We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, excellent appartment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow, excellent appartment!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We are staying at the rusty pelican in la gaulette at the moment. We are here for 3 weeks. What a nice place! The owner, Corinna, will do anything to make your stay comfortable. We have met the other guests that stay in the upstairs appartments and have been socializing with them ever since. Nice big bbq's, small poolarea, private terrace with furniture, big rooms and a lovely bathroom, fridge full of breakfast/lunch items when you arrive and the rental car was already waiting for us outside in the parking lot. I can not find anything wrong about this place, it is just perfect. It is quiet in the night, only 200 m from a big supermarket and several local restaurants are withing 5-10 min walking distance. We are here for kite surfing and le morne beach is only 7 min by car. We have been to the kite club at beach club C in Bel Ombre many times (25 min drive), where you can use the pool, beach, sunliners, towels and restaurant for 400 mru pp (half price is you are a guest at the kite club). All in all a wondfull holiday destination. We can warmly recommend the rusty pelican. Thank you for a great stay Corinna. Greetings from Dorien and Theo

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked 3 of the rooms and came for 2 weeks kitesurfing. Very big rooms with large balcony upstairs and a large shared kitchen . Corrina is very helpul indeed. Lots of great touches - food in the fridge when you get there.. a local mobile for guests to use..really good BBQ facilities..good value as high quality accomodation, hot water actually works, excellent daily maid service.. very good internet wireless.. Quiet at night....big area to store our kite kit.. great place to stay and Corrina worked really hard to make our stay special..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorDnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great place! Large, clean, beautifully furnished, and a totally awesome friendly landlady!! Absolutely loved staying there. Wonderful location, very close to kite/windsurfing spot, and a mdern supermarket and bars. happily recommend to anyone willing to really enjoy their time in Maritius.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Rusty Pelican Guesthouse is a big house which can be used by 4 different groups (if needed) since it has 4 1-bedroom apartments with 2 of them on the first floor (which have separate entrances besides the main entrance into the common living room) with personal kitchens and 2 on the second floor which have one big common kitchen/dining room area and one large balcony with a view of the mountains, the ocean and the back yard with the pool and a table where we all had breakfast every morning.
We traveled in a group of 9 adults and a baby and were looking for a villa that could accommodate all of us. Rusty Pelican ended up being a perfect choice!
I can go on and on about Corinna (the owner) and how she made us feel so welcome as though we were visiting a friend. Before we even got to Mauritius Corinna helped us a great deal by organizing airport pickup, renting 3 cars which were waiting for us once we arrived as well as organizing a crib along with the car seat for the baby.
When we wanted to organize a fresh fish bbq for our friends (20+ people) that stayed in other places (we came to a wedding) Corinna offered and purchased fresh tuna and dorado steaks for us. She organized a bbq area by bringing the grills, dishes, tables and a big light so that we could cook in the evening. Corinna also provided each bedroom with a cell phone so that we can keep in touch with each other as well as call Corinna in case we have a question (which we did) or encounter trouble (which we didn't). Since I didn't have time to go to a local market Corrina found time to stop by after work and buy locally made pants that I was looking for which fit perfectly!
Room service consisted of 2 nice cleaning ladies that came everyday except the weekends and national holidays and cleaned all of the rooms including the common area, washed dishes, made up the beds, provided new bedding and towels.
All 9 of us and the baby where absolutely thrilled with Rusty Pelican and Corinna and would recommend it for anybody who's looking for this type of housing.
Corinna, thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_puteshestvennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Rusty Pelican in La Gaulette is a beautiful and excellent choice for couples, groups or singles wanting to gain the real flavor of Mauritius. The Inn is run by Corrina. Corrina's personality and long residence in Mauritius gives travelers a real perspective on island life. As an adventure sportswoman she knows the best spots on the island not only for physical activity but for beautiful vistas and experiences. Her hospitality is amazing and she makes you one of the family. You cannot go wrong spending your holiday at Corrina's. The Rusty Pelican has all the necessities for a fine holiday as well as the atmosphere of relaxed life. You will learn that everyone in the village and area knows Corrina and this and of itself is a testament to her hospitality and demeanor. I will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Rusty Pelican is such a beautiful place to stay, with a special energy and plenty of space. Corinna, the owner is an amazing, kind and caring host and lady and I know everyone who stays here will not want to leave this magical, tranquil place.
One of my favorite places I've stayed on my travels, and knowing that Corrina donates a percentage of her profits and much of her time to animal and child welfare here in Mauritius makes it all the more special.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesykirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were checked in at some other accomodation.....absolutely horrible.The guys from the kiting school told us to check out The Rusty Pelican....a relatively new guesthouse.Best thing we did was move immediately.The apartments are wonderful,lots of space,a pool....just as it is on the internet....maybe even better in real.Only thing is you must have a car...Corinna, the owner has one but it must be reserved early as it is one for 4 apartments.Maybe the only complaint (not The Rusty's fault) the dogs barking at the full moon!There is a very good resto down the road ...The Sirokan and the guy gives discount for all Pelicans!Enjoy the wonderful beaches that are Mauritius.

Room Tip: Downstairs apartments have a garden and upstairs have the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Gaulette hotels
0.0 mi away
La Reine Creole B & B
La Reine Creole B & B
#2 of 6 in La Gaulette
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Tulsie Apartment & Studio
#6 of 9 in La Gaulette
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View
Mountain View
#1 of 9 in La Gaulette
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Papaye
Maison Papaye
#1 of 6 in La Gaulette
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marisa Residences
Marisa Residences
#4 of 9 in La Gaulette
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautique Studios
Beautique Studios
#7 of 9 in La Gaulette
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments

Property: Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments
Address: 116 Morc La Fleche, La Gaulette, Mauritius 120
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > La Gaulette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in La Gaulette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rusty Pelican is located on the west coast of Mauritius, in La Gaulette ,a quiet fishing village nestled at the foothills of the mountains overlooking the Indian Ocean. We offer 4 spacious self catering apartments of 70m2 each. All have their own terrace or balcony with either mountain or sea views.There is a pool set in a tropical garden with coconut trees for your relaxation. From here it is a good base to discover the rest of the island and the Le Morne beach is less than 10 minutes drive from the guesthouse.The owner lives on the premises and is there to help and advise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Pelican La Gaulette Apartments Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing