We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Summerhill Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summerhill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hawkhurst B&B and Inns
1 review
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Chris and Jacqueline provided a very warm welcome on our arrival. The room was large with en-suite and a nice powerful shower. The facilities in the room were well thought out, including fresh milk with tea/coffee (not sachets), fresh cooked biscuits, and all the usual extras (TV/toiletries etc).
The bed was firm with nice pillows. The room was warm, airy and quiet.
Breakfast was high quality and catered for all preferences. There were two loafs of fresh bread and homemade jams. The full english was made with high quality ingredients and the dinning room impressively decorated with wooden panels.
The house is dog friendly
We will definitely stay again next time we visit - and bring "Archie" our springer spaniel next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenTrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have now been visitng at Summerhill on my trips to Kent for a year. I always look forward to the warm welcome and hospitality provided by Chris and Jacqueline. Beautiful house, garden and rooms. Great cakes and breakfasts. What more cuol dyou want. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennieBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesterhire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely, tucked away haven with really welcoming hosts, set in lovely gardens. Breakfast is top banana!

You won't go wrong staying here.

Only slight minus' are A) that rooms not en-suite, but bathroom is private and for your use only and is 3 steps along the landing, with bathrobes provided to wear there and back, and, B) the road to the front is a bit noisy until about 10pm-ish, but this was only noticeable due to having to have windows wide open on hottest night of the year.

I'd certainly go again without hesitation :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpybumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I booked the twin beds' room for one for one week because I had some research to do in the Kent/East Sussex area.

Location: The central location made it easy to commute to the vineyards (for work) and the National Trust castles and gardens (for leisure). I like how Hawkhurst has a good selection of eateries and supermarkets for quick bites.

Hospitality: I popped a tyre while heading to their home and Chris went out of his way to help me get back to Summerhill safely. Upon arrival, Jacqueline had tea and cake ready and they were superb. The selection at breakfast is amazing (tasty scrambled eggs!) and the food is always fresh. Chris and Jacqueline's knowledge of the area helped me plan my leisure trips after my work was done each day.

Room: The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The bathroom is two steps away from the bedroom and I didn't feel that privacy was ever an issue.

Overall, Jacqueline, Chris, and Bo made the one week stay absolutely wonderful and memorable. I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone considering to stay in the Kent/Sussex area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

With friends, booked both the double and twin bedrooms which overlook the lovely garden. Rooms very pleasant and bed extremely comfortable. Chris and Jacqueline served delicious tea and cake in the conservatory on arrival and their suggestion for dinner at the Black Pig pub was a good choice. They bought in advance some special foods for one of our party with dietary needs. Amazing choice on breakfast menu. A really delightful couple. Service could not have been better and excellent value. Excellent central location for touring round the area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My partner stayed here one night while we attended an event at Bedgebury. Mr and Mrs Schalburg could not have been nicer or more helpful. Our room was nice and the bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. I have a bad back and had a great nights sleep! We overlooked their beautiful garden and it was a lovely quiet calm place to stay.The breakfast was really yummy and beautifully cooked. Mr Schalburg really went above and beyond and got us out of a sticky situation with a lift. If you are looking for a comfortable, reasonable, friendly place to stay in Hawkhurst then look no further.

Room Tip: We overlooked the back garden which was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendtraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have now stayed at Summerhill on several occasions and this is a real home from home. Jacqueline and Chris (and Bow) make me very welcome each time. Rooms are wonderfully clean and the breakfasts are excellent each time.I look forward to time spent here, not often you can say that for a work/ business stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennieBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkhurst
3.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchard Way Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#1 of 7 in Hawkhurst
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#7 of 7 in Hawkhurst
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Summerhill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Summerhill Cranbrook Road, Hawkhurst TN18 4AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hawkhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Kent village of Hawkhurst, relax in this attractive 1930's house, set in a pleasant garden. 4 stars with silver accolade, tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy traditional hospitality, home made biscuits in your room, tea and cakes on arrival and a warm welcome. Locally sourced produce for tasty breakfasts, Close to Sissinghurst and Great Dixter Gardens and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill Bed And Breakfast Hawkhurst, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing