We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a wonderful time.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private heated pool Lounge with magnificent Normandy fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Private heated pool
Lounge with magnificent Normandy fireplace
Spacious twin room 2
Beamed dining room seats 12
The South facing terrace is a real suntrap
Fully equipped kitchen
Ensuite bedroom 1
Spacious lounge with fabulous beamed ceiling
Double bedroom 3
View to the private pool
Bedroom 4
La Germainiere from the fields
One of the amazing, unspoilt beaches nearby
Gavray calf market
Reigneville estuary
Coutances cathedral
Granville harbour
Beautiful Normandy countryside
One of the many colourful markets
Mont St Michel is a popular tourist destination
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gavray, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time.”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This beautiful house was perfect for our party of two families. Each family had 3 children and there was plenty of room. It had all the facilities we needed, and was located well for some beautiful day trips.
We stayed for 9 nights and could have easily stayed longer.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your review of your holiday in our Normandy farmhouse La Germainiere. I'm so glad that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackPacke...
1 review
“very good”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

a good location and a very nice house for familly . clean and quiet with swimming pool and games for kids .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a very nice house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of La Germainiere. I am so pleased you really liked the house and enjoyed your stay in Normandy. We hope to welcome again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F
Brockholes, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip to see TdF”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were a party of 7 'Senior Cyclists' (all 60+ years old) looking for a house to spend a holiday in Normandy and see the first 3 stages of the Tour de France. La Germainiere was our first choice - by some margin - and it did not dissapoint at all! The house is in a brilliant location. Peacefull, secluded and superbly equipped. The pool is superb and the Grandads amongst us remarked on the useful safety features that would keep small children from gaining unaccompanied access. As cyclists we travelled light and appreciated the washing and drying facilities, particularly as the first part of the week was a little damp!
The house is a great place to stay and I would heartily reccomend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of internal space and the pool.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thanks so much Stephenfor your review. I'm so glad you had a great time staying in La Germainiere and seeing the Tour de France. As you say it is such a brilliant location and so peaceful and great for all ages. I hope we can welcome you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob j
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for our Ruby Wedding Celebrations”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We took our extend family of 3 couples and 4 grandchildren to La Gernainiere to celebrate our Ruby wedding. It could not have been better. It was spacious, clean and well equipped.
The pool was very warm and used every day, the weather was perfect, The area is so family friendly with coast, small towns, walks all in close proximity and all just over an hours drive down from Cherbourg ferry port. The booking process was trouble free with very good comms from the owner. Everything was as described on the comprehensive website. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool anf the homely accommodation
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so glad your celebrations went so well and you all loved the house and pool. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant W
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous House & location”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

When the house first appears on the long driveway it has a definite wow factor which the pictures don't justify. Inside it is accommodating and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and plenty of space so big groups aren't sitting on top of each other. There is plenty for the kids (7, 13, 14, 15, 16) to do and they all played in the garden as well as using the Wi-Fi ! The long dining table was perfect for leaisurely family meals and the kitchen used for breakfast. The lounge could accommodate the whole party and with the open fire, fantastic for chatting with a glass or two of wine.

Mont St Michel and the D-Day beaches are about an hour away and Coutances and the beautiful beaches around 20 minutes.

When booking Sue and Nicola were very prompt and exceedingly helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room with open fire
Liked least: The oven was a bit of a struggle for large parties but we managed and had fun cooking big meals
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What an amazing cottage. Beautiful place with even better surroundings, set in the middle of fields where nobody can see or trouble you it has to be one of the most relaxing places I have ever been to. I loved the location set in a very quiet area with a few cows walking around the fields next to it. A nice long drive from the road sets it back. The pool was heated and perfect I enjoyed early morning sunrise swims and the children loved it in the afternoon. The house itself was presented really well, everything you need is in the house. Kitchen has everything you need, the lounge is cosy we a nice open fire for those chilly evenings. We visited the local town's and markets around the cottage and drove to a few places such as Rennes which isn't to far away. Coutance is only 15mins away if that and has 2 huge supermarkets which stock everything you need and beyond, and lovely little town with a market. The cottage is a drive from everything you cant walk to anything (there is a pub near by up the road to the left but its never open) Theres plenty of walks around the cottage. It really is a beautiful place to stay we didn't want to come back. We have booked again and cant wait !

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen F
Twyford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fabulous place!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

La Germainiere truly was a wonderful place to stay. It is tucked away surrounded by fields (and cows) and is so peaceful. We had a fabulous time visiting local markets and exploring the local surroundings. The house itself is very well equipped and our toddler loved playing in the pool which was perfect as it was heated. We also had a very young baby with us and the house offered everything we could have wanted. The owners were incredibly easy to deal with and were very helpful. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing