We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to amase :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basil Restaurant - CLOSED

Basil Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Since opening Basil in August 2009, this family run business has created one of the most popular and relaxed restaurants in the Bromley North area which is already happily playing host to numerous regulars. Not far from the Intu Bromley shopping centre (formerly the Glades) With well over 60 items on our menu ranging from burgers, pastas to Swedish meatballs and weekly specials there is something guaranteed to please every palette. Basil's specialty is steaks, all sourced from British farmers and only premium beef selected to ensure the best texture and taste. Most of our steaks are dry aged from 21 days to produce a range of beautiful textures and tastes which will have your mouth in pure bliss from the very first bite. Why not try our Ribeye? It's cooked with a secret special spice only known by our experienced Basil chef's or the Plank steak? Which is both amazing in taste and presentation as it is served and cooked on real wooden plank. We also offer a large variety of cocktails and wines to help heighten any meal choice. With our new Peruvian chef we are keeping Bromley up to date with what's hot in the restaurant world. Peruvian food has been gaining popularity since 2011 as the unique flavours have become a quick favourite with the British public. So why not come and join us for a taste of the cuisine that's sweeping London? Whether you are looking for a peaceful lunchtime meal for two, or a party atmosphere for you and a large group of friends, our friendly, experienced staff are ready and waiting to make your visit to Basil Restaurant Bromley as enjoyable as possible. Open seven days a week from midday till late, feel free to contact us and we'll be happy to help you with any queries you may have. Blue: Cooked very quickly, seared outside, very red and cooler on the inside. Rare: The outside of the steak is light brown, the inside very red, but warm. Medium Rare: The standard for our steaks, cooked brown on the outside, red on the inside. Medium: As above, but some light pink away from the red centre as the beef cooks through. Medium Well: Darker outside, light pink inside, slightly darker pink in the centre, no red. Well Done: Darker brown outside and inside, cooked throughout, sometimes a slightly charred effect.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never fails to amase :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I am a regular customer here because every visit is so good. After introducing it to friends we always go back bringing more people with us!

The food is to such a high standard, I don't know how they can use such good produce for such a reasonable price. The food is well worth the price on the menu, then they give 50% off the food bill!

I recommend Mixed Meat Skewers or Planted Steak

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    18
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

good for pre theatre meal. nicely decorated with comfortable chairs and smart tables. staff very attentive but not pushy....good choices on menu with some specials......thought the chips were delicious! slightly different but a decent meal in comfortable surroundings.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank susiewoo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Was initially sceptical about the 50% off offer from all food but decided to give it a try.

Our meals were great value £10 for a 10oz Rib eye steak with chips and salad, chips were not good but the steak was beautifully cooked and seasoned.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food & Great Atmoshpere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I visited on a Saturday at around 9.30pm with my boyfriend. I found it on the taste card website. They offer 50% off food with your card! They also have 2 cocktails for £8 - these where pretty strong measures too!
We ordered the house garlic bread with spinach and feta - let me tell you it was amazing! Very fresh and very tasty, we had a garlic dip with it too. I ordered the curry chicken pasta which was lovely, a very interesting dish I have never had the combination before. The pasta was quite firm (how i like it) and the sauce was not too heavy, may have done with a little bit more chicken but the portion was very large. My partner had the ribs which again, exceeded expectations. Very yummy and enough for me to pinch one or two.
A sharing starter, a selection of dips, a side dish, 2 mains and 3 drinks all came to about £30.
I would highly recommend this place for the friendly staff (who are obviously very happy in their jobs) to the nice modern decor to the lovely tasty food!
This was actually a better choice than my usual Zizzi!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bananna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Friend recommended, warm and friendly, good service, very busy mainly Xmas parties. Nice atmosphere.food was delicious , ignore the last comment the cheese cake was lovely. Also has 50% off if u walk in off the street, 25% if u book. A must to try....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodside49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Restaurant also viewed

Bromley, Greater London
Bromley, Greater London
 
Bromley, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing