of stay: November 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Kate. I love your description of Barnfield House as 'big, but cosy and homely' and am glad your weekend was great despite the weather. You and your friends would be most welcome to stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueWeller...
2 reviews
“Third Stay at Barnfield”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just had our third stay at Barnfield House and as ever it was perfect. We are a group of six ladies and it works beautifully, plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, we love sitting in the spacious lounge chatting or cooking in the lovely large kitchen. The views are spectacular and Hawkhurst and surrounding areas are beautiful but to be honest we enjoy staying in the comfort of the home socialising. We are already planning our 4th trip back.

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
We're thrilled that you're staying for a fourth year running, Sue ? Barnfield House really is your home-from-home now, and we feel like family! I hope we'll finally get to meet at your 2016 reunion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Idyllic Vacation”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My family and I spent an idyllic week at Barnfield House over the Christmas period. The house is spacious with all of the amenities we required for a party of eight. The views are breathtaking. We were extremely lucky with the weather and were even able to enjoy a Christmas breakfast on the terrace! The village with two supermarkets and a cinema/coffeehouse was just a short walk from the house. We have some wonderful memories of being all together in a comfortable, beautiful, and relaxing home.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, Rochelle....am so happy you have some wonderful memories of your time at Barnfield House. The views are indeed breathtaking, whatever the season, especially from the dining deck...but a Christmas day breakfast alfresco is a rare event in England!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a get-together with friends or family”
Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Spent 4 delighted nights at Barnfield House during half term.

The house is large with 5 good sized double or twin bedrooms upstairs, 3 reception rooms and a kitchen downstairs. Plenty of room for a large group to spend time together without feeling on top of each other. Excellent water pressure in bathrooms and the kitchen is extremely well-equipped.

I personally loved the decor with its oriental inspiration. Reminded me of happy times in South East Asia.

The garden is huge and perfect for exploring (and exercising small children).

Lots of good walks or running routes direct from the front door.

We visited the Black Pig and Queens Inn in the village; both excellent although I think the Black Pig was our favourite.

Camber Sands only 30 mins away. Perfect for kids in any weather. Aquarium in Hastings worth a visit if indoors is the only option.

Overall, really excellent accommodation with all the comforts of home. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
We're delighted your family enjoyed their half term break., and really appreciate your lovely review. WE love having multi-generation families to stay, and as you say, there's plenty of room for a large group to spend time together without feeling on top of each other! And kids love playing ball games and exploring the gardens. I wonder if it was your kids who created a wonderful 'den' by the pond...it looks wonderful and the wild ducks seem to like it too!
(Sorry for the late reply...I have only just realised I can reply on Trio Advisor!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing