We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenic and serene surroundings”
Review of Evolve Back, Coorg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Evolve Back, Coorg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Siddapura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Orange County Coorg was a wonderful luxurious destination. We travelled by car from the Orange County Kabini resort. Stopped at the Golden Temple on the way in and then traveled to Coorg. We informed the hotel that we were coming from Kabini and would like to see the Golden Temple. They did arrange for the "naturalist" hotel/tour guide to meet us there. We had a wonderful tour with Ganish. He was enthusiastic and was excited to teach us about the site and the area.

We arrived at the Hotel which was about 1 hr drive from the Golden Temple. The Staff was waiting for us and greeted us with, cool towels and a local beverage. The staff immediately took over and walked us through where we need to go and how the property is arranged. We had an assigned person to go with us to the room and lets know how the villa worked. Very nice touch. She went over every detail of the property and the villa. We had the private pool villa which was exquisite. The room are basically a nice suite with a living room, kitchenette, separate bedroom with office desk area. There is a nice sitting type area with an atrium as you come in, this allows for more seating, if needed. We were only two but if you have guests or extra family this gives you sitting room. The bedroom was nice and large and the bathroom was equally impressive. The bed rustic looking and matress was a little hard, but with an upgraded mattress, that room will be perfect. There were 4 access points to the outer area, 3 in the back area of the villa i.e., and entry door. Very secure property with beautiful trees, greenery and wild birds, lake fish, turtles and otters to enjoy.

The food was very good also and was all included in the stay. The bottled water/hard drinks and room service are extra. There is a water purification system that they use for drinking purposes for those not wanting bottled water. There was 3 designated restaurants. The sit down dinner was our favorite as you ordered from a menu and the meal came piping hot to your table. We also ordered room service and the menu had a variety of things. The Pork red chili curry was our favorite. I nice option to have and a slightly different menu to try. The private living quarters are so relaxing and inviting you want to stay and enjoy the place.

The outside area on the private pool villa (ppc) was just awesome. The views are spectacular. The sounds nature all around you was so wonderful and calming. The private pool is warmed by the sun and gets adequately warm to enjoy. The pool may be too small for a family but for relaxing and soaking in the sun it's perfect. There is also an adult pool not too far off that is large and a family friendly pool that is by the main office that is designated for kids and activities. You can sit and chill or go get out and do many activities. Walking around the complex itself was a nice nature walk. There is a fishing pond and a green house area where all type of plants are grown. You can get a latte at the reading lounge if you so choose. Tried the Ayurveda treatment as well. Well it was a different experience not your conventional spa treatment and I can now say I've done that too. The facility takes credit cards so at check out you can by directly with you bank card. All in all this is a wonderful facility and the staff is terrific.

Room Tip: If you have children do not get ppv 901 as the barrier to lake is low and they could easily fall/cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed with my family for 3 days and it is a memorable vacation. It is better experienced than explained here. Bungalows, nature, three restaurants, passionate guides, coracle ride, cycling in the village, walk in the nature etc are simply out of the world and the Staff is really the icing on the cake. Once you have visited, you will also appreciate how Eco responsible the management/staff is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sreerama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

we had stayed at orange county coorg for 4 nights in April.-2014

First the Positives- The rooms are good and the people right from the chefs to the house keeping and buggy boys are fantastic. they always have a laughing face and greet the guests.

Negatives.- The Last 28 km stretch is pathetic and no one has bothered to tar the roads. Though the rooms are good, they need to be made Sr. Citizen friendly and handicapped friendly. The food is good not excellent. The renovation of the granary restaurant is taken at a wrong time when the resort is full causing lots of Hardship. The make shift restaurant is at the basement near the pool and each time we have to get down steps and climb the steps causing hardship especially for the elderly people.

Though we had ordered food in the room,by the time the food arrived it was cold . There is no proper arrangement made to carry food to the rooms.

Quality of Coffee and tea served was also of not good quality. In a place were coffee is grown, they should have taken care to serve good quality Coffee / tea.

They should maintain more Hygiene levels in the canteen while cooking food. We had ordered some sandwiches in the room and there was a living caterpillar in one of the sandwiches served. Even my parents fell ill after eating the food,

None from the Senior Management staff apologized for the mistake that they had done. All of them hid away . This is not acceptable for a resort of this category.. the lady Neetu who was supposed to take care of us and was calling us every day to find out how we were vanished at the time of our departure date. Someone from the reception handed me over a souvenir and sent us off. they were waiting when we would depart..No one had the decency to apologize. This was when I decided that I would not visit this resort again nor recommend this to nay one else. After paying exorbitant money that they charge more than any resort with this kind of service, it is If better to avoid this place .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeCountyResorts, General Manager at Evolve Back, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings to you!!!

Thank you for your valuable comments, and for having chosen to holiday at Orange County, Coorg.

At the outset, we whole-heartedly apologize for all the inconveniences caused during your stay. We do realize our clarifications will not make up for your experiences. However, we would still like to clarify a few points.

We fully agree that roughly 10 Km of roads, especially the last stretch, is not in good condition. These are public roads that are owned, constructed and operated by the government. However, we are constantly working with the local authorities and government officials to improve these roads.

The up gradation work at the buffet counter of the Granary restaurant was undertaken due to an emergency. The short duration work simply could not be postponed due to the nature of the issue. We knew that some inconvenience for the guests could not be avoided. Additionally, guests also have 2 other restaurants, the Peppercorn and Plantain Leaf to choose from. We apologise for the inconvenience.

As our resort is spread out and located amidst 35 acres of tree filled coffee plantations, we usually encourage our guests to enjoy the outdoors and dine at our restaurants. However, for senior citizens, we offer room service on a complimentary basis. During room service, the plates and accompaniments are always covered with silver foil. This ensures that the food is safe even while covering the long distance from the restaurant to the rooms under the canopy of Giant Rosewood, Wild Fig and Jack fruit trees. We realize that despite all these measures, being surrounded by nature is sometimes challenging. We apologise for the presence of the caterpillar in the food tray. We have taken up the issue with our Executive Chef and the F&B Manager so that the staff is briefed to be careful. Our Sr. Executive Chef came personally to your villa and apologized for the inconvenience caused and our F&B Manager met you the following day and apologized for the same.

Regarding the quality of tea/coffee, we have an in house brand of coffee called Sidapur, rated as one of the finest coffees in India. In fact, we do not keep instant coffee in our villas, but instead we carry Roast & Ground French Press Sidapur coffee. We would really appreciate it if you could tell us the venue where you had this coffee, in a mail sent to info@orangecounty.in
Due to the shift system followed at the resort, the same guest relations executive is not available all the time. However, a guest relations executive is always available on call, always.
At Orange County, Coorg, while most of the villas are wheel chair friendly, we have one villa that is especially created to suit the needs of the physically challenged. However, these are allocated usually on special request only.

We assure you that being a customer oriented organization, we will take up each of the concerns that you have raised in your review with all due seriousness and make necessary amends to ensure that our services and offerings reach the standards expected by discerning guests such as yourself.

We sincerely hope you will choose Orange County as your holiday destination once again.

Warm Regards,

General Manager – Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels/resorts I have stayed in.The bungalows are out of this world with every comfort that you could possibly need including a private pool with Jacuzzi! Flowers scattered everywhere .The restaurants are superb(we tried 3 of them during our 2 night stay). Breakfast is served in a delightful restaurant overlooking the pool and if you need to go to any of the other restaurants they send a golf buggy to take you there.Special mention to the vegetarian restaurant, the chaat starter was delicious.Enjoyed the free cycle ride to the local village and the tour of the coffee plantation with excellent guide.Could find no fault from arrival to reluctant departure .A bonus was seeing wild elephants just after we left.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanrobinson190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Class resort to stay and relax on our leisure .

One should stay back to enjoy the nature and get list in the nature trails.

We with our children experienced the beauty of nature and the resort with which

we hold great moments to cheer and suggest everyone should at least find time to stay and relish the food and service of the crew membs of the resort

Enjoy the lyf
Haffun with Orange County -coorg

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Amazing time in Orange County, coorg... From banglore airport to coorg was a tiring 6hrs drive.... But once we reached it was Heaven on Earth.....luxury at its best.
300 acres of plantation of coffee and pepper including 36 acres of resort with private pool. Staff were proactive and welcoming and took care of even ur slightest needs. 3 Restaurants to choose from with different themes. John and his one of the team member pradeep was awesome in keeping our rooms clean and refilling chocolates for kids. You have to do activities like Bird watching, plantation walk, fishing, fish feeding, paper recycle work shop, local Dance and many many more.....my kids just loved it. Next is Orange County Kabini....

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Joseph0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

5 Stars to the resort.
Listing the factors that make me strongly recommend Orange County:
1. great, well trained and smiling staff ( special mention to the team at Activity Cenre- Mr Ganesh and to Mr Murthy- who made the untrained ornithologists in us, love the fauna and flora of the place)
2. good, simple, cultural evenings- that make one closer to the beauty of Indian culture
3. great housekeeping staff- huge estate and superbly maintained
4. staff at Granery- for the great food and going out of the way to ensure my 5 year old was pampered
5. Superb housekeeping staff who taught us how to make towel monkeys and swans- simple, sweet boys who surprised my children

The drive from Bangalore is long but the stay makes it all so worthwhile!!
A must visit!!

Room Tip: Villa with a pool and jacuzzi----- amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbikaKhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siddapura
16.1 mi away
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
17.7 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
516 reviews
16.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
8.6 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
258 reviews
10.3 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolve Back, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolve Back, Coorg

Address: Orange County, Coorg | Orange County, Coorg - Karadigodu Post, Siddapura 571253, India (Formerly Orange County, Coorg)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Siddapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Siddapura
Price Range: $420 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evolve Back, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the legendary river Cauvery and surrounded by virginal forests,Evolve Back, Coorg or Evolve Back Chikkana Halli Estate, Coorg the new name of Orange County, Coorg is a 300 acre working plantation resort perched at a height of 800 m that gives you the most luxurious introduction yet into the deepest secrets of this mystic mountain. Come, allow the spirit of the land to infuse your very being and coax you gently on a personal voyage of discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evolve Back, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange County, Coorg Hotel Siddapura
Orange County Hotel
Orange County Kodagu
Evolve Back, Coorg India/Siddapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing