We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peaceful Hideaway !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virajpet
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect Peaceful Hideaway !!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had spent 3 nights for the year end holidays in Club Mahindra Coorg Resort and had reserved two rooms in Ambatty Greens - Virajpet - for year end celebrations i.e. 31st Dec.

Though the place is just around 25 Kms from Coorg, yet it took us one hour due to poor road conditions. We arrived at noon,

The reception is a huge square hall, around 20 feet high having a reception table on its left and some lounge seating areas around it. Unfortunately..... since we were coming from Club Mahindra the initial feeling that we got was of something similar of a ghost place! They did offer some sherbet and allotted rooms 301 and 302 within 15 minutes. I guess the rooms were getting cleaned and hence we had to wait.

The rooms were at the other side of the resort and we had to walk for 5 to 7 minutes ..... but no complaints .....bcoz wherever and whatever we could see was all greenery around and gave a very very soothing feeling to the eyes and mind!!!

Our rooms were on the ground floor. The rooms were HUGELY spacious! They had a an equally huge balcony. The beds were a little too soft but yet comfortable. The rooms had central AC. The bathrooms were equally big.

The entire resort, its surroundings and the rooms..... all gave an impression of that of complete silence !!! For those peace lovers who love to run to a hideaway spot now and then to relax.....This is IT!!!!!

The restaurant was located on the 1st floor above reception, was huge in size and had a simple A-la-carte Menu for servings. The food was perfect. hats off to chef who did maintain nice north indian culinary taste in a south indian location!

They have some tie up with the adjacent gold centre and we did try our hand in Golf ( learning) but as compared to our experience in Taj Goa.....this was a let down. No fault of theirs....this being a professional golf course .....it was not equipped to handle or manage guests who try their hand either for fun or learning!!!

After golf, we took a dip in the pool. The view from pool .... of that of the golf ground....is amazing.

As evening set in we got ready for the 31st celebration but were let down very badly! The DJ hired was very very average! The buffet was good so no much complaints.

The sleep quality was very good. The staff is very helpful and courteous.

Overall, as a hideaway location it is beyond par..... but for a family with kids who are looking for lot of activities and fun to keep the kids occupied, I would say that this resort would be a mis-match.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritara, General Manager at Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar,

Greetings from Ambatty Greens Resort Coorg.
Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.I am delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us.

At Ambatty Greens Resort Coorg, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. It is particularly delightful to know that you have liked the rooms and the balcony where we have given utmost care to make sure it’s extra spacious for the guests.You have also liked the greenery around , the chef and our spacious & comfortable rooms that offer a stunning view, our scrumptious food made to your taste & liking, our ambient restaurant and our courteous & friendly staff.
Such generous compliments from our guests go a long way to motivate and encourage us to work harder to achieve the most coveted goal of excellence.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you many more times.


Warm Regards
Kumar Chandrabhushan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    99
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
137
68
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ambatty is a very good resort with breathtaking views of golf course from all the rooms. Very well maintained property with pool and indoor games. Food is awesome and i have become a fan for the Chicken steak made specially by the chef on my request....

Only problem is it has bad roads, less road signs to trace resort and very far from the actual hill station i.e Madikeri. It is cold but not as cold as Madikeri.

Will give a thumbs up and will surely recommend, however with a warning on the approaching roads...

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. If u are a pool freak like me, ask for rooms near to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mani_Mithinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ambatty is located such that you can view scenic hills from your room balcony. Reaching to the resort was a difficult task because of poor roads and lack of lights on the roads to travel in the night.The rooms were well maintained and we had a nice time playing billiards. The restaurant prices were bit high though the food was delectable. There was no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Ragunath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was our first visit to Coorg.The property is in a nice location with Golf links view and is quite big in area.Food is decent.I think it is slightly overpriced for the services offered.The approach road to the hotel is quite bad.Overall its a decent experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varun_Yeggina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one of the few top notch resorts in Coorg. At its price, it probably is the best. Overlooking a golf field, and surrounded by coffee plantations, it gives a breathtaking view. Food is good too. The best part however is its location with respect to sight seeing. It lies almost at focussing to all the major attractions. Madikeri, dubare and nagarbole are all within 40 km from this place. Finding it is bit difficult. Otherwise it's very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We checked in on the 13th July 2013. The resorts were really nice and picturesque.The road was pretty bad to this place although there were good sign boards leading to the resorts. The staff were warm and courteous. No wi-fi connectivity or 3G service. The food and service was nice. Of the three days we were here, the pool was under cleaning for two days. In my opinion something which the guests should be notified before hand. No exciting activities for kids.. all they had was a carom board and a chess board. All in all its a nice and relaxed weekend getaway for couples only.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dSush_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We took a trip to Coorg from Bangalore last weekend and stayed at this place for a night. The resort was beautiful, although accessiblity was bad. There weren't sufficient signboards to guide us to the hotel. And since it was dark, we had a really tough time to reach the property. The room was good, basic room. There was no wifi connectivity, apparently because of the rains. The food was decent and the breaffast buffet was comprehensive too. I was awed by the swimming pool - kind of an infinity pool. The surroundings were quite picturesque. Overall, I was happy with the stay. However, few things could have been better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virajpet
20.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 23 in Madikeri
1,395 reviews
16.7 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
159 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 23 in Madikeri
432 reviews
19.6 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
10.8 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Property: Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Address: | Bittangala Village, Virajpet 571218, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Virajpet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virajpet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coorg is known as the Scotland of the East. It is also be known for a picturesque resort - Ambatty Greens Resort, promoted by Amritara. The Resort is situated at Virajpet, overlooking an 18-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway India/Virajpet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing