We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st rate ski holiday”
Review of Chalet Gove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamsweg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Gove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We visited Chalet Gove in Lessach, just outside Tamsweg, in February 2012 (half term week) with our 4 children (1-12 yrs) and our babysitter.
Chalet Gove is a "home from home" experience with a touch of luxury and delicious home cooked food. Alan & Maria are perfect hosts who were very welcoming, with a 'can do' attitude showing flexibility, friendliness and genuine concern. Breakfasts were plentiful; eggs to order, porridge freshly made, cereals, toast, fruit and bread rolls. The 3-course dinners each night were varied and suited adults and children alike, they were well prepared and delicious and the wine was very acceptable (coming from my husband who is an expert!!). The daily home-made cakes were different each day and again, just perfect! Great for filling a hole after skiing all day whilst waiting for our dinner! (Although I'm sure I put weight on during the week as I couldn't help but eat all the food offered!)
The accommodation is spacious, light, and well presented, giving a large lounge with TV, Wii, stereo etc, a large dining room, boot room and good sized en-suite bedrooms (and cleaned everyday). The beds were very comfortable and ours was a huge bed (needed when the kids climbed in). We had 2 rooms for 7 people and we had plenty of space to move round the beds and furniture. The en-suite shower rooms are pure luxury; heated floors, heated towel rail and a wonderful powershower with a seat, music and lights! Just what was needed after a day's skiing!
The children's favourite part was the jacuzzi bath and sauna, we managed to squeeze 4 kids and an adult into the '2 person jacuzzi bath' and they had a great time.
Alan & Maria helped us to organise all the ski equipment hire, ski passes and children's lessons on our first day which enabled us to get straight out on the slopes quickly.
Alan did a fantastic job as being a Ski Guide for a couple of days for us which was very helpful as we hadn't skied this resort before and he showed us different slopes and lifts.
Chalet Gove is in a small village, but it does have it's own slope and T-Bar lift which we did use twice, but we also used the bottom of the slope for sledging.
Alan & Maria offer transport to and from the local slopes (there are 3 resorts nearby) but we had our own transport and stuck to Fanningberg, where the children were having their lessons. Fanningberg is a family resort and suited us perfectly and the snow was plentiful. The children really enjoyed their ski school and they were in small groups which made their experience alot more enjoyable than they have had before (having been in groups of 10-15 previously). Having skied in several other resorts, we found this resort relatively quiet, which was great that we had no queues for the lifts and we weren't on packed slopes. A couple of times they had to close the top chairlifts due to the wind and snow, but the lower T-Bar was kept open.
We had lunch everyday at 'the Rucksack' which was at the bottom of the slopes and offered a good variety of food at very reasonable prices (they even allowed adults to order from the kids menu) as we didn't want large portions.
Tamsweg is the nearest town (about 5 kms away) which is very picturesque and offered the essentials and some lovely shops and restaurants.
We also met a lovely family who were staying there at the same time (Hopewell/Hughes) who were back for their 2nd stay! Steve, I hope you remember the "chess challenge" Freya set you!
I would highly recommend Chalet Gove and the ski resort to anyone, families, couple or singles! And we are already looking forward to going back next year! Thank you very much Alan & Maria, we had a superb time.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrummyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Owner at Chalet Gove, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for such a fantastic comprehensive review, it is very much appreciated! We had a wonderful week meeting and sharing time with you and your lovely family and can't wait to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

Brilliant skiing holiday starting with being picked up at the airport by Alan and then arriving at the chalet to tea and cakes by Maria. Food was fabulous and the brilliant skiing area and conditions helped to work off the few extra pounds. My 2 boys aged 11 and 8 enjoyed ski school everyday especially the small groups and winning the race!
The chalet is gorgeous and the bedroom and ensuite were pure luxury (getting my 11 year old out of the fantastic shower proved to be tricky!)
Maria and Alan are the perfect hosts, a wealth of local knowledge and ski tips (thank you Alan!) and brilliant with the kids (great dancing Maria).
A HUGE thank you for one of our best holidays! x

Room Tip: Even with bunkbeds in, the family room was still really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Owner at Chalet Gove, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you Kate, it was great having you here and I am so pleased you enjoyed the Chalet and the area and the food! The boys were great fun to have around and they kept us on our toes marking us out of 10 on our meals each evening!! Will continue to practice my dancing and hope to welcome you back to Chalet Gove sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We couldn't thank Maria and Alan enough for the most amazing week in Tamsweg! It was personally my first skiing holiday with my other half who is an experienced skier. We also met friends there from Dubai who were intermediate skiers and their son who was also a first timer... Tamsweg offered lots of options for beginners and the more experienced amoung us - what fun we had. We were beautifully catered for at Chalet Gove with lovely accommodation (the best showers!) and comfy beds plus the most wonderful home made meals and cakes. It was the attention to detail and friendly/warm reception that made Chalet Gove so special, the little things like helping us get our ski hire sorted to recommendations for the slopes and help with the language. Maria and Alan have made a point to know the locals and therefore what is happening in the local area - we went sledging by torchlight at an organised event (so pretty and hilarious!) and spent New Years Eve on the hill with log burning fires, a brass band and gluwein with the locals of Lessach. Special memories - we'll all be back this year for certain. Thanks again Alan and Maria!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookesy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Owner at Chalet Gove, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for spending time with us and making our New Year celebrations so special. Can't wait to welcome you back next New Year and as it wont be on the day you arrive, we should all have a lot more energy and be able to do a bit more partying!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We visited Chalet Gove in Jan 2011 and are looking forward to our trip back this winter. We were met at Salzberg airport by Alan and arrived at Chalet Gove to be greeted by Maria, fresh coffee and home made cake. What a great start! The accommodation was excellent and as newcomers to this part of Austria and to snow boarding, we were able to pace the holiday to suit our family. Our daughter had a few ski lessons and fun on the slopes too. We also took full advantage of Alan and Maria's first hand knowledge of the various ski resorts, ski hire facilities and the local pool and restaurant while they enjoyed their well deserved day off. If you want a ski or snowboarding holiday offering popular and reasonably busy slopes in the day, but a very personal and individually tailored service in the evenings, then Chalet Gove should be just the ticket.

Room Tip: We had an excellent room with plenty of space to accommodate our daughter as well as us. We were awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamsweg hotels
4.4 mi away
Gasthof Gambswirt
Gasthof Gambswirt
#1 of 9 in Tamsweg
25 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pension Hotel Kandolf
Pension Hotel Kandolf
#5 of 9 in Tamsweg
8 reviews
3.8 mi away
Planitzerhof
Planitzerhof
#3 of 9 in Tamsweg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gappmayr Hof
Gappmayr Hof
#3 of 9 in Tamsweg
1 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gasthaus Gruber
Gasthaus Gruber
#7 of 9 in Tamsweg
5 reviews
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthof Knappenwirt
#4 of 9 in Tamsweg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Gove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Gove

Address: Lessach 13 | Lessach, Tamsweg 5575, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Tamsweg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tamsweg
Price Range: $32 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Gove is a converted large Austrian farmhouse providing catered ski, Summer and walking group holidays. Chalet Gove provides a mix of modern and traditional accommodation in a warm and cosy atmosphere. Spacious bedrooms with modern en-suites (heated towel rail, underfloor heating and super shower unit). Close to 4 fantastic ski areas and walking and cycling from our doorstep plus many more winter and summer activities. We are here to provide you with all the help you need to enjoy a wonderful holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing