We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Hawkhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Although Hawkhurst may not be prominent on everyone's holiday radar, it is ideally situated for visits to some of England's most outstanding gardens (Sissinghurst, Scotney Castle, Merriments, among others). The Tudor Rose B&B is bright, clean, and comfortable. Our bathroom was especially nice, and breakfast is plentiful, and adapted to individual tastes (e.g., scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, full English, porridge, etc.). It is an easy walk to pubs in either direction, with good meals and local ales. A nice place with a cordial, friendly host.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prairiewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are so right we are central to many beautiful places to visit the beach, castles, gardens and large shopping centres all within 30 minutes or less.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Tudor Rose for two nights in mid-May and wished we had stayed for three. Our host Rose Marie was friendly and very helpful and our room was clean, spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was separate but ours was the only room on the third floor so it was like having our own private suite. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. I had just about everything including oatmeal porridge which was the best I'd had in years. The location is convenient as Bodiam Castle and Sisinghurst Gardens are nearby. The Oak & Ivy pub which serves very good traditional pub food is only a ten-minute walk away.

Room Tip: The third floor room is very nice since you get your own private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BytownSunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind words they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed just the one night as we were visiting friends in the area. The B&B is well located, nice rural setting but easy to find and nearby to a good pub serving traditional food of good quality and price. The accommodation is immaculate and the attention to detail of the owners second to none. Our room and bathroom were spotless and the breakfast was freshly cooked and very good. The picture does not do the B&B justice, it looks like a normal urban town house and it most certainly is not! We would certainly stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Our room had a separate but still private bathroom. The larger red room has an en suite. The smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated, we have been working on the gardens during the summer and although we can't do anything about the look of the house the gardens will help improve the look. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We do take on board comments and are continually looking for ways to improve our guests stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The purpose of my visit was to attend a family funeral. It was a sad and difficult time. Rose Marie was extraordinarily kind and patient. Absolutely nothing was a bother, it was just like being at a friends house. We needed to make up some funeral flowers and she allowed myself and my sisters ( who were not her guests) to use her garden and let us borrow some items from her home to complete the flowers. I had the best eggs and bread for breakfast and an amazing shower before relaxing in a comfy clean bed. Rose Marie gave myself and my sister a lift to the church.She is a compassionate and empathetic woman who makes you feel very welcome but does not impose on your privacy . Highly recommend her hospitality

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyforrester5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure to meet you and your sisters. I was only too glad I could help on such a sad occasion, of course it is very easy to be kind to nice people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I travelled over 500 miles from Scotland to stay with Rose Marie & Michael. We stayed in the Red Room which was fantastic. Our stay began with Rose Marie coming out to meet us in the car park with a lovely welcome. She then showed us to our room. The Red Room was lovely and large as was the ensuite bathroom. The shower was terrific.From the fluffly robes, slippers and towels to the chocolates and bottled water left in the room to the lovely toiletries - we had eveything we wanted. There was also plenty of local information in the room for you to read. Rose Marie was also very good at helping us with her local knowledge. Breakfast was out of this world. On our first morning we were offered Porridge - what a lovely touch for us Scots. The quality of the food on offer was fantastic and freshly cooked to your requirement. It was definately value for money without a doubt. This is a five star B & B and then some. Thank you very much Rose Marie and Michael for looking after us so well we really appreicated it. We would not hesitate to recommend staying at the Tudor Rose.

Room Tip: We loved the Red Room but I am sure it wouldn't matter which room you had they would all be equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was an absolute pleasure meeting you both. I hope the trip gave you the information you needed for your family tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed for one night in the Red Room after attending a function at St Ronans School. It was superb. The owner couldn't do enough for us. Lovely big room with a lovely en suite. It was so nice to have a good power shower too. Very clean and breakfast is awesome. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. Would defiinitely recommend Tudor Rose B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: The red room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here following a wedding in Ticehurst. Lovely house, really clean and well- maintained room, very friendly host, superb breakfast and excellent value for money. Attention to detail was much appreciated - dressing gowns in room, fantastic shower, quality toiletries - what's not to like?!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richw1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hawkhurst hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#1 of 8 in Hawkhurst
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#7 of 8 in Hawkhurst
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Orchard Way Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Tudor Hall Rye Road, Hawkhurst TN18 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hawkhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkhurst
Price Range: $55 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Rose is a small, family run, 4 star Bed and Breakfast, located on the outskirts of the historic village of Hawkhurst. We have three double rooms, two en suite and one with private bathroom all rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, Freeview TV/CD/DVD and Wi-fi internet access. Breakfast is served in the dining room between 8am and 10am Full English or Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Rose Bed And Breakfast Hawkhurst, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing