We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was let down pretty heavily in the end by this place”
Review of La Facha Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Facha Hostal
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I paid for 3 nights up front which proved to be a mistake for me. We were told it was the owner's birthday and that we'd be welcome to some free drinks at the bar which we considered reasonable compensation for a night of loud music. For three days and two nights the owner was drunk and didn't have much of an idea what was going on and the music went until 3am one night and 6am the second. He wasn't in control of the situation and it was up to the discretion of his mates behind the bar who who got free drinks which didn't include me. So, not only had I paid for my room which faced which had no closeable windows directly onto where the music played, the bar was also out of purchasable drinks so it was either socialise sober with a bunch of drunk people and loud music or sit in my room with equally loud music. I was happy to find a much better room with private bathroom, in a quieter place for less money than here. I'm a long term traveler of 20 months now stayed in all manner of places. I've seen everything but could only name a couple of experiences which were worse than this. The owner here is more interested in all night parties with his mates than looking after customers and as competition in Mompiche grows, which it is in the process of doing, this place will not survive.

To be fair, the food here was really good and I ate here a lot. Then on the last night I sat for an hour and a half waiting for my order to arrive only to see it go to a table which had ordered half an hour after me. I then sat for another 15 minutes before the waitress, who's friendliness was great but incompetence was astounding, came to tell me that there was none of what I ordered left - almost an 1 hour and 45 minutes after I'd ordered!

I could only shake my head in disbelief at this place in the end. I wouldn't stay or eat here ever again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Briffaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFacha, Owner at La Facha Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Sorry about your sleepless nights and I'm even more sorry about your free drinks, yes indeed I was beyond celebration, but everyone else enjoyed those 2 party nights, I certainly owe you those free drinks, you are more than welcome to come back, and enjoy those drinks ON THE HOUSE!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for La Facha Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 28 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights with my boyfriend and 7 other friends. My bf and I shared a private room and so did another couple while the others stayed in the dorm. We all really liked it. The staff is super friendly--they stayed around really later for our 1am check-in and were helpful with everything from providing surf lessons to having the best breakfast in Mompiche in all our opinions. They have a great common area with lots of tables, couches, and hammocks. TV, book swap, high speed wifi, what more could you ask for? Oh, and it is literally a stone's throw from the beach. Our only down fall was noise. The water pipe passed through our room so we constantly had the sound of flowing water above us. But the fan drowned it out most nights. It's typical of a hostel, so I it was not something really to complain about. You gotta know the type of place you are staying. $10 a night is bargain and a good rate even here in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

La Facha is a great little spot with all you need - rooms for 1 or more, bunks for groups, restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, beer, wine, booze. The people here are great and obviously live the free life of relaxation and good food and low stress healthy lifestyle.

My stay was great - stayed for 4 nights. Good wifi etc.. I was traveling to find quiet spot to relax and start my business - and I actually was able to celebrate at La Facha when I published my 1st product while in Mompiche! I was there June '12 and was planning to go back - remembering to write a review now! I like La Facha better than Gabriel (wifi was tough to get in my room), and not into resort stuff on the hill. In my mind - this is a step up from hostel. Kinda of like a beach hotel in a tree. I am going back - so thats a good endorsement...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights, the rooms are very nice with a view on the beach, friendly staff, bar, breakfast, meals, all you need is right there. Would definitely stay there again if I ever come back :)

Room Tip: Pay an extra $5 a night and you get your room with a view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninka_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFacha, Owner at La Facha Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hey Thank you for you commebt,, you are welcome when ever you want.. we work for you relax ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank ebtpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafacha13, Propietario at La Facha Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mompiche
23.8 mi away
Cabanas Isla del Sol
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Paraiso
Hotel Costa Paraiso
#4 of 10 in Atacames
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mudhouse Hostel
The Mudhouse Hostel
#1 of 19 in Mompiche
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maracumbo Camping
Maracumbo Camping
#2 of 19 in Mompiche
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desde Mompiche con Amor
Desde Mompiche con Amor
#4 of 19 in Mompiche
42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Mompiche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Facha Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Facha Hostal

Address: Calle La fosforera SN a 15 mts del mar | Ocean View, Mompiche 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Mompiche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mompiche
Price Range: $27 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — La Facha Hostal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is a really nice place and relax, has diferents things for our guests, we have a mini bibliotec, video place, restaurant, surf shop, surfboards rent, surf class, ecologic tours, trekking in the jungle and more you have to come;) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Facha Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Facha Hostal Ecuador/Mompiche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing