We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding 100+ days ....”
Review of Evolve Back, Coorg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Evolve Back, Coorg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Siddapura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The first time we stayed here was in Oct of 1997 on our honeymoon. We just fell in love with the place and since then we have not only become members but been staying here every year. As of last year we have stayed at this amazing place for more than 100 days. I guess, we are truly qualified to say "Orange County" is "Our home away from home" and the staff "our extended family". Let me start with the location, spread over 300 acres of lush organic coffee estates, beautiful lake and away from all the bustle is phenomenal. The rooms are luxurious and food mouth watering. Activities are aplenty and everyone of them brings closer to nature. However, above all stand the staff of Orange County, both at the resort and at their head office, always making us feel like we are part of "Orange County" family. My family on numerous occasions have refused to deposit Orange county for an exchange and insisting on heading towards Coorg for our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srikanth_munipalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had gone to Orange County for relaxation, but i did exact opposite of the same. There are so many activities and not even one should be missed !!!
First day we went for a bird spotting tour and that completely changed my outlook about nature. I had never seen birds as such varied , beautiful creatures. Hats off to the naturalists at the resort to turn an absolute city person into a nature lover.
Only suggestion, either take a real long trip, ( if affordable) or avoid a few activities at your own loss !!! I had stayed for 3 nights and wish that i had booked for 5 . You really need extra days to enjoy the wonderful rooms.
The food is great and the chefs and team make you enjoy the same. Peppercorn is a gem and must be booked in advance.
Only place that I could recall which did not have a minibar charge. Everything was complimentary and you could ask for refills .
Being rugged natural outdoor, the pool area gets dirty with dry leaves etc but the cleaning facility is just a call away. Very prompt and fantastic service at such remote location.
Must visit.

Room Tip: Pool Villas are obviously the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NISHITH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent a couple of days at this resort with my family. We had booked a Private Pool Villa which was very spacious and beautiful. Our villa also overlooked the lake , where we could spot birds as also turtles ! Overall , this resort is huge and simply beautiful - we loved it , because we wanted some quiet and relaxing time for ourselves. We had a great time with food , thanks to Chef D C Nath of the Peppercorn restaurant , who would personally ensure that we got all the things we loved , including some fabulous sea bass. He also ensured , that the special 'moonlight' dinner that we had booked separately , was serviced perfectly . There was a strike called by a local political party and the area was shut down to traffic , the day we were to check out - and the GM of this place Ms.Kanthi was generous enough to allow us to stay on till 5 pm, and then checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhaskar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

would have given 5 rating if they had not messed up our reservation at peppercorn deliberately
good points
1. rooms are extraordinary,spacious, pool clean
2. reception is good people friendly
3. greenery is the best part
4. rest- all are good peppercorn best though not children friendly
5. room service excellent
6. no expenditure after entering the resort- RO fitted, clod drinks,sodas,cashews all supplied daily
7. bird watching ,other activities very nice
some people need mention john of house keeping, anita of reception, ganesh of activity center were very good
minus points
1. pool quite cold in winters
2. cancelled our resv in peppercorn without information because some people were fighting for it in front of us.
3. travel from bangalore

Room Tip: ppv are good lake view can be tried if u dont want absolut privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohitgupta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeCountyResorts, General Manager at Evolve Back, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings to you!

Thank you for your feedback and compliments on Orange County Resorts.

We have investigated your feedback in detail and have found that your room number was not noted by our staff when you booked a table at the Peppercorn restaurant. We apologize for the same. Additionally, as all the tables were booked on account of high occupancy, we could not accommodate you at the Peppercorn on the same day. While the Restaurant Manager has already offered you an apology for this, we would like to once again state that we are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused during your holiday. As you are aware, we have three restaurants at Orange County, Coorg. Peppercorn, the barbeque restaurant, is mainly meant for couples who would like to have a fine-dining experience in an intimate setting while the other two restaurants cater to families.

With reference to your feedback on the temperature of the pools, the reason we don’t provide for heated pools is because they are a drain on the country’s energy resources. However, off late we have successfully experimented with energy efficient technologies and will heat the pools in a phased manner using the same.

If you could mention to us specifically what you disliked about your journey to Orange County, Coorg from Bangalore, in the form of a mail sent to info@orangecounty.in , we would be happy to receive your feedback and look into the same.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Warm Regards,

General Manager – Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Orange Country, Coorg as a family in the summer of 2010. It was a very pleasant stay in the cottages, in the heart of the forestry. We enjoyed the silence and the scenery. The trips to Madikeri and also to the Elephant Country on the Kaveri were well organized. The coffee bar in the resort was just wonderful. The evening festivities were very enjoyable. Of the restaurants, we loved the one which was food south of the Vindhyas, and fully vegetarian. The buffet lunch and dinner were nice, but the food could have been nicer had it been a la carte as was the case in the separate restaurant further on.The arrangements were very good, and we really did enjoy the stay. This review is really late, but thought that we should record our experience. Note that we had travelled in May 2010 but that is not allowed as an option below :-) as we are filling out 3 years late

Room Tip: Wish we had chosen a villa with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

it was my birthday and Coorg has been a place i always wanted to visit since Vivanta Taj had opened their resort in Madekeri and being their member and hospitality, I wanted to visit that place. But when I inquired about the place on tripadvisor, it was orange county as no:1 and no compromises can be made when you have to make the birthday a special one.
Since the time I started with the booking inquiry from Priyanka to holiday designer Kartika who joined the conversation after making the confirmation, their sincerity and persuasive techniques were humble. The best was the itinerary designed by Kartilka which stood as the USP of the whole trip.
The journey towards orange county was not so nice as roads were tiring and pathetic especially a 20 km stretch within the rural areas. But on reaching the Hotel their warm welcome and perfect cold coffee was superb. The room was nice with a private pool and the best part was the food quality. It is truly a nature's paradise and food lovers heaven. Their cooks, waiters and su chefs everyone was excellent. Cultural show was also great and they presented amazing card and small bouquet with cake and made me feel very special. There is restaurant called plantain leaf which was not that nice and they keep asking you for feedback which becomes a hassle at one point in time. They have an excellent policy of smiling all the time and wishing namaskara. The ambiance is great and I loved my vacation and highly recommend it for honeymooners. Hoping that package can be customized by reducing the meals and giving another day to let the guests enjoy three night stay in package than 2, as more than half time goes away in journey due to distance.

Room Tip: prefer lilly pool cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went to Orange county Coorg during last week of December and we completely enjoyed our stay. We started from Bangalore and had an overnight stay at Aishwarya Suites Mysore which was suggested by one of our friends. Orange county is wide spread and we had a very relaxed holiday as everything was properly arranged by the staff right from the time we entered. Good ambience and good service by their courteous staff. Nice experience and comfortable stay. They had also arranged for some entertainment shows which we enjoyed and also the program that they arranged for New year's eve was good fun. Since we had travelled a long way from Ahmedabad, we wanted a comfortable drive to orange county. Since it is not far off from Mysore, we preferred to travel by car and the Mysore hotel arranged a nice cab at a reasonable price. So overall a nice holiday experience. I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjub45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siddapura
16.1 mi away
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
17.7 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
522 reviews
16 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#2 of 26 in Madikeri
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
8.6 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
263 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Ibnii
The Ibnii
#5 of 26 in Madikeri
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolve Back, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolve Back, Coorg

Address: Orange County, Coorg | Orange County, Coorg - Karadigodu Post, Siddapura 571253, India (Formerly Orange County, Coorg)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Siddapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Siddapura
Price Range: $427 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evolve Back, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the legendary river Cauvery and surrounded by virginal forests,Evolve Back, Coorg or Evolve Back Chikkana Halli Estate, Coorg the new name of Orange County, Coorg is a 300 acre working plantation resort perched at a height of 800 m that gives you the most luxurious introduction yet into the deepest secrets of this mystic mountain. Come, allow the spirit of the land to infuse your very being and coax you gently on a personal voyage of discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evolve Back, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange County, Coorg Hotel Siddapura
Orange County Hotel
Orange County Kodagu
Evolve Back, Coorg India/Siddapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing