We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day”
Review of Craig-y-Nos Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Craig-y-Nos Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Penycae B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We got married at Craig-y-nos Castle on the 4th June 2007 we had the perfect day in the perfect setting. The staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing seems to be to much trouble. The food we had for the buffet was exceptional, and as we had guests that have dietary needs a meal was made specially for them. All our guests thoroughly enjoyed the day and the castle, along with the grounds which are beautiful. I can not fault the staff or the customer service we received. we stayed in the bridal suite for the night which is a really comfortable room and really quiet. some our guests looked around the room and were wowed by the double ended slipper bath. Our day and experiences couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for Craig-y-Nos Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2007

We got married at the Castle on 2nd June 2007.

It was a fantastic day and am in no doubt what-so-ever that this was enhanced by the wonderful venue and the kind, friendly and helpful staff.

We had booked out wedding a year before the event and we were given regular updates about how things were going, not just for our day, but for how the castle was being restored in general.

In the immediate lead up we visited to make final arrangements and the staff did everything to ensure our day would be exactly how we wanted - fun and relaxed.

They were open to anything we wanted (within reason obviously!) and at no point made us feel pressured into fitting any wedding stereotypes. We were allowed to carry on way into the wee small hours - so many of the other places we looked at would have us finish up by midnight!

The day it's self was magical and exactly what we wanted and all the guests commented on how spectacular the place was - theres not many brides that can say they got married on the stage of a grade 1 listed opera house.

The Castle itself is absolutely magical- it has an ambienced of grandure but is still friendly and homely. The views of the vally are amazing and there are fantastic walks in and out of the grounds - I certainly enjoyed my early wedding morning walk to the river!

The whole day was execptional value for money - we are still getting comments about how great the food was and how we must have spent a fortune on the place. We didn't though -we just got so lucky that we found such an amazing place within our budget.

I cant wait to see how the remaining restoration work turns out - we shall definately be returning - could be a wonderful anniversary trip!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank L-Stimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Stayed for a family wedding.Our party occupied a number of rooms.

All rooms were excellent and well equipped.-with good en-suite facilities. All were clean and attractive with some virtually brand new.
The food was excellent and the breakfast very yummy.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times
.Alison - the wedding organiser- was very attentive and made the whole wedding go like clockwork .We would certainly recommend this hotel for weddings- the ceremony takes place in a small theatre within the hotel -very atmospheric !!

In good weather there are a variety of walks from the Hotel which is adjacent to a country park with a visitor centre (100 yds) and there is a gym/sauna recently added to the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrekin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Home of the famous opera singer Madame Patti, her castle 'Craig y Nos'.
Have stayed there a few times now,mostly on special occasions like my sisters 50th birthday and my silver wedding anniversary.
There is a fascinating history to this castle and we were shown around all the old parts as well as the newly refurbished areas.
It is a wonderful castle and a great pleasure to stay there.
The staff are very accomodating and friendly ,a very relaxed atmosphere and the food is second to none.
it is said to be haunted and they have ghost tours and lots of fun events going on throughout the year.
I will certainly stay there again in the very near future and enjoy the sunday carvery as often as I can.
Keep up the good work and good luck with the continuing restoration, it is so grand

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

We held my daughter's wedding reception at Craig yNos Castle following her marriage at Dan Yr Ogof Show Cave
The reception room and tables were beautiful, buffet more than excellent and the staff superb.
Steve was great in the planning, Allison was very helpful with the final arrangements and on the day she more than contributed to our memories with her organising of everything - she reduced my stress level by at least 70%
.The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful to all our guests, the bar and waiting staff very efficient and I cannot compliment your kitchen staff highly enough.
30 of our guests stayed overnight and were delighted with the standard of the accommodation and enjoyed a traditional Welsh breakfast

I left my sat nav system at the castle following the wedding but it was kept safely by your staff until I picked it up 2 weeks later. My daughter, grandaughter and I used the opportunity to enjoy a very nice lunch.

We will all have everlasting, wondeful memories of Craig y Nos and will be returning to enjoy your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franbevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Craig-y-nos in one of the rooms located in the Nurses Block. Although we were aware that the bathroom facilities were shared, I was surprised at the lack of facilities covering the entire block. The thin walls and decor did little to deaden noises and therefore virtually all sounds in the corridor and neighbouring rooms were constantly audible. This in short was an experience reminiscent of school trips, which would be all well and good, had they charged us hostel prices, but we were paying city centre hotel prices.
Renovation work was being carried out at the castle, which meant the spa facilities were not in use, despite the fact that they were advertised as part of the experience.
The room was clean and comfortable enough but the decoration consisted mainly of photos of the castle and previous weddings that had been held there, which amounted to blatant and garish further advertising for themselves.
The setting and grounds are very picturesque and the building looked stunning, it's just a shame that the interior didn’t meet the same standard.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We booked to stay in your Bridal suite on 16 August to celebrate our 21 wedding anniversary. After booking, I then found some very mixed reports on the internet which made me feel a bit apprehensive about what we'd find! Whilst the castle is obviously still very much work in progress, we found it a really interesting place to stay, full of character and the atmosphere was very welcoming. Lovely grounds to walk around and it was a real treat to stay in the Bridal Suite too. I won't be for you if you are looking for minimalist, international hotel chain style accommodation.

We actually went out for our evening meal to the Griffin, Felin Fach (which was wonderful)but we would have preferred to have eaten in had there been a more formal a la carte restaurant of a similar quality which used local produce. I'm sure that there are plans for the future.

Our only other constructive criticism would be that fresh coffee at breakfast would be much better than instant sachets and some fresh fruit and pastries might add a bit of variety without adding significant cost.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Technochick106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
16.9 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
958 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
23.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
10.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pentre Riding Stables
Pentre Riding Stables
#2 of 3 in Penycae
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Nos Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Craig y Nos Castle Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penycae
Price Range: $179 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae
Craig-y-Nos Castle Wales/Penycae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing