We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and great”
Review of Craig-y-Nos Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craig-y-Nos Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Penycae B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in 2005 and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. It was only recently that we were able to return again with our 2 border terriers and it was nice to see a lot of enhancements without the loss of the quirky charm of this hotel. Don't expect the Ritz but do expect comfortable, clean, comfortable, great value rooms in a fantastic and interesting castle setting. The public areas of the bar/lounges and dining/billiard room are a great plus point as they are places you can just sit with a book and a pint after a long walk in the Brecons and they have lovely views from the windows. We Didn't try the food this time round (we went to a couple of the local pubs) but can vouch that the cooked breakfast was very good and added to the many generous offerings of this hotel. It is emphasised that it is a work in progress (most of the closed and derelict areas you can't see anyway unless you go on the ghost tours), but the success they have in the wedding market shows that this does not detract from what a great place this is. I hope they carry on the gradual enhancements and hope to return sooner than in 8 years!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jimbo1343832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for your great comments - we do welcome returning customers and i am sorry that it took a long time for you to come back!!! - But, as you said when guests return they do see the changes - which is good to see the work done does not go unnoticed.

There is nothing better than a customer recommendation other than a returning guest recommending us again.

When you return do give me a shout and we can catch up on a pint - and personally show you the changes.

Glad you enjoyed our breakfast too!!

m!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding here on May 25th 2013 and it could not have been more perfect. From the first time we saw the castle we knew this would be where we got married. The theater was a wonderful place for the ceremony, and the music room was the perfect backdrop for our vintage glam theme. The conservatory provided a wonderful view of the mountains for our evening reception and the fading sunlight in there created a gorgeous light for us to party in. The history of the castle alone makes it an exciting place to be but it also has the added bonus of amazingly helping staff, beautiful rooms, lovely food and a lovely relaxing atmosphere. The grounds that surround the castle are also stunning, and great for photo opportunities. Melissa was our wedding co-ordinator and we really couldn't have wished for better, she was so helpful and really went out of her way to make our day amazing. All the staff at the castle were friendly and helpful and gave all our guest a warm welcome and helped in any way they could. If you are reading this and are looking to find the most romantic place to get married - book Craig y nos now! Will definitely return and will treasure the memories that we have there

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 598sian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thankyou for such a glowing review and we are only too glad to have been there at the start of your married life!

You cannot put into words more than you have done and i am sure that Melissa and the rest of the team that helped make your wedding special appreciate your kind words.

Your theme too, was different and made the Castle stand out - we hope as you say that other potential couples look to us as a place to have a wedding that is different.

We look forward to seeing you again.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a wonderful experience. I was relaxed and feeling mellow within an hour of arriving, and that after a 4 hour drive! Where to begin? Our room (annexe 11), the food, the setting, the grounds AND the wonderful staff. I think our dog Buddy thought he was in dog heaven, which meant my wife was happy!
Everything exceeded my expectations, and that in itself is unusual.
Yes, as has been said by others, it IS a work in progress. which is clearly pointed out by the owner, but it in no way distracts from all the guests enjoyment or comfort.
I would DEFINITELY come here again. All the very best to all the staff and good luck for the future.

Room Tip: If bringing a dog ask for ground floor, although staff give very good advice anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks for your great review, glad Buddy enjoyed it - as did your wife!! We try to make sure we dont over sell or overhype the venue then when guests arrive they will find as you that we are better than expected and we offer what we say - good food, good surroundings and good service.

We look forward to seeing you again when hopefully we will be well on the round to being even better.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A great experience. We arrived much later than we anticipated after food was finished but we were offered a great plate of sandwiches. We had a very warm welcome. The next morning after breakfast we had a guided tour of the theatre and conservatory which was beautifully laid out for a wedding that was taking place later in the day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and were very welcoming. Lovely location.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a good bathroom and they suggested the room to us. We were very happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your comments. We try to look after our guests and if we can help - then we will.
We are not strict with checking in, so if you cannot get here for food - we will try and help.

Staff Service is something we try to pride our selves on being above average.

Im glad you managed to get a good look round the Castle - there is lots to see and discover that you may not find in an ordinary run of the mill hotel - we are steeped in history and romance.

Its good to hear you liked our room recommendation and it would be great to see you back.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Agree with all that has been said by others. If our Alice could speak she would re-book asap, not surprisingly after sausage for breakfast on her own cushion! Not been to a hotel that was so pet oriented, there was even a cat on a lead there enjoying a mini break. Fantastic walks right on the doorstep, and others not far by car. And as an aside the local pub the Ancient Briton had the best selection of real ales outside of a festival IMHO. The Castle staff were extremely friendly, and all power to the owners for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_Den_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Im glad you all enjoyed it - I assume that Alice has now re-booked - dogs can book online (woof woof). Yes, the cat was great - we dont get many cats though - just around Halloween - black ones!

We try to meet all the needs of all our guests, whether you are DOG FRIENDLY, any kind of Pet Friendly, Ghost Friendly, Wedding Guests, Wedding Couples, Opera Buffs in fact even if you dont like any thing in particular and you just want to relax and spend a few days in the Castle surrounded by friendly people, good food and have some good drinks and perhaps a chat with our staff and explore - the Castle has got something for everyone.

But if you bring your dog - you may just get an extra sausage!!

Yes, the Ancient Briton is famed for its Real Ale.

Thanks for a good review - do come back soon!

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just like to say that we enjoyed our stay very much at Craig Y Nos and everybody went out of there way to be helpful and courteous. Reading the Room Brochure you get a candid and truthful review of works both happened and happening and it is such a shame that Grants are not available to help the obviously passionate owner and staff. It makes me angry to see negative reviews because the castle is what it is....If people are expecting absolute 5 star luxury then this place has some way to go but as far as History, Great Staff, Beautiful Scenery then you would have to go some to beat this.
Would definitely recommend and would certainly come back again. One little point, as first impressions mean alot the benches and tables in the car park could do with a lick of paint or replacing. Thanks for a lovely break.
Richard, Sarah and Bella

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gelert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your great comments.

We listen to all feedback and the owner has already started sanding down the front tables and chairs!!!

As you say - we try to be honest - we are not 5 star luxury but we do give great service, offer great food and try to give our guests something different.

We are glad you all found the Castle a great place to stay and we look forward to a return visit.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

this was such a lovely hotel! all the staff were so friendly and it was really quiet. the fact we could take our dog was super as well. the back of the castle leads into a big park and we wandered about in there for a few hours and then went into the Brecon Beacons the next day. the food was lovely and there is a brilliant pub just down the road which is proper home cooked food and very good ales! we shall definitely be going back and will be brave and do the ghost tour next time!

Room Tip: we had room 16 which was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandakay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We would welcome you back on your ghost tour too!

Thanks for the great review - as you have found in the local area there are some great amenities too.

Plenty to see and do.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
16.9 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,007 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
635 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
511 reviews
20.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
539 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Nos Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Craig y Nos Castle Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penycae
Price Range: $186 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae
Craig-y-Nos Castle Wales/Penycae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing