We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant serving good grill food”
Review of Bull's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bull's Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2011

In stayed here recently, even after reading the bad reviews, as the location was exactly where I wanted to be. I also used the new restaurant on the opening night and the food and service were great.
Maybe they have a new manager and a new restaurant, as I could not believe the reviews. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay and/or a place to eat. Yes, the bars a bit busy in the night but isn't that a sign of a successful country pub, is this economic climate?

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Bull's Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 186 of 186 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

I booked the hotel before reading the comments on line from former guests which didn't sound good so was dubious about our stay. From our arrival until departure we found the staff most helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, extremely clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and hot water was plentiful, lovely deep bath! The coffee and tea facility in the room was well stocked.

We ate in the newly refurbished restaurant on it's opening night. The menu was varied, well cooked and presented but lacking vegetables..Again the staff were attentive but unobtrusive.

Breakfast was plentiful and comprehensive from Danishes to Full England

We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Decided to write this review after returning to Chislehurst on business and going to the Bull for lunch only, after previously staying there in 2009.
Nothing has changed - if you're not local, you don't feel welcome.
When I stayed there, the rooms were clean but a nightmare when the function room was being used - the nosie was unbearable. The staircase to the accommodation is shabby, tatty and dangerous if it's rained (you have to climb over the buckets). The door lock security make you feel unsafe leaving your belongings in room when absent.
The food use to be the one redeeming feature but alas that has now dropped to the same standard as the accommodation. If wanting to dine in Chislehurst, suggest the Tiger Head - chalk and cheese. Good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

When we arrived at this hotel we had to check in at a very busy smoky bar. The barmaid was rushed off her feet and busy serving customers when we asked if we could check in but were told we had to wait - we had our 2 small children waiting too!

Eventually we checked in, went to the room - very dated but ok. They had provided 2 z-beds for the children at £10 each.

We went down to the bar to order bar food but was told they stopped serving bar food on friday nights and we could use the expensive restaurant. We only wanted a snack. We were then told that the children weren't allowed in the bar (we wouldn't have stayed in there anyway but it's funny how it was ok for us to wait in this smelly smoky pub whilst checking in!)

So we took our drinks out to the garden and eventually decided that we were so hungry we'd try the restaurant. Waitress was very nice but we asked for medium rare steaks (at around £16 each) and she came back with well done steaks!

There was 1 waiter serving at breakfast time - service was very very slow and it turns out he was also doing the cooking!

I was very dissapointed by this hotel as the website made it look very nice and certainly never mentioned that they didn't serve bar food on friday nights! Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckshappychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chislehurst
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Chislehurst
133 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Manor at Bickley
The Manor at Bickley
#3 of 6 in Bromley
221 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge London Sidcup Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
2.9 mi away
Travelodge London Bromley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Hotel

Address: Royal Parade, Chislehurst BR7 6NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Chislehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Price Range: $81 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bull's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing