We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments
Reviewed September 30, 2013

When I first contacted Rusty Pelican there were no rooms available, there was only room outside, which are containers. At first, I was wondering if I should book them because they are containers. The fact that they are made ​​of metal could heat the room making the night sleeping unbearable. The truth is that I was fortunate to reserve it and spend 12 nights in them. I slept comfortably and even had to use blanket. I was traveling with a friend and each of us was in a container, which are suites with a great bathroom. Furthermore, between the two containers (parallel), there is a full kitchen and a great space as a living room overlooking the garden and pool.
With regard to staff, Corinna and her daughter are always ready to help and make your stay enjoyable. We also had the good fortune to be invited to a tuna barbecue prepared for them.
Finally, I would strongly recommend Rusty Pelican. And if you are in doubt about the containers, do not waste your time thinking. Book them. Excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbedante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights on a booking made by a friend on our behalf. Corinna could not have been more accommodating, providing a mobile phone in order to make local calls and ensuring that the fridge in the apartment was stocked with essentials upon arrival. She arranged our taxis to and from the airport and rented us our her hatchback to explore the island. We asked for an extra bed to be put into the one-bed apt and were very pleasurably surprised to find an actual bed rather than a camp bed or sofa bed. The apartment was well appointed, spacious and clean and the bathroom lovely. The garden and pool were also very well arranged. The Rusty Pelican was the perfect accommodation for our stay, and Corinna made it a home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silentninja100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Rusty is the right place to enjoy your holiday it is so peaceful that you have time and all the positive energy to refill your batteries. Its a mini paradise on this already wonderful island.
The rooms were nice and spacious with fully equipped kitchen although we did not use it much as there are some lovely restaurants/bars in walking distance.
Corinna the owner of the Rusty is a caring and accommodating person also the cleaning ladies did a wonderful job, every time we got home from the beach the room was spotless.
The le morne beaches (the public beach and the kite beach) are both wonderful places to go to either during the day or in the late afternoon after sightseeing; it is only a 10 min drive from the Rusty.
We will be back!!!

Room Tip: downstairs has a wonderful little garden to enjoy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Staying at Rusty Pelican is a treat and Corinna is a very welcoming host. The flat was immaculate with huge rooms and a well equipped kitchen. The flat is very safe and clean. La Gaulette is in easy reach of many beaches and nearby towns.

Our stay in Mauritius was wonderful but unfortunately two issues I thin the government should really address:
1. Wild dogs are everywhere. While they are harmless they are a nuisance by loitering in the middle of the roads and barking through the night
2. Beware of being ripped off for souvenirs. Whilst I'm all for supporting the local economy, being charged 20 times the cost of items that are a fraction of the price in local supermarkets left a bit of a bitter taste. Make sure you haggle hard for your souvenirs!

Apart from that I highly ecommend Rusty Pelican!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller145London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorinnaDurocher, Owner at Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

We agree that there is a problem with too many dogs so The Rusty Pelican donates 2 % of profits towards sterilising dogs and cats.We've initiated a monthly sterilisation campaign here in La Gaulette and if successful, we will approach the Government to do likewise around the island! So every guest visiting helps towards this Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I can fully recommend the Rusty Pelican for people coming for kiting or enjoying Mauritius outside of a resort/hotel. My apartment was large, beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped for cooking. There's a veranda, great tropical garden and pool. Further the owner Corinna provides all you need for a stay - bbq, snorkeling equipment, guide books and even a local mobile phone. In addition she is very helpful, lovely and makes the stay very welcoming and personal.
Nothing negative to say. Only to mention that the apartment is in La Gaulette, which means you need a car to get around. However supermarket and restaurants in the village are conveniently in walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent 12 days in April 2013 in Mauritius on business & had the very good fortune of picking the Rusty Pelican. Initially I thought it would be too far from Port Louis where I was to hold several meetings, but at the end of the day it was like coming home. Beautiful ambiance, everything about the Orange Room & the "Rusty Pelican" & its wonderful staff & management I found to be beyond my expectations & par excellence. Keep up the good work Corrina. I will definitely recommend this place to all my friends, associates & clients as a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nan8moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorinnaDurocher, Owner at Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thanks for being our guest and hopefully business was good and you will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at The Rusty Pelican for 12 days in March, and we couldn't have asked for better accommodation and location. The setting is beautiful and the apartments are spacious and have everything you need. The owner, Corinna, is a great person and clearly puts a lot of care and attention into the apartments and ensuring her guests have everything they need.

We loved having the pool to use and Corinna sorted out a car so we could explore the island independently. A great way to experience the real Mauritius! A few recommendations:

- we loved Tamarin Beach, about a 15 min drive from La Gaulette
- Ocean Vagabonds in La Gaulette was a good place for food and beers, smoked marlin pizzas were amazing
- the London Way supermarket at Black River was better than the smaller supermarket in La Gaulette, we bought delicious fresh fish to cook at the apartment
- as for places to visit we loved the national park, the rum distillery at le chamarel, ile aux aigrettes nature reserve and Bois Cheri tea factory.

We had an unforgettable holiday in Mauritius and our stay at The Rusty Pelican was faultless. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyandTimRushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Gaulette hotels
0 mi away
La Reine Creole B & B
La Reine Creole B & B
#2 of 6 in La Gaulette
54 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Tulsie Apartment & Studio
#6 of 10 in La Gaulette
1 reviews
0 mi away
Maison Papaye
Maison Papaye
#1 of 6 in La Gaulette
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mountain View
Mountain View
#1 of 10 in La Gaulette
40 reviews
0 mi away
Marisa Residences
Marisa Residences
#3 of 10 in La Gaulette
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments

Address: 116 Morc La Fleche, La Gaulette, Mauritius 120
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > La Gaulette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in La Gaulette
Price Range: $65 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rusty Pelican is located on the west coast of Mauritius, in La Gaulette ,a quiet fishing village nestled at the foothills of the mountains overlooking the Indian Ocean. We offer 4 spacious self catering apartments of 70m2 each. All have their own terrace or balcony with either mountain or sea views.There is a pool set in a tropical garden with coconut trees for your relaxation. From here it is a good base to discover the rest of the island and the Le Morne beach is less than 10 minutes drive from the guesthouse.The owner lives on the premises and is there to help and advise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing