We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking advantage of location - better bring a picnic”

The Hoops Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Hoops Inn is a classic British pub and dining room with a contemporary twist. It is a beautiful dining space with a roaring fire and stunningoutdoor areas and is a great placeto enjoy fine ales and the exceptional wine list.The food is seasonal and locally sourced, wherever possible, withherbs fresh from the garden. There are daily specials alongsideclassic gastro pub fare - all superbly executed within a warmand relaxing atmosphere.Set within the beautifulsurroundings of the Henry MooreFoundation Estate in the village of Perry Green, near Much Hadham, The Hoops Inn is now under new management as of November 2012. The Hoops Inn has an interesting history and is believed to havebeen built about 1834, a date found on several interior beams. Throughout the 19th Century, it was described simply as a "beerhouse" and more recently was well known as the local of thegreat sculptor himself.The Hoops Inn is also available to hire for events and parties.All visitors to The Henry Moore Foundation benefit from a rangeof special offers when dining at The Hoops. Collect a voucherwhen buying tickets at the Visitor Centre during the open season.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taking advantage of location - better bring a picnic”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here before visiting Henry Moore Foundation house and garden. The pub is owned by them as well... Village very attractive and pub looks the piece but for the prices they charge you would expect table service for food. I had to wait a long time at the bar to place food and drink order. Their menu stipulates main course and dessert for one price or three courses for another. I asked if it was possible to have a starter and main but this was not allowed, I had to have either main and dessert or three courses... most bizarre I thought. Ended up just having a main in the end which was 'dressed crab'. Well all that I can think is that is was 'undressed' from the cellophane wrapping these crabs come ready prepared in. The slice of lemon addition was like something you get in a gin and tonic, and the only other dressing was at the side of the mixed leaf salad. It also came with roast potatoes. Pretty boring and not particularly flavoursome. For vegetarians the choice was also pretty poor, with a cheese and tomato starter (if you decided to go off the wierd menu restrictions) and then a main course option of yes a goats cheese and tomato quiche...very inspiring.
So pretty poor overall unfortunately and I would recommend you take a picnic and eat it on the green. Shame as it is in a lovely location and the Henry Moore Foundation itself is a fantastic visit even if you are not an expert on his work. Delightful house tour and fabulous gardens to wander in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshcake22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    23
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very slow with missing food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

On our first visit this week, the food was quite good but that is where it stops. Staff were standing around chatting as there were few customers, but our food was delivered very slowly. In addition, they had clearly forgotten a main meal and a side. Instead of dealing with this upfront by apologising and keeping us informed, we were fobbed off and ignored. Requested condiments also did not arrive despite two reminders. One waitress did her best and was polite but the waiter disappeared to keep checking his convertible in the car park!. Ultimately most main meals were finished before the missing one arrived which was disappointing. To add insult to injury, we had a further 20 minute wait for dessert which was unforgivable given it was two children's ice-creams and three other cold dishes! We will revisit given the lovely venue, and in the hope the staff were having a bad day!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere, great food and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Ashamed to say as a local that this is the first time I have eaten out in the refurbished Hoops Inn. Turned up on spec, was seated at the bar and made to feel comfortable while they sorted us out a table for two. The restaurant was buzzing and really busy but the service was still great and the food delicious. Not all of the menu was to my taste, but there was a good enough choice to keep me happy. We had a great night and it wasn't too overpriced. Would recommend booking if you want to be guaranteed a table, we were just lucky.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cristina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We ate sunday lunch here before going to Henry Moore's and we were very impressed - efficient welcoming and polite staff, relaxed atmosphere, very child friendly (we were 2 families with 6 kids in two) excellent food and impeccable surroundings. A really excellent dining experience and highly recommended. Top marks!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“We wanted a quick lunch...it was fine for what it is...”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

As with many people, we were there to see Hoglands. We wanted a quick lunch. The Hoops have somewhat of a captive audience as it is on the doorstep.

The place was pretty smart albeit "very new" looking after the refurb. The food was a couple of notches above standard pub food and it probably was just about possible to classify it as a gastropub. In that case I can be a little more critical....my roast chicken (£12.50) was rather lacking in depth of flavour as was the cottage pie (£9.5).

I will return when I revisit the Estate but mainly for the convenience. I can see why people like it...it is above average and there are some very average places nearby...in any event, the profits (supposedly) go to the Henry Moore Estate.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoops Inn Restaurant also viewed

Much Hadham, Hertfordshire
Much Hadham, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Hoops Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing