We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Service. Comfy, high standard B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clay Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Bromley B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Charming Service. Comfy, high standard B&B”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a large family home in a normal urban neighbourhood in a very quiet street. Our room was lovely, nicely decorated with a huge comfy bed, cable TV and a nice view of the garden. It isn't ensuite, but there was no-one else there, so we had our own bathroom.

Breakfast, in the conservatory or outside patio, is tasty with lots of choice - the continental style with fabulous coffee.

For a B&B, the service is excellent. We got a very welcome drink of coffee when we arrived and all throughout, Roy was very helpful with our plans. He even gave us the change for the Dartford Tunnel as we were in a rush to leave.

It's within walking distance (15-20 minutes) of Chapter One, the Michelin starred restaurant. We didn't go into London, but it looks easy enough with a short bus and train ride. Detailed directions are provided for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very friendly owner who is attentive and helpful. Very clean room with good facilities. Not en suite, but that wasn't a problem during my stay. Lovely and quiet, but close to all the facilities who likely to need. 2 miles to a train service into London with a regular bus service in between.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncole632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have stayed in this Guest House for the first time while visiting relatives in Bromley, all I can say is WELL DONE Roy, you are the perfect host and the big hotels could learn a lot from you. The whole place was immaculate and the bedding had a smell just like your home washed laundry...perfect. The TV had hundreds of channels and also catch up tv so we caught up on what we missed on our day/nights out.
Thanks again Roy, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treeza_duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed in the annexe, which is alongside the house and were very impressed. There was plenty of space, the shower was fantastic and the host, Roy, couldn't do enough to help. As an example, I mentioned in passing that I was on a gluten-free diet, and the next morning at breakfast there was gluten-free cereal waiting for me. All the basics were spot on - comfortable bed, exceptionally good food and a clean, well-maintained room. If you have to stay in Bromley, this is the place I'd recommend - we'll certainly be going back there. Only slight problem was the wi-fi signal, which wasn't particularly good in the annexe. Otherwise, perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed in the annexe, which is extremely comfortable, clean and contemporary. Perfect for us and our daughter. Loved all the little extras. It is the first time anybody has left squash for our daughter in the room. The under floor heating was lovely, and the bathroom an excellent size.

We were offered a good choice for breakfast and Roy made us feel very comfortable, and suggested we sent him a text if we wanted anything different for breakfast. He also lent my husband some shoe polish as we had left ours at home.

Pay heed to Roys warning of watching the gates to the driveway when you arrive. We arrived in the dark, tired after a long journey, and slightly damaged the car driving through the gates. Totally our fault, we should have parked outside.

Roy is a most fabulous host, who made us feel very much at home. We would not hesitate to stay there again when we return to see family.

Thanks Roy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This B&B is not in the best part of Bromley, but makes up for it in everything else.
Great welcome, spotless room. Huge bathroom with chair. Bed supremely comfortable, breakfast very good. TV medium size LCD on cable, so great picture and 100s of channels.
Nothing was too much trouble for the host, Roy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnep34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed here with my wife (we're middle-aged) for just one night, but would gladly have stayed longer. Because it was the off-season, we got lucky and owner Roy (what a charming chappie!) let us have the new "annexe". (It's usually only available for two or more nights.)

It's a delightful, brand-new, addition adjoining the main house, with its own, huge, en-suite bathroom. The sizeable bedroom has a big-screen plasma, a really comfortable bed, and tea and coffee facilities. Everything in both rooms was new and the whole place was absolutely spotless.

The breakfast room in the main house was a true delight, obviously custom-built very recently, and Roy offered just about everything one could ask for in a 'continental' breakfast. However, when he learned that my wife was gluten-intolerant, he cooked us a wonderful "Full English" breakfast. Now that's what I call service!

An altogether wonderful, but too short, stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley
3.4 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Avis Hotel
Avis Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bromley
70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bickley Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
2.6 mi away
Bull's Head Hotel
Bull's Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chislehurst
166 reviews
3.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Farm Guest House

Property: Clay Farm Guest House
Address: 126 Jackson Road, Bromley BR2 8NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bromley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clay Farm Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clay Farm Guest House / Bed and Breakfast in Bromley, Kent (The greenest London borough!). Quiet location, 'home from home' with free ultra fast WI-FI. Ideally situated B and B accommodation with fast trains to central London and on the border of the beautiful Kent countryside. Convenient for Bromley, Orpington, Croydon, South East London and North Kent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Clay Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Farm Guest House Bromley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing