We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
9
5
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild animalsnature loversthe cottagesabodehornbillsheavenjeepdrivetrekkingplacemr
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 16 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2016

Chimma, the host, is truely amazing. We come often to the place and enjoy the fact of being in the middle of nature. You need to like the simple life since there is no electricity. Rani cooks amazing local food and takes very good care of the guests.
This peaceful pearl is for nature-lovers...pls don't spoil it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indigo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Vishy explained very well about this location, accommodation etc. I visited this place two years ago with 12 office colleagues. Amazing place and planning to visit 2nd time shortly. We went to falls and enjoyed leeches bites , still spots are in our body :) If you love to stay in jungle , its one of the nice place. Its better to go in a group so you can have a good time there.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soumen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2015

This is a pretty long review - read it if you are really interested to find out about this place. Plan to spend about 5 minutes here.

We were 3 - me, wife & 3 yr old kid. This place is extremely remote. No electricity, No mobile - forget Wi-fi / Internet. For some this is bliss, for others this is an issue. Be prepared for a rural tourism type stay, with nearest doctor being about 10 kms or 1+ Hrs away. Go prepared with your medicines like cetrizine, avil, disprin etc. The place has a decent sized stream and a private waterfall. Ideal for those who don't mind the leeches. We did not go up to the fall as we had the kid & only 2 of us. This place gets a bit lonely if you are just a couple - it will be fun if there is a group of about 4-6 folks. Majority of cooking is on firewood - which gives the food it's taste, they do not use oil or minimal oil. Pure rural type atmosphere with cows on the fields, smoke billowing out of the kitchen and a lot of local birds around like Drongos, King fishers, Hornbills etc. Your car cannot reach the place, it gets parked about 5 Kms before the stay @ the Owners house. Thereon, you are in his Jeep that goes thru some real tough terrain. We went there after a cloudburst, and I was thankful that I left my car as advised. The jeep traverses into the western ghats, thru thick coffee plantations, slushy muddy slippery road, a river - enough to give you a slip disc if you are not holding on tightly... A Xuv500 type vehicle might be able to pull it thru on a dry day - but on a rainy day - I would advise to take his Jeep. There will be one dedicated cook, and that increases depending on the # of people. Since the place is very remote, do NOT expect room service on call, or microwave. If required, he will pitch tents for you to sleep under the stars - next to the stream. Be aware that there were 4 guard dogs, only 2 are left - reason? - dogs natural predator. Only kerosene lanterns and LED battery powered lanterns are your source of light - along with fireflies :)

Place is very good, and given its remoteness, services offered are good for the price. You will be the only human settlements in a approx 5 Km radius in the middle of protected ghat forests. That should explain things. All we could see/hear was mist, mountains, sound of water, rain, absolute silence, crickets, birds chirping away & the full moon rise behind the hills. see photos I've put up along with this review.

Rooms were neat, although, I would recommend you carry your own set of bedsheets/blankets if you are a cleanliness freak. There are 2 rooms next to each other. each room can acco 3 adults on 3 beds. Hot water is available with the boiler being set by burning wood by 7 AM.

There is a swing on a tree and a few chopped blocks put for sitting / lazing around. No Hammock.

I did see a snake (looked like a rat snake) in the stream - snakes are shy creatures - don't disturb them - they will eventually go away.

Was very careful / cautious to take kid to the stream; once you check the place out thoroughly, it should not be a cause of worry. Just be around the kids when they are playing.

I would advise against alcohol abuse here - since the docs are not immediately available in case of an emergency & you don't want to be stoned while others are having a good time. Lots of Ants & insects - so ensure you lock your suitcases, bags upon each use. Don't leave biscuits/ bread crumbs etc behind - it will be your fault. Be responsible when you visit this place - it takes a lot of effort to maintain such remote places - appreciate it. We took back whatever plastic wrappers etc. we could to dispose them off at the town.

The Drive to the place (till where my car reaches) was no hassle - google map for it and you are done. Mr. Chimma (The owner) was available at a road split point and he ensured we followed him thru till his home. We were in constant touch - no issues. Avoid cars that have a smooth suspension like City, Civic - it will get scrubbed a bit- don't worry - but just letting you know.

Overall - a satisfying, de-toxing, de-stressing stay - we missed having a couple friend with us - it would have let off the boredom go away - since we were there for 2 nights & 3 days. Ideal if there is a group of 4-5 folks. anything more than 6 - will put a stress on the resources. The food does get repetitive if you do not provide options and are staying for a longer duration (2+ nights) - so - do talk to them and let them know if you need anything specific - it needs to be sourced - and that takes time (>8 Hrs). Remember, there is firewood + bonfire - so smoke around you while you eat/ drink / socialize - asthmatics - make a note - carry whatever you have to. On a clear day (or when there is a gap in the clouds for over 10-15 minutes during noon), Sun comes down pretty harsh - I & Kid have sun burn - be prepared.

If you are looking for room service, beer, tandoori food on call, comfort, AC, TV - this is not the place for you. you need to belong to a different cadre of traveler to like this place.

I drove from Bangalore to Mysore - Nagarhole, Kutta and to his place.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Vishy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Worth spending our time in the midst of nature. You are surrounded by greenery everywhere and if go for a trek take some precautions as there are lot of Leeches around. Its very nice place to Laze around and enjoy the nature. You can indulge in some activities as well like playing Volleyball/Football.
Food was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Accommodation was also good. There is no electricity but you will be accompanied with lamps in the rooms.
Overall its a nice place to laze around and have fun. We were 6 of us (friends) and we enjoyed our stay here and the hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kouz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015

Our travel group(10 of us with 2 kids an an infant) nailed this place since few of them from the team had been to this place. Beautiful place to be with nature and at times it can take you back to the memory line of your childhood. Electricity - not being there will not affect you at all if you are a nature lover. Our group is not a demanding group since we expect certain bench mark of service for every where.

To reach this heaven on earth you need to have blind faith since no sign boards anywhere and to add the beauty there is no network to call.Roads!!...pheww we had trouble with our car . Though the owner say even a Maruthi can fly in! please don't give in. Only SUV will pull you up.

The day we landed a lovely lunch was waiting for us with all natural herbs and organic vegetables etc. What I could see is, gradually spread was reduced and the quantity was too less for a 10 member team. Most of us do not have any side dish for the second serve. If any one of the team member is "late" for lunch , then better adjust with the things what ever left behind. When we asked for it the owner Thimmaiah cooly says" its over ", no attempt even made to say anything more or any quick fix!
BBq had done for us by them , however saga continues. Corn, sweet potato all those one plate of it came for 10 of us. Need to mention that Chicken BBQ on the first day was delicious how ever second days was burned. For that also he said, because we use charcol!!! phewwwww. Don't look for that "exotic" coffee in the morning since your in Coorg! adjust what ever you get . I had to get to the kitchen and ask the helper to re do the coffee!.
The owner was helpful to get us juices and other add ones from the market since he was on that root every day.
River trek was amazing however we had issues since kids along. Though the difficult rocky side of it was never mentioned to us even though repeatedly asked. Most of the time the activity promised in and around ,we were adjusting with the timing of Mr Thimmaiah than he is available to take us around.
3 days trip come to an end with the owner over charging us !!.The beauty of the nature and simplicity of the stay is ruined by the poor services like this .

People who are planning to visit there please make sure you set your expectation right with the owner and make sure you get a better service than us!
When you are on a holiday all we look for is good place to stay, good food and good service. If only one of the above you get, then better we look out else where.

Nature at the most beautiful form is found however we cant call this is Heaven on Coorg! I wish it was......

Room Tip: Only 4 Rooms available, no electricity so no need of writing much about the rest. Views from any room is breath taking.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laxy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews