We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Coorg Blossom HomeStay(Srimangala)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
$21
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bombay Residency(Mangalore)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 3397 Hotel Kudla Rasaprakash(Mangalore)(Great Value!)
$26
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
9
5
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild animalsnature loversthe cottagesabodehornbillsheavenjeepdrivetrekkingplacemr
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 16 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2015

Our travel group(10 of us with 2 kids an an infant) nailed this place since few of them from the team had been to this place. Beautiful place to be with nature and at times it can take you back to the memory line of your childhood. Electricity - not being there will not affect you at all if you are a nature lover. Our group is not a demanding group since we expect certain bench mark of service for every where.

To reach this heaven on earth you need to have blind faith since no sign boards anywhere and to add the beauty there is no network to call.Roads!!...pheww we had trouble with our car . Though the owner say even a Maruthi can fly in! please don't give in. Only SUV will pull you up.

The day we landed a lovely lunch was waiting for us with all natural herbs and organic vegetables etc. What I could see is, gradually spread was reduced and the quantity was too less for a 10 member team. Most of us do not have any side dish for the second serve. If any one of the team member is "late" for lunch , then better adjust with the things what ever left behind. When we asked for it the owner Thimmaiah cooly says" its over ", no attempt even made to say anything more or any quick fix!
BBq had done for us by them , however saga continues. Corn, sweet potato all those one plate of it came for 10 of us. Need to mention that Chicken BBQ on the first day was delicious how ever second days was burned. For that also he said, because we use charcol!!! phewwwww. Don't look for that "exotic" coffee in the morning since your in Coorg! adjust what ever you get . I had to get to the kitchen and ask the helper to re do the coffee!.
The owner was helpful to get us juices and other add ones from the market since he was on that root every day.
River trek was amazing however we had issues since kids along. Though the difficult rocky side of it was never mentioned to us even though repeatedly asked. Most of the time the activity promised in and around ,we were adjusting with the timing of Mr Thimmaiah than he is available to take us around.
3 days trip come to an end with the owner over charging us !!.The beauty of the nature and simplicity of the stay is ruined by the poor services like this .

People who are planning to visit there please make sure you set your expectation right with the owner and make sure you get a better service than us!
When you are on a holiday all we look for is good place to stay, good food and good service. If only one of the above you get, then better we look out else where.

Nature at the most beautiful form is found however we cant call this is Heaven on Coorg! I wish it was......

Room Tip: Only 4 Rooms available, no electricity so no need of writing much about the rest. Views from any room is breath taking.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laxy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015

We were a group of 8 adults and 2 children ( aged 7 and 8 years)and an infant ( 1 yr). We set forth with a lot of expectation as was always expected of any home stay in coorg. We had set our mind to have a relaxed and quite time here. What unfolded was a series of horrible experience.

We kept in touch with the owner Chimma and on his insistence we even deposited money as advance into his account . On the day of the travel it was chaos as the owners phone was unreachable most of the time . Finally when he actually came on line and called us he promised us that somebody will be standing at a pre designated place with a board to guide us to this home stay. The drive itself was long and when and when we finally reached the place there was nobody to receive us or to guide us to this home stay. We asked a few localites and somehow tried to reach the owners place. The drive on those narrow roads for three cars with none to guide was really taxing and stressfull. Finally we retraced our steps to the predesignated place and tried calling him again .. after repeated attempts he called us back and told us directions to reach his place .
We found a person who was heading that way and told her to guide us to this home stay. We were finally on our way.

About 1/2 a km into the drive we say the roads were really bad. We had travelled in a Scorpio , a Duster and a brand new honda city. The scorpio and the duster managed to cross but the honda city took a beating . Huge stones blocked the way and the car with its low chassis slipped and one wheel went into a ditch . Again with the help of local people we lifted it up and finally at about 5 pm we reached this place.
When we asked the owner why he did not mention about the bad road as we could have hired a jeep , he just simply kept saying its only 100 meters right??
Since it was the beginning of the holiday we did not want to rake a fight and had our lunch . Finally we settled in and pitched our own tents . He had promised us that he would pitch his tents but there was none in sight .

The next day he said he would take us to a bird walk . When we finally got ready he said he had to go to town to pick some provisions and that we should enjoy in the check dam . The check dam had brackish water and was very very dirty . The owner when we booked the place had told us that there was a beautiful check dam with clean and fresh water but when we saw this it was black and dirty.

He also promised us a good spread of food items with fruits . The fruits were kept only the first time and dissapeared from the menu thereafter. Simple food was repeated for the entire duration of our stay .

The owner took us to a river trek . As mentioned earlier we had an infant and inspite of repeatedly asking him if it was safe he insisted that all was ok and took us on a water bed ( half dry and half wet ) route . The area if full of leach and very soon all the members in the group were screaming and shouting as the leach had clung onto
our legs in huge numbers . We had a great difficulty to take the child on this route and kept telling him to take us back . Finally we ended at a small puddle of water and a small water fall ( almost like a big water tap ) nd he said we could relax there. We insisted that we come back and shouted at him for bringing us on this treacherous route .

Finally when we had to pay our bill he quietly overcharged us Rs 4000/- . It was very expensive with 2000 for adults and some other bills he trust on us . We realised that we had been overcharged and promptly called him back upon reaching bangalore. He first insisted that he had not cheated us but later accepted that he had cheated us and finally told us that he would clear it and pay us online . After a few days he again called us and gave us another story that he had not charged us for a lunch and said that the account was ok .

No bills were given at all . We paid 39500/- and no bill was given to us at all. This guy is a cheat and one must be careful dealing with him . We have been victims and nobody should go through what we went through .

Hope this email does sound as a warning to people going to this place and dissuade them from going there.

Room Tip: Pls dont go there
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank pachibale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015

It's been more than 3 weeks we have visited this place but still i have been talking to all about the memory which i carried for life. We were a group of 4 friends who wanted to adventure into some wild life trekking and that's when someone suggested about this place. Even though I have visited Coorg many times it has still been one of my favorite places in India for a holiday. After visiting a place many times you will definitely develop some basic expectations, so we all planned having the same. While driving to this place I had no Idea that i will be ending up reaching Heaven. This is something like what you see in paintings or some photoshop work where you see a small cottage surrounded by mountains, overseeing a fountain and next to a river. I know its hard to believe but its true. We were awestruck to believe what we were seeing. It's heaven by real mean. After reaching we were greeted by Mr. Chimma(owner of the property). I have never met someone so gentle and humble and a super host like him. He is much much beyond any managers of top 5 star hotels. Now the surprises started, Mr. Chimma took us for river trekking, which i never experienced going through a river till its inception to the top of the mountain. It was amazing to feel the most natural water. we could taste the sweetness of the water and its pure and clean. We enjoyed the release water (you have to experience it). then i did try swimming for first time. Then he took us for a wild tour where he explained the various types of wild fruits and plants available and their benefits. The best part is the night safari. Its like a deep inside the jungle in dark mid night is a different thrill, early morning trekking was a different experience. Food is naturally prepared with organic elements. It's must visit place for a holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dkp2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful place to visit with friends and family away from the hustle and bustle of city life.. Great weekend get away. Feel one with nature and the place is run by some really nice people who take care of their guests very well.

Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
11  Thank Ram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2015

Best place to relax and unwind.
quite
calm
delicious local food
best host
fresh air and water
nice 4*4 jeep drive
trek lover friendly
nice waterfall
local wine is good
service is also fine
the best, clean & clear water to drink.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank girick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews