We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect- even with little ones!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wellrose Barn

View of the Barn from Wellrose Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Barn from Wellrose Garden
Harvest time in field adjoining  Wellrose Entrance and stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
View of the Barn from Wellrose Garden
Harvest time in field adjoining  Wellrose
Entrance and stairs
The kitchen / dining area
Wellrose barn in May
Shower room
Hob, toasters, Alessi coffee maker and kettle
King size bed
Wardrobe area
Shower room
Shower room
Shower room
Shower room
9 acre wood from kitchen window
View from Hall area
Wellrose garden in June
Frosty early morning January
Wellrose barn on the left over rape field
Hook in main room
Rainbow over adjoining field to Wellrose barn
Early morning dog walk behind Wellrose
Usual dog walk in near by field
Sunset behind 9 acre wood behind Wellrose
Hall area
Farm walk nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Much Hadham, Hertfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gemma n
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect- even with little ones!”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I recently stayed at Wellrose barn for a couple of nights with my two young children. Our stay was perfect and the owner had thought of everything, even with two little ones in tow.

A travel cot was provided and we had fresh bread for the morning, along with milk, orange juice and many other store cupboard essentials. The wi-fi was very quick and the children loved the fact that there was a DVD player to keep them amused for a while before bed time.

The decor is lovely and very homely with a really fresh, clean feel to it and I felt very secure in such a rural location with electric gates at the entrance.

We arrived in the dark, but the views in the morning were beautiful of the surrounding country side, a highly recommended place to stay even with small children!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireJoh...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning and relaxing”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

After a dreaful journey is was a dream to arrive a such a beautiful location, then we saw our bed for the night and were delighted. Everything we needed was there, all mod cons and plenty of store cupboard essentials if we needed them. I can't give a 5/5 as there were problems with the shower, but apart from that this is a picture perfect location that will give you a comfortable and relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden and swing for my little girl to play on
Liked least: The shower that didn't drain properly, but this would be all sorted out now.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accomodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Wellrose Barn has all the facilities you want with the added bonus of beautiful views and a lovely private setting. Would recommend to anyone wanting a delightful bolthole in Hertfordshire.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbe2311
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Cozy, comfortable and perfect for pets”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed almost three weeks at Wellrose Barn when we moved to England from overseas and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hosts are very kind, welcoming people who made our stay very pleasant.They recommended lots of great places to see and explore.

The accommodation is just fantastic; a spacious studio apartment in a former barn, separate from the main cottage. The owners put lots of love into the interior design and made it very homey. Benefits of the place include covered parking, electric gate (you get your own key), comfortable bed, own kitchen including stove, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, toaster and kettle, strong wi-fi internet connection and TV. The owners are so thoughtful; they even provided bread, eggs, milk and a few other staples.

If the place itself wouldn't have already wowed us its location in the countryside sure would have done the trick. The surrounding fields invite you to take long walks away from the hustle and bustle of busy London (but you are still in convenient driving distance). We met a few of the neighbours too. They all spoke highly of the hosts at Wellrose Barn.

For us, the best part however was that the place is dog-friendly. Travelling with a two-year old medium-sized dog is a challenge; there are not many accommodations that welcome pets. We fell in love with the hosts the minute they said they have a puppy and our dogs could play together in the garden (a paradise for garden lovers!). We arrived early and had to leave for an appointment shortly after. It was a huge relief that we could leave our dog with the hosts to play with their dogs. They kept an eye on our jet-lagged dog and made sure that the dogs have enough time and space to get acquainted without stress. Over the three weeks our puppy became happier by the day, enjoyed lots of playtime in the garden and even got spoiled with treats from the hosts. They had brought chewing treats for their dogs and included our dog so she would not feel left out. And whenever we had to run errands we could leave her there, knowing that she is well taken care of.

All in all, it is the perfect location for a quiet getaway in the countryside. The vast trail system (footpaths) surrounding the barn invites for long walks in nature. We saw two deer, lots of rabbits and squirrels on our walks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
“Perfect country getaway”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We recently traveled to England from the US to visit my husbands family and stayed 8 wonderful nights at wellrose barn. It was clean airy and lots of space to stretch out. The countryside was beautiful and convenient to motorways and shopping without being in the middle of town. The owner was a charming perfect hostess and allowed us complete privacy, but was available for questions and information. The bed was big and comfortable and we slept great. The views were terrific and local village charming. Would definitely stay again when we are over again for a visit. It was also surprisingly very affordable. Great value for your pound or dollar. Thanks again to our hostess who was terrific. Take my advise and book your stay you will have no regrets!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stc8190
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Spent sixteen nights at the Barn over the Christmas Period. Wonderful to be back enjoying English Weather - very different to my current home in Abu Dhabi!
The accommodation is beautiful with excellent attention to detail. Top quality fixtures and fittings and very easy to live and relax in the space. A very comfortable and relaxing stay with very welcoming but unobtrusive hosts. Great selection of provisions to get started with.
Totally recommended - will be back!

Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pindarus
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“cosy and luxurious”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A break in on the Hertfordshire/Essex borders equidistant from Harlow, Bishops Stortford and Hertford might sound unpromising but in fact Much Hadham and the surrounding villages are attractive and unspoilt. You are within an easy drive of the more famous villages on the Essex/Suffolk borders and easily accessible to London and Stansted. The barn itself is an absolute gem, self contained and private with luxurious fittings and linens and spotlessly clean. Basic provisions (milk, eggs, bread etc)are provided and there are lots of other tins and packages you are welcome to use if you replace them. The setting is extremely rural with very little noise. The owners are unobtrusive but very friendly if you want some advice. Excellent value all round.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing