We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get these negative reviews!”

The Coney Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 267 Restaurants in Bromley
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't get these negative reviews!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just had another excellent meal at The Coney. Staff were attentive and friendly, the food was delicious and filling - and it seemed nice and busy! We always have an excellent experience here so don't be put off by less posture reviews!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepsi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    16
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit, I live very near and thought I would give this place another go. My first trip was just after it opened a few teas ago and we had undercooked fish and potatoes, so didn't try again, until now.

Service was fine, but there were only a few tables eating, as early evening. Food was also quick to arrive and well presented. However, the menu is not very interesting and could be far better executed. I had a burger and my partner had a steak on a hot plate. My burger was fine, chips not all that though. Skin on style and went solid as they cooled. Kids meals were fine, again same chips and food was OK. Have to say, the meals were a good size..... But, this place is not cheap. £64 for 2 adults and 2 kids (couple of starters and only 1 soft drink each). Personally, at that price it all needs to be exceptional. Overall, there are better places to go and spend far less. Too expensive for what it is. I wouldn't return, but know people who are fans. Very underwhelmed once again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fm3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Slight improvement needed”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The owners of this pub have spent a lot of money in turning this into quite a nice pub which is heavily into the food side of things. What it needs is a bit of fine tuning.
An xtra pair of hands in the kitchen is needed at busy times,when paying top end prices for food waiting 45 mins for food is to long. The manager needs to keep on top of his/her staff,all are very young(cheap labour) but when they are standing around talking amongst themselves and you are waiting to be served TBH it pisses me off. Sort a few things out and this is a nice pub to eat at.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a meal with some friends. The food was very good which is more than we could say about the service. All of the staff were very young and extremely pleasant but seemed to lack any staff training. We ordered our starter, main and drinks, our server came back sevearl times to check our order as he had a meal short. The starter took an age to arrive, the drinks never arrived.The main also took a very long time,we had a meal short, no knives, forks napkins or condiments on the table. The dressings for the meals arrived when we had almoost finished. Felt it was quite expensive. Not keen on returning

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So welcoming and the staff are lovely "unique hot rock "”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The coney has become a favourite dining option for us, not only is the food always amazing they have a new specials menu everyday so there is always something different to order. We have never eaten a bad meal here and the staff truly make the Experience special! Everyone is so friendly and go out of there way to help and answer any questions, the new management team make you feel like friends and have made it a much nicer relaxed place to be, This month they have lots of new staff and they all bring a new happy feel to the Restaurant! I believe people that leave bad comments didn't speak to the staff as they are always more then happy to help and change anything that's wrong.

If you haven't already been it is. Definitely worth a Visit. We are members of the summit card and this also offers great discounts and special treats Throughout the year

Try the hot rock! X x

Claire, Tony & Pete

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coney Bar & Restaurant also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
Bromley, Greater London
 
Greater London, England
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Coney Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing