We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and the best customer service”

The Bull at Benenden
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Benenden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maidstone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food and the best customer service”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited The Bull yesterday for Sunday lunch. We were 4 adults and my 2 children (ages 1 & 2). The staff were extremely helpful with us throughout our whole time there. The roast dinner was delicious, with 3 choices of meats (you could have all 3 if you wanted). Even though we were full from the roast, the desert menu looked too good to pass up, and we were not disappointed. We had Creme Brulee, waffle, sticky toffee pudding and chocolate cake. All can be recommended.
Great value for money and will definitely be visiting again soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    87
    25
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good honest food in traditional pub atmosphere”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a lovely evening experiencing the heart of a traditional pub with great food. Attentive staff, but not overbearing, delicious food and a really friendly atmosphere. It is not a restaurant so has a much more relaxed feeling with people playing darts, meeting friends and just enjoying time. Great to be in a the heart of the village life.
Fish and chips were just stunning, excellent batter and the mash-topped fish pie with quails egg inside was one I will go back to have again! The pies are varied and interesting and the veg were simple but perfect.
5 people mains and puddings and 2 drinks each £110 ! (Didn't need puddings but could not resist!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahR2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pretty good all round.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Friendly service, prices not unreasonable, food generally very good, although we thought the pies a little on the dry side. My steak was excellent, slightly overdone but the meat was so good it didn't really matter so I didn't niggle. An excellent Shiraz by the glass from the list of bin ends was a bargain.

Next time we are in the area we shall drop by again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabloDover_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top class food in a Top class pub”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful stay in Benenden,and we visited the Bull on about 4 nights,and the food and atmosphere was superb.The pies are not cheap but they are first class,as was the fish and chips and belly of pork.This is a thriving pub,which is superbly well run by landlord Mark and his brilliant team.I would strongly recommend this pub,it ticks all the right boxes from location,food drinks,superb real ales,service and atmosphere.Advisable to book as even mid-week evenings are very busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This pub uses fresh local food, has a decent chef and serves a good selection of ales. What more can you want? It's not 'cheap' but worth paying a premium for. It is well worth the trip (and much better than the Black Pig which is also owned by the same company I believe).

I would have given it a 5 except on one trip my friend accidentally knocked into this elderly lady who demanded that we buy her another drink. The staff looked rather confused about what to do - in the end we were not paying for her drink - but it would have been nice if they had told her / us this as it ruined our evening a little.

Still, not the pub's fault, just a snobby area full of blue-rinse old women, you have to expect it in Benenden.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phatwajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull at Benenden also viewed

 

Been to The Bull at Benenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing