We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I can fully recommend the Rusty Pelican for people coming for kiting or enjoying Mauritius outside of a resort/hotel. My apartment was large, beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped for cooking. There's a veranda, great tropical garden and pool. Further the owner Corinna provides all you need for a stay - bbq, snorkeling equipment, guide books and even a local mobile phone. In addition she is very helpful, lovely and makes the stay very welcoming and personal.
Nothing negative to say. Only to mention that the apartment is in La Gaulette, which means you need a car to get around. However supermarket and restaurants in the village are conveniently in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent 12 days in April 2013 in Mauritius on business & had the very good fortune of picking the Rusty Pelican. Initially I thought it would be too far from Port Louis where I was to hold several meetings, but at the end of the day it was like coming home. Beautiful ambiance, everything about the Orange Room & the "Rusty Pelican" & its wonderful staff & management I found to be beyond my expectations & par excellence. Keep up the good work Corrina. I will definitely recommend this place to all my friends, associates & clients as a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nan8moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorinnaDurocher, Owner at Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and hopefully business was good and you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at The Rusty Pelican for 12 days in March, and we couldn't have asked for better accommodation and location. The setting is beautiful and the apartments are spacious and have everything you need. The owner, Corinna, is a great person and clearly puts a lot of care and attention into the apartments and ensuring her guests have everything they need.

We loved having the pool to use and Corinna sorted out a car so we could explore the island independently. A great way to experience the real Mauritius! A few recommendations:

- we loved Tamarin Beach, about a 15 min drive from La Gaulette
- Ocean Vagabonds in La Gaulette was a good place for food and beers, smoked marlin pizzas were amazing
- the London Way supermarket at Black River was better than the smaller supermarket in La Gaulette, we bought delicious fresh fish to cook at the apartment
- as for places to visit we loved the national park, the rum distillery at le chamarel, ile aux aigrettes nature reserve and Bois Cheri tea factory.

We had an unforgettable holiday in Mauritius and our stay at The Rusty Pelican was faultless. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyandTimRushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the Rusty Pelican in La Gaulette as this was very close the kite spot of Le Morne. The apartment was perfect and extremely spacious, clean and well-presented which is great if you have kite surfing equipment. The swimming pool was great and perfect after a day’s kite surfing. The owner Corina was very helpful and provided lots of local knowledge as well as an info pack. A mobile phone with local SIM was provided which was great for contacting the kite school to check the wind conditions.

The fridge was stocked with items for breakfast and other cooking essentials which was a nice touch.

La Gaulette is a small village and very friendly with a good Supermarkets, Kite Shops and restaurants all of which are only a few minutes’ walk from the Rusty Pelican.

I would highly recommend the Rusty Pelican as it’s a great place in a great location and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosh_Boodhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were travelling to Mauritius for an extended holiday (3 months) and needed somewhere to stay for the first week while we organised longer term accommodation etc. My husband suggested Rusty Pelican having seen some of the reviews on here. I had a read and was so impressed by what I read that I dismissed any suggestions of booking a resort hotel.

We travel a lot but this was our first time with a small baby so accommodation was more important than ever. The Rusty Pelican is the best place I have stayed by far and exceptionally good value for money. The apartment was incredibly spacious and stylishly decorated, way bigger than a hotel room and much more comfortable. Everything we needed for our 8 month old daughter was provided. The garden and swimming pool were stunning. The pool a perfect escape from the hot Mauritian sun. On arrival we found a fridge filled with breakfast food for the first few days and a bowl of fresh fruit (often fresh bananas and passion fruit from the garden).

La Gaulette itself is great, a fairly quiet village with a growing selection of restaurants and a large supermarket within 5 minutes walking distance from Rusty Pelican. The area around Rusty Pelican is beautiful with stunning views of the surrounding mountains.

Corinna, the owner, was great; very friendy and incredibly kind. She was a fantastic source of info on all things Mauritian. She has also thought of everything you need to make your holiday: mobile phones are provided with local sim cards (to us always essential but the first time this has ever been provided for us), a whole array of beach equipment including parasols, snorkels are available, a growing library of books in French, English, assistance with hire cars etc

During our stay Corinna organized a couple of BBQs for all the guests and it was a great way to socialise and get to know the others. We also got to try some of the locally caught red tuna which became part of our staple diet during our time in Mauritius ;o)

Corinna does so much to make her guests stay as comfortable as possible and we are incredibly grateful to her for the help she gave us throughout our stay in Mauritius. One review suggests this is the best place to stay in Mauritius – it truly is and we will definitely be back.

I highly recommend a stay at the Rusty Pelican.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor (yellow room) but all the rooms are spacious and stylishly decorated with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama_Maya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

When my husband and I were first shown the accommodation at Rusty Pelican, I thought that it was going to be way over our budget. The apartment was huge, beautifully designed and decorated (The owner Corrina clearly has an amazing eye for design) and opened onto the central courtyard where there was a small pool and nicely landscaped gardens. Much to my delight, the price of the room was well within budget (the same as we had been paying for places about half the size on other parts of the island) and we ended up staying a couple of nights. Corrina was extremely friendly and helpful with any queries we had and the apartment truly did feel like a home away from home (in fact - it's the home I wish I had!). The only draw back of staying at La Gaulette is that there is not a swimmable beach within walking distance of the village so it's pretty much essential to have your own mode of transport to get around. But it's useful having your own transport anyway to see the south and interior of the island - it's worth checking out the Black River Gorges National Park and Le Morne peninsula.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in the rusty pelican for 5 days in early feb 2013 and had a wonderful time. Before we even sat foot in Mauritius, Corrina, the owner was very helpful in arranging transportation from the airport , a rental car during our stay and shared valuable information about the area. We chose to stay in a guesthouse and particularly in such location as we wanted to experience the Mauritian way of living. There are bars, very good restaurants ( recommended by Corinna ) and a big supermarket within walking distance from the guesthouse. The apartment is very spacious and has small touches by the owner which make the stay really enjoyable. Corrina was really there for everything we asked for, and she does it in such a kind manner that you can tell she enjoys hosting people. One night she organized a barbecue for all the residents of the guesthouse and we thought it was such an amazing experience to have different people from different nationalities share a lovely meal.
We would definitely go back and recommend to anyone planning a trip to Mauritius to check this place out, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youssef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Gaulette hotels
0.0 mi away
La Reine Creole B & B
La Reine Creole B & B
#2 of 6 in La Gaulette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View
Mountain View
#2 of 9 in La Gaulette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Papaye
Maison Papaye
#1 of 6 in La Gaulette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Tulsie Apartment & Studio
#6 of 9 in La Gaulette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marisa Residences
Marisa Residences
#7 of 9 in La Gaulette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautique Studios
Beautique Studios
#4 of 9 in La Gaulette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments

Property: Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments
Address: 116 Morc La Fleche, La Gaulette, Mauritius 120
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > La Gaulette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in La Gaulette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rusty Pelican is located on the west coast of Mauritius, in La Gaulette ,a quiet fishing village nestled at the foothills of the mountains overlooking the Indian Ocean. We offer 4 spacious self catering apartments of 70m2 each. All have their own terrace or balcony with either mountain or sea views.There is a pool set in a tropical garden with coconut trees for your relaxation. From here it is a good base to discover the rest of the island and the Le Morne beach is less than 10 minutes drive from the guesthouse.The owner lives on the premises and is there to help and advise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing