We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful in every respect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wellrose Barn

View of the Barn from Wellrose Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Barn from Wellrose Garden
Harvest time in field adjoining  Wellrose Entrance and stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
View of the Barn from Wellrose Garden
Harvest time in field adjoining  Wellrose
Entrance and stairs
The kitchen / dining area
Wellrose barn in May
Shower room
Hob, toasters, Alessi coffee maker and kettle
King size bed
Wardrobe area
Shower room
Shower room
Shower room
Shower room
9 acre wood from kitchen window
View from Hall area
Wellrose garden in June
Frosty early morning January
Wellrose barn on the left over rape field
Hook in main room
Rainbow over adjoining field to Wellrose barn
Early morning dog walk behind Wellrose
Usual dog walk in near by field
Sunset behind 9 acre wood behind Wellrose
Hall area
Farm walk nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Much Hadham, Hertfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew-AM...
Berkhamsted
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful in every respect!”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a delightful and decent place to stay when visiting this area look no further than Wellrose Barn! It is set in the most beautiful countryside with lovely views over rolling fields. The accommodation itself is outstanding - bright, clean, modern, comfortable, quiet, well furnished and very private. I cannot, through the written word, do justice as to just how lovely this place is - sufficient, perhaps, to say that I look forward to staying there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet that we experienced.
Liked least: Leaving...!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2016
Andrew. A wonderful review; thank you so much for taking the time to post it. We think Wellrose Barn is unique but it is wonderful to have written confirmation. Looking forward to your return.
Amanda and Vaughan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for my weekly commute”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I'm currently weekly commuting from Edinbrugh to a job down South and I'm staying at Wellrose for a few weeks during the week whilst I wait for my longer term flat to vacate. It's perfect, much more snug than an hotel and I can make my own breakfast and dinner.
It's in immaculate condition and a very bright and cheerful space with lovely views over fields. It's got everything you need, including wifi and loads of plugs. The shower is nice and powerful too.
The garden is lovely and the smell of lavender in the evenings is delightful.
Amanda has been welcoming and kind.
Very handy for Stansted.
Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chastrat6
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Whether you stay for just a long weekend to relax and visit the local pubs for some great food or use it as a base to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside, you could not want for such an enchanting place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, lovely place.”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely homestay in the english countryside, beautiful views out to the fields and nice country lanes nearby to drive around. We were in town for a wedding so needed somewhere close. as we had to leave early the day after the wedding we didint get to see to much of the place, which is a shame as it looked lovely.

Room is very tidy and all the amenities are there, you get your own covered car park, which is great and it is actually quite handy to a lot of supermarkets, restaurants etc..

The owners were great ad were always able to help whenever you needed it.

Would definately stay again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirtyHer...
herts
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were lucky enough to stay at Wellrose Barn for the months of April and May whilst our house in Harpenden was having an extension built. We found it a struggle finding somewhere nice to stay that would allow two small poodles but Amanda & Vaughan at Wellrose barn were very accommodating. We absolutely loved our time here, the barn has everything you need including a fully equipped kitchen which we cooked in almost every night. The arm chairs are super comfy for relaxing in front of the TV and the views from the veluxe windows are just beautiful, I never tired of looking out and listening to the birds singing and the noisy pheasants! Also superb was the black out blinds on the veluxe windows we both slept so well.
We really enjoyed lots of lovely long dog walks in the beautiful fields surrounding and had fun exploring the nearby villages of Bishops Stortford, Buntingford, Royston and Cambridge. Worthy of a mention is Pearces local farm shop that Amanda recommended and became my favourite place to visit! The barn was perfect for our long stay we came and went as we pleased, were made to feel very welcome and the atmosphere was relaxed. Amanda and Vaughan were always there if we had a problem but at the same time gave us plenty of our own space. We highly recommend for holidays or like us a short let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edawes198...
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Planning a visit to see family in North London, we wanted to stay somewhere out of the city, but not too far away. We found Wellrose Barn on Trip Advisor... What a find! This is a converted barn roof (cars park in the garage underneath). The accomodation is a little like staying in a loft apartment, it is very nicely kitted out, velux windows overlooking fields and forest with blackout blinds (added bonus when you need a good nights sleep), fully functioning kitchenette, heated blanket, comfy chairs and bistro set for dining. The quality of the furnishings and cleanliness were second to none. We very nearly stayed at a "generic hotel" for the same price locally, we are SO glad we didn't!!
Thank you Amanda for a wonderful stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viv G
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loving this place”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I loved the attention to detail, the cleanliness, the location and the peace and quiet.
The owners are kind, considerate and unbelievably accommodating. I would give more than 5 Stars if there were more !
Thank you, thank you, thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unbelievably comfortable bed
Liked least: Getting up in the morning!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing