We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kadkani river resort,ammathi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kadkani River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ammathi
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
2 reviews
“kadkani river resort,ammathi”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

great trip!

we visited the resort for three days,and had been sceptical at first as we had no idea how it would be.all our doubts and fears were put to rest once we reached there.the service, people and food are incomparable to many places we have visited all over the globe.

it was like 'home from home',we didn't feel like returning back to our city.the staff and management were very very smiling,willing,courteous and helpful.the food was varied. many choices, fresh and extremely tasty.the cottage lacked nothing and there was a choice of activities to pass one's time. the ambience is great and so destressing and it's also very safe and beautiful.all help is given in any way possible.an unf orgettable experience which we will not forget, anddefinitely repeat when possible:)). Lilian Oliver

Room Tip: we stayed in cottage no.102 which was perfectly located,not too far nor too close to the reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    101
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
151
41
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Traveled to this resort with a group of 18 people on a weekend. Firstly the drive to this resort is great lot of plantation and away from all the hustle and bustle. Rooms were spick and span and was sized generously. They had a great variety of food served at the restaurant and had number of local specialities too. We tried a couple of activities plantation walk was relaxing and still water rating was fun and not to be missed.

Highly recommended for anyone wanting to escape into the stillness of the nature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmsundeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Cons:
1) Service: The intercom facility doesn't work. We stayed for two nights and the staff kept reassuring that they are working on it, but it was the same way, disconnected, when we checked out of hotel. So if you are staying in a cottage far from reception, for every small thing you have to go to the reception, even if it is raining. So basically you can't order food in the room, can't get water when required, can't contact anybody for anything, and with no coverage (Airtel + Vodafone) you are totally stuck.

2) Cleanliness: When you enter the rooms for the first time, you'll find them great, spacious etc. etc. But in some time you'll that the floor (room + bathroom) is not clean, with ants, dust everywhere. Adding to that you'll find lizards in the room. Again you can't contact anybody.

3) Overpriced: For a place/room priced at 8k+ per night the facilities were not up to the mark.

4) Food: Food quality is good. Breakfast is good. But in the dinner they only have a buffet option. On insisting, they arranged for Ala carte option but quantity of the servings was very low. For eg. for 8 people, we had to order 5 servings of Dal, for which in general one can manage in 2-3. And, the menu is fixed (3-4 items), out of which you have to choose. Definitely not expected in an expensive resort like this.

5) Location: The resort is located atleast 30-35kms away from any tourist attractions that Coorg has to offer (Talakaveri (70km) Dubare (30), Kushalnagar Golden temple (50), Madikeri city (30-35)). So it is very tiring to go to any of these places as for every 30kms of journey you’ll atleast take 1 hour due to narrow roads.

Pros:
1) Look and feel of cottages are great with lots of greenery.

2) River rafting/boating/golf should be good experiences, though we didn't try to to rains.

3) Staff is atleast ready to listen, but they are always apologetic, and they'll make you feel that this is how it is, even they can't do anything about it. Even the manager had nothing to say but sorry.

We went in a group of 8 with 5 elders (all 50+). So with the lack of service, despite good weather and greenery, the resort became the worst part and a tiring experience of our trip, which is ironical as a resort should have been a very relaxing experience. Definitely not recommended for families.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception might have better accesibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VishwasGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KadkaniDirect, Manager at Kadkani River Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Greetings from Kadkani !!!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. With regard to the concerns you have expressed, we would like to convey our point of view.

As discussed with you at the resort, the EPBX system was completely damaged due to heavy lightning and thunder. Even though the lightning arresters have been installed, the damage was so severe,it took two days to replace the entire unit and restore the intercom facility. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the non functioning of the intercom facility.

As a standard practice the rooms are cleaned once a day. Our housekeeping team will always attend any time to guest calls.

Most of our guests opt for the all meal inclusive package. Hence the food is served in buffet. Ala carte service is provided based on the guest preference. We ensure that all dishes are served in standard measurement / weight and quality.

We will definitely implement changes in the process wherever necessary to improve the level of service.


Warm regards


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Three of us (friends) stayed at Kadkani on May 24, 2013. Stayed there for 1 night in AC Den Cottage 112. The place was suggested by a friend. Surprisingly, it was not listed on many travel websites like makemytrip, yatra, etc. The booking experience was super. I tried to pay over the phone via credit card but they were facing some network issues so the payment could not be processed. However, Shilpa confirmed the booking and asked us to make the payment upon arrival. It was nice of her as usually these bookings are on pre-paid basis due to the risk of last minute cancellation. The road is mostly in good condition and there are signboards to help you guide once you reach near. We were following Google maps and it shows Kadakani Resort about 10 km before where it actually is. So we had to ask the locals couple of times for directions but we never got lost. Arrived around 4pm, the check-in was quick. We rushed to have our lunch as we were quite late. The food (buffet) was great, low on oil and spices but still tasty with decent variety. The cottage was round shaped, neat and spacious with large bathroom. Ample sunlight shone through the large windows. After dumping our stuff in cottage, we stepped out to take a stroll and find out about the activities. Here the resort falls short. Not many activities. The only activity worth doing is probably golf session (which we could not do due to shortage of time). The river is like a tiny still water pond here (not even sure if its actually a river). We just sat there for 30 min or so gossiping. It was dark soon and we decided to have couple of drinks in the open area near the pool where most of the patrons get together in the evening. The drinks were good followed by a delicious dinner. We retreated to our cottage after dinner. Enjoyed talking while watching TV and don't know when the sleep took over. Woke up around 8am and rushed to have breakfast. The breakfast was OK, could have more variety. After that we decided to take a dive in the swimming pool, which was small and could have and should have been cleaner. We enjoyed for about an hour, went back to cottage, took shower and checked-out. It was a very small stay. Stay in AC Den Cottage for 3 adults cost us Rs. 11000 (including lunch, dinner, breakfast for 3 and taxes). Compared to other options (resorts), it was cheaper. But I am not sure if I can call it a river resort experience. It was an OK stay overall, food and the cottage being the saving grace. I would probably try something else next time I visit Coorg. Maybe Vivanta or Tamara, which are 5-7k more than Kadkani.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The resort is put up in a very secluded place by the side of River Cauvery, much much away from the hustle bustle of the towns... We chose the Deluxe Non A/C rooms(the cheapest and best) and they were very spacious and clean. Once you reach Kadkani, you just dont have to go anywere else! The resort has acres of greenery around and has a nice pool, pedal boating, cycling , badminton court, golf courses, indoor games etc. The reception lounge is a great place to relax with ultimate scenic beauty! The buffet served was finger licking good with so many varieties.. The plantation trek was enjoyable too.. It was too perfect for a weekend getaway!! Felt truly relaxed & rejuvenated :) Value for Money :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamyaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milpitas, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice resort. Terrific scenery and very peaceful.

Just a few minor irritants:
1) Kids food (nothing mild was available for lunch/dinnner; breakfast was good). The staff were very cooperative though and prepared food for kids as per our request.
2) Cookies with Tea/Coffee (nothing was available to order).
3) Hot water in the rooms was a problem initially, but was fixed.
4) The Premium cottages were two-level and were not kid friendly. Too many ups and downs in the room, and not having a restroom made it inconvenient.

But overall it was a nice stay.
The staff did not charge us for the River Rafting as it was interrupted by rain.
We all had great fun in Coorg and kids really enjoyed the Dubare elephant camp.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The folks at the resort are very caring, an example of that is we drove up from Bangalore, so by the time we reached we had missed the Lunch time, but they knew the way/route has no good restaurants, so they had actually kept LUNCH for us!
The rooms are clean, the resort is a holiday vacation in itself and one need not visit medikeri but enjoy the lovely resort.
Golf a must try here!

Room Tip: The cottages are real nice, if travelling with little kids who are likely to run up and down stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepaPrabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammathi
9.0 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
161 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
492 reviews
14.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 24 in Madikeri
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 24 in Madikeri
436 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
4.7 mi away
Evolve Back Luxury Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadkani River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadkani River Resort

Property: Kadkani River Resort
Address: Hachinadu Village,Kannangala, | Coorg, Ammathi 571211, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Ammathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ammathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kadkani River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadkani River Hotel Ammathi
Kadkani River Resort Ammathi, Kodagu (Coorg), India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing