We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BelHome Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madapura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BelHome Homestay
Ranked #1 of 2 Madapura B&B and Inns
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Gracious hosts Vijay and Ramolla. Finger licking home made local/coorgi cuisine. Aromatic freshly brewed coffee. A very companionable Tigger, Flowers blooming.. the cottage surrounded by bougainvillea, endless stretch of coffee plantations. The place surely has a lot of charm.. you can just sit , relax and forget everything.
I was getting little worried as the approach road wasn't as good and this was our first ..very reluctant home stay, but one look at the place and I was already regretting the decision of only a day's stay !
This is my first review too ... I had to write and recommend:) for the place and more so for the hosts ...both were simply superb.
However, please keep it in mind its no fancy place(no TV/liquor/music/shopping avenues and little far off from town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Vaishali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was my son's second birthday and we decided to do a road trip to Coorg from Bangalore to celebrate the occasion. I searched for homestays in Coorg and found many of them, however owing to exceptional online reviews for Bel Home, decided to go with them. And the decision turned out to be the best leading to the most fun filled and wonderful experience at Coorg.

Our hosts - Vijai and Ramolla treated us nicely and like a family. After arriving at Bel Homes, we were never made to think as if we were just tourists visiting Coorg, but were made to be a part of the family from the start. All our requests were catered to perfection and they ensured to take care of even the smallest of needs.

Ramolla even took extra effort to procure a cake for our son's birthday even if it meant to go 25 kms from their place to Madikeri town. I could never thank them enough for this wonderful and memorable experience. Needless to say, I am going to recommend Bel Homes to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jiteshkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I booked with Belhome after reading exceptional reveiw about Belhome. And surely, the people who have been there before were absolutely right.

It felt like we are meeting an old and near relative after a long time. Mr. Vijay and his wife, Mrs. Ramollah are exceptional! Vijay was kind enough not only to spare time to show us the coffee estate but also took extra step to show us a point about 7 kms from Belhome away which is a great view point, better than Rajah's seat and which we would have never known and relished but for him. We got treated like family and were happy to know more about the Kodava's culture by viewing a beautiful ~20 minute documentary. Very informative and what a progressive community it is, I must say.

Meeting and talking to Uncleji and Aunti ji (Vijay's parents) was our privilege. Uncleji is always very upbeat about life and Auntiji is an epitome of innocence and grace. We have been to several hotels and stayed on vacations, but nothing, nothing comes close. This was unique. Their hospitality, the natural lush green plantation ambience is something to be seen and expereinced and words will fail miserably to describe it.

Mrs. Ramollah took special pain to serve us vegetarian south Indian delicacies you will never find in restaurant (Idli like preparation with grated cocounut, rice thread noodles and my favourite plain Dosa with lots of cocnut chutney and their Arabica Coffee! Exceptional foof served with lots of love and warmth.

When we were leaving, like a family, they asked us to call back when we reach home in Bangalore. We will cherish these memories for a long long time and hopefully, God willing, would love to go there again. Jeevesh Kumar, White Field, Banaglore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeevesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hats off to Vijay, Ramolla and their parents for the warm-hearted and friendly company we enjoyed over the weekend. This was our first homestay at Coorg (or Kodagu as it's called now) and we loved every minute of it.

It was a long drive from Bangalore to Madapura but a picturesque one. The view along the road was beautiful after Mysore with undulating land. We stopped at Kushalnagar to admire the Tibetan monasteries which glittered in the pale sunshine.

By the time we reached the winding roads of Coorg, it was late afternoon. We went through Madikeri and finally hit Madapura. The last kilometre was wild since the road was a winding rut on the slope of a hill. But, it was good fun to drive up to Bel Home.

We had accommodation in the log cabins on the estate. There were people to help us with our overnight bags from the car to the cabins. The walk to the log cabins is through the garden. There were lovely flowers in bloom.

The log cabin has got all the basic needs a traveller would have. A good comfortable bed, a clean bathroom with not just running water - hot water too, a nice sit out in front of the room with comfortable camp chairs as well. It was heavenly to sit in the verandah sipping amazing coffee (grown in the estate) and crunchy biscuits listening to the chirping of crickets and birds returning home for the night, the rustling of leaves and the swishing of branches in the gentle breeze.

Our hosts, Vijay and Ramolla took a lot of pain to ensure that we were comfortable. It was great chatting with them about life in Coorg - the history of the Kodavas, the history of their estate, farming in Coorg, growing coffee and pepper, changes in demography, schooling and pets. I thank Vijay and Ramolla for their graciousness in interacting with a curious set of travellers.

Our son had a ball of a time with Tigger and Sheeba, the two pet dogs on the estate. Tigger was the quiet one who would be close to our heels for the walks we would have taken. Sheeba was the frisky one whose joy was to run and fetch stones, twigs and branches that were flung away. At the end of the stay, my son confessed that he was not sure who was more tired - he with his throwing or Sheeba with her running!

The food at the estate was super! It beats all high class hotels anyday. The spread was awesome, the food was wholesome and very very tasty. Meals are laid out on the spacious verandah in front of the guest cottage. There was a nice breeze at night keeping things comfortable at dinner time. During the morning, the view from verandah was pleasant - flowers in the garden, trees around and the slopes of wooded hills of Coorg.

All in all, Bel Home was a memorable experience and we owe that to not just the lovely local environment. It's also what the hosts of Bel Home have done to make it memorable. Thank you very much, Vijay and Ramolla.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrrahulghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Highly recommended to all those yearning experiencing spending their vacations in a Coorg coffee estate amongst unspoiled natural mountain surroundings and serenity.
The lodgings have been maintained in excellent condition; neat, tidy and extremely clean. The Corgi cuisine served was truly a gourmet delight. While being there I felt as if having stepped back through time into glorious history past of coffee estates.
Vijai and Ramolla Deviah as hosts and their friendly Coorgi nature, attitude and hospitality went out of their way to make us as guests feel very comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A wonderful homestay, in the midst of coffee plantations, with very welcoming hosts, Vijai and Ramolla and their two perky dogs. This place is highly recommended if you want a short break away from civilization! They have a few cheerful, spotless (but not fancily furnished) rooms with comfortable beds. The place is surrounded by a beautiful garden and a sprawling coffee estate which is perfect for walks.

This is not a fancy, modern place with gadgets and televisions (electricity is erratic and the generator and a wood stoked boiler are used) but a very welcoming old style, tranquil place with plenty of fresh air and delicious home cooked meals with excellent Coorgi (local) food if you wish (alcohol is not available on the premises).
The road from Mysore is very bumpy so you need a comfortable car; driving there during the monsoons is not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been coming to India every year for the past six years, each time spending three weeks over the Christmas Holidays in this amazing country. This time I decided to go to Coorg as a part of my Southern India journey, which also included a week-long stay at Shin Shiva, another excellent spot (aruyvedic resort) in Kerala. Bel Home stay was my choice for Coorg, as it had such consistent positive revues from other travellers. And my goodness, was it not ever wonderful to spend four blissful days with the most gracious hosts I have ever had. Not only were they attentive and genuinely engaged in my activities, questions and stories, but made an effort to arrange some local hiking, and sightseeing. They took me on a tour of their coffee plantation, where I saw the coffee harvesting, and showed me other crop they grow,such as pepper and cardamom. This large, sprawling property has been in their family since the late 1920s, when Vijay's grandfather bought it from an Englishman. I enjoyed lengthy walks with their lovely dog , Tigger, who provided much reassurance in the mountains I didn't know. I walked on and on, and loved the gently rolling hills, the sublime, exotic scenery full of coffee plantations and occasional sighting of workers, harvesting coffee. Vijay and his wife Ramolla showed me a documentary about the Kodava people, who are native to this area, which only became a part of India in the 1950s. The home-cooked food was wonderful, and they made an effort to serve a different dish each day. All in all, an experience to remember!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madapura
7.7 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
11.8 mi away
Dreamland Homestay
Dreamland Homestay
#5 of 8 in Kushalnagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Kadkani River Resort
Kadkani River Resort
#1 of 1 in Ammathi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
10.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
9.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BelHome Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelHome Homestay

Property: BelHome Homestay
Address: Bellarimotte Estate, Madapura Post, Madapura 571 251, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madapura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belhome is situated in a coffee plantation and is run by the owners of the plantation.The food that is served from the Coorg Cuisine and is prepared from locally procured products.NO electronic entertainment [TV]is provided as the guests are expected to explore the outdoors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing