We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 2 night stay in Kent....too short!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holt Bed and Breakfast

The Holt Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benenden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Benenden B&B and Inns
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 night stay in Kent....too short!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a marvellous long weekend break in Kent, staying at the Holt. We had a beautiful twin-bedded room, with small but perfectly equipped bathroom, beautifully furnished and with divinely comfortable beds. The spot is lovely, very quiet and a garden to sit in and enjoy the welcoming tea and home-made delicious cake on arrival. Kate and Tim are delightful hosts and the breakfasts are truly excellent, including delicious home-made bread, toasted, and Kate's marmalade (thankfully available to buy and bring home!) We were blessed with gorgeous weather and all the doors and windows were thrown open onto the tranquil garden, just perfect. We ate each night in the Bull which has a good menu , including traditional pub dishes well cooked and nicely served, and a very good Merlot! This really is a wonderful part of kent and the villages are gems.....we visited the magnificent garden of Great Dixter, and also the lavender fields in Shoreham. On the way home we stopped over at Dungeness, cameras at the ready!
We cant wait to return and look forward very much to staying in this truly delightful B&B again. We felt totally relaxed and at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic break. Beautiful home, and you really feel welcomed into Tim and Kate's home.
From the homemade cake and tea in the garden when we arrived to the chit chat and helpful advice, we had a lovely meal in the Bull.
We visited with friends who were visiting from Australia they loved it too.
The breakfast was so tasty local sausages and bacon. Kate's art work is fantastic, I just loved the Morris dancers at the top of the stairs.
We just felt so relaxed and at home.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBS_Ferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Set back from the road and surrounded by trees and open farmland this is a real gem. Well decorated and maintained, with some of the Host's paintings decorating the Breakfast Room this is a well thought out B&B. The adjacent village is a "picture postcard" with two greens, two pubs, a large church and a village shop and butchers.

Room Tip: The Bluebell Room is a twin with a double aspect over the garden. But the shower room might not suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent attention to detail. It was a wonderful experience, located in an interesting village in a beautiful area of Kent, and with very gracious hosts. The full English breakfast was great. The house has a lovely garden, and our bedroom plus ensuite was very comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croweater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff on Sea, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is probably the most quintessentially English area of the UK. The Holt is the perfect place to stay for a visit to the Garden of England. A traditional looking Kentish style cottage hidden away behind a little wooden chapel.

In snowy mid winter the room was comfortable and the hosts welcoming. This is a cottage and so the rooms are not massive by American standards but the property has been sympathetically modernised with superb attention to detail. The experience is of perfect comfort but in an authentic country cottage. As mentioned in other reviews there are nice touches, like the torches for exploring after dark and the excellent information about the surrounding area.

We normally stay with family down the road but that will change from now.

This is a great area, with vineyards to visit, pretty villages, castles, heritage railways, golden sandy beaches and dunes and good walking all around and any type of shopping experience within 30 minutes driving.

We will return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek_Rides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I am a B&B newbie. But I have to admit, The Holt in Benenden is better than any hotel I have ever stayed in. My room was immaculate, the bed was very nice - every comfort was provided. Kate and Time were incredibly hospitable. My breakfast was delicious! I cannot recommend The Holt enough. Book it now, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Chezzer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything was every bit as good as previous reviewers led us to believe. The room was comfortable, quiet, spotless and had everything one could need, with the added bonus of fresh flowers. The cooked breakfast was perfect together with the home-made bread and jams.
Torches and umbrellas were provided for our evening visit to The Bull (is there a more authentic English pub in the country with a better ambience?). And, saving the best till last, the delightful Kate is just as lovely and friendly as it is possible to imagine. If you are visiting the area and looking for a hotel, stop right now and book here. I can assure you that you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benenden
2.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.9 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
4.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Hall House B&B
Beacon Hall House B&B
#1 of 4 in Benenden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Holt New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Benenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holt bed and breakfast provides comfortable quality b&b accommodation in a rural setting with non-smoking ensuite accommodation. The local picturesque village of Benenden, Kent is a short walk and Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter at Bodiam, Smallhythe, Tenterden, Pashley Manor in East Sussex and Rye a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holt Bed And Breakfast Benenden, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing