We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
36
7
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
7
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 46 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Tudor Rose for two nights in mid-May and wished we had stayed for three. Our host Rose Marie was friendly and very helpful and our room was clean, spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was separate but ours was the only room on the third floor so it was like having our own private suite. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. I had just about everything including oatmeal porridge which was the best I'd had in years. The location is convenient as Bodiam Castle and Sisinghurst Gardens are nearby. The Oak & Ivy pub which serves very good traditional pub food is only a ten-minute walk away.

Room tip: The third floor room is very nice since you get your own private bathroom.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BytownSunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind words they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed just the one night as we were visiting friends in the area. The B&B is well located, nice rural setting but easy to find and nearby to a good pub serving traditional food of good quality and price. The accommodation is immaculate and the attention to detail of the owners second to none. Our room and bathroom were spotless and the breakfast was freshly cooked and very good. The picture does not do the B&B justice, it looks like a normal urban town house and it most certainly is not! We would certainly stay here again when visiting the area.

Room tip: Our room had a separate but still private bathroom. The larger red room has an en suite. The smaller room was at the top of the B&B and up two sets of stairs. We would probably opt for the red room for a longer stay.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated, we have been working on the gardens during the summer and although we can't do anything about the look of the house the gardens will help improve the look. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We do take on board comments and are continually looking for ways to improve our guests stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The purpose of my visit was to attend a family funeral. It was a sad and difficult time. Rose Marie was extraordinarily kind and patient. Absolutely nothing was a bother, it was just like being at a friends house. We needed to make up some funeral flowers and she allowed myself and my sisters ( who were not her guests) to use her garden and let us borrow some items from her home to complete the flowers. I had the best eggs and bread for breakfast and an amazing shower before relaxing in a comfy clean bed. Rose Marie gave myself and my sister a lift to the church.She is a compassionate and empathetic woman who makes you feel very welcome but does not impose on your privacy . Highly recommend her hospitality

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyforrester5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure to meet you and your sisters. I was only too glad I could help on such a sad occasion, of course it is very easy to be kind to nice people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I travelled over 500 miles from Scotland to stay with Rose Marie & Michael. We stayed in the Red Room which was fantastic. Our stay began with Rose Marie coming out to meet us in the car park with a lovely welcome. She then showed us to our room. The Red Room was lovely and large as was the ensuite bathroom. The shower was terrific.From the fluffly robes, slippers and towels to the chocolates and bottled water left in the room to the lovely toiletries - we had eveything we wanted. There was also plenty of local information in the room for you to read. Rose Marie was also very good at helping us with her local knowledge. Breakfast was out of this world. On our first morning we were offered Porridge - what a lovely touch for us Scots. The quality of the food on offer was fantastic and freshly cooked to your requirement. It was definately value for money without a doubt. This is a five star B & B and then some. Thank you very much Rose Marie and Michael for looking after us so well we really appreicated it. We would not hesitate to recommend staying at the Tudor Rose.

Room tip: We loved the Red Room but I am sure it wouldn't matter which room you had they would all be equally as nice as the other.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was an absolute pleasure meeting you both. I hope the trip gave you the information you needed for your family tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed for one night in the Red Room after attending a function at St Ronans School. It was superb. The owner couldn't do enough for us. Lovely big room with a lovely en suite. It was so nice to have a good power shower too. Very clean and breakfast is awesome. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. Would defiinitely recommend Tudor Rose B&B to anyone.

Room tip: The red room is superb
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieB604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARIE1185, Owner at Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews