We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Otro Lado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Otro Lado
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portobelo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Resort in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This resort is amazing. It's like a private island with a few cabins. All the cabins are unique in their design. This is not a big resort but very personal with an eye for details. It is in the music, the service and the interior, exactly everywhere. Besides that the scenery is overwhelming as well. If you want a rest of the hectic city, this should be the number 1 location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The place is amazing, has a great view and experience. It does not have a beach since it is dirty because there is no sanitation. Jim, the host, was terrible. He has no social skill whatsoever and he tried to scam us into paying $200 for a cooler we brought (we did not know about $50 per person per day). We decided not to use it (it would have been $20 a beer), and use the alcohol of the hotel. After spending $155 in alcohol beverages, he still wanted to charge for the cooler because 'He saw me eating the chips'. In what hotel in the world can't you eat what you brought? Why do you have a kitchen for then? Well, apart from that it was an amazing experience. We did a tour around the place, it was very quiet and very safe. It has a lot of history. A little expensive, but is worth it.

Room Tip: There are rooms where you have to share the common areas with other people. Just beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PanamanianGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed there 4 nights very beginning of January with the whole family, including 2 very young children. This is an amazing location with a very special modern and local decoration style.
The service is very good but we did not find the people very welcoming. They hardly smile and you may even sometimes feel that you bother them.
Maybe this is not the best place to go with very young children. They seem not be very used to this and the staff struggled to find baby beds and highchairs although we had informed well in advance about our needs. In fact most clients were couples and I think this is what this very nice place is best for.
The restaurant is excellent and we had only very good surprises with the food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

What a surprise to find out this such lovely place so quiet, peacefull in the middle of nowhere! the staff were very nice, friendly and helpfull. Jim always around to make sure everything is ok and the place, wouaw, decorated with so much taste. This mixture with a bit of everywhere could just have been hawfull but it happens to be just PERFECT. And the food.... fantastic :-) I recommend this place to anyone loving nice, charming, small, very private, luxury places. Well done...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun house maybe more quiete but surely all of them are great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariane_guhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loppem, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

beautiful location, nice room, good food although breakfast could be a lot better (not much to choose from)
this is a place to relax and enjoy!
We slept in the old house. Beautiful room with good equiped bathroom.
Small hotel feels very private.

Room Tip: it's worth the drive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claeskes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

They send a boat to pick you up in Portobelo, and this is just the beginning of an amazing experience.
The hotel is beautifully appointed in a mid-century style with unique Panamanian touches by local artists. Service is excellent at every level, and you feel truly pampered.
We enjoyed dinner, which was truly amazing.
This is the perfect location for a retreat vacation, we wished we had booked a longer stay than the 3 nights.
This place is awesome!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claus I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The ride to Oltra Lado seemed to go on forever past colorful slums all along the way. It was quite a surprise, to cross the water from the town to the island and find such an upscale establishment – “On the Other Side.” El Otra Lado sets the bar for personal service, comfort and security. A staff member trailed our Portobelo walk, to give us confidence walking in the town. We were escorted for a snorkeling afternoon. Our driver waited for us when we visit an Embera village. On the property, we had a driver with a golf cart, in case we needed it. Aesthetically, every inch is thought about. The eclectic design, Spanish-African-Tropical should not work, but it DOES. The property is peppered with wooden sculptures made on site. I was moved that they are providing shop space for local crafts people on the property side, and a dance and music school on the Portobelo side.
My only real criticism was that the menu at the restaurant was limited, and the cost of food and services was never clear, unless I asked specifically. In the end there were NO overcharges, but I found the vague pricing policy awkward.

Room Tip: About the location: the island of the property is paradise, but its a long drive from Panama City...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobelo
22.5 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
23.9 mi away
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
#1 of 1 in Fort Sherman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
21.3 mi away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Sand Diamond Hotel
Sand Diamond Hotel
#3 of 9 in Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Andros
Hotel Andros
#4 of 9 in Colon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casa Congo
La Casa Congo
#2 of 10 in Portobelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Otro Lado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Otro Lado

Property: El Otro Lado
Address: Bahia de Portobelo, Portobelo, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Portobelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portobelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Otro Lado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Otro Lado is a private retreat situated in an exceptional enclave of Portobelo Bay, mixing design, culture, nature and luxury in a unique manner in order to offer its guests authentic, exclusive and custom-made experiences.Situated just over an hour from Panama City, and surrounded by the National Park of Portobelo, El Otro Lado is the perfect place to relax and disconnect while contemplating the exuberant vegetation. With views of the sea, its four exclusive houses of eclectic tropical design integrate simple details with traditional handicraft of the Atlantic Coast.A streak of truly unforgettable experiences, El Otro Lado will take you to a harmonious and dreamlike place which is equipped with all the comforts of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your El Otro Lado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Otro Lado Hotel Portobelo
El Otro Lado Panama/Portobelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing