We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chips ever !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tally Ho

The Tally Ho
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Barkway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $62
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Tally Ho is an English pub at the centre of the community in Barkway village. We offer the best of British pub classics alongside original, inspiring dishes with the emphasis on locally sourced seasonal produce. We serve a variety of beers, spirits and wines and pride ourselves on our selection of Ales - you are always welcome to sample! Join us in our spacious bar and dining room where we can accommodate all types of functions and gatherings with family and friends.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best chips ever !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Have been to this pub several times , I go to a quiz night every other month , Roz the owner lays on a superb buffet , different every time , a really good evening it is too , haven't come first yet ! Went for a meal there one Saturday lunchtime , had the best fish and chips ever and the puds are amazing too .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    34
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Okay time was had, nothing to write home about..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Drinks were a little pricey, but the food was very good. Sat in the garden in the sunshine, quite peaceful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swiftnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“This is a local pub for local people!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Tally Ho looked promising from outside and we were hungry and in a strange little 'league of gentlemen' village so we popped in for dinner.
It was full of the locals who look at you like an alien but the barmaid was very friendly. We went through to the restaurant area which I have to say was a bit dusty and cluttered but seemed to match the general theme of the town.
We ordered the home made burger and chips. We really enjoyed them! It wasn't cheap but they definitely filled us up!
The ladies toilets were a little odd... a big random shelf built into the middle of the room filled with books... well at least they weren't in a rush to get rid of you!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KayGregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Truly an oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have dined at the Tally Ho on numerous occasions and I have never been disappointed. It is that most unusual thing; a really good old fashioned pub that serves food of high standard. Regulars come here because they can guarantee a stimulating conversation with fine wines and ales and a roaring fire in cold weather and no background music or electronic machines of any description.
The menu is generally seasonal and, at the appropriate time,makes good use of locally acquired game. On the specials board one can often find venison and deer offal or pheasant, rabbit and partridge dishes. The more orthodox meats are supplied by a local butcher who really knows his stuff and makes the fine Buntingford sausage, as well as selling some of the best fillet steak I have purchased.
However, the Tally Ho is not all about tradition. The two young chefs are talented and innovative, producing some original and exciting dishes.
Today, as I sat eating lunch of beautifully prepared and presented salade nicoise, I wondered why I had not submitted a review of this little haven. Maybe because it feels like a second home to me and reviews are usually about visiting somewhere new. I resolved to put that right .
You will find The Tally in The Good Pub Guide and it deserves to be there.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tally Ho also viewed

Nuthampstead, Royston
 
Royston, Hertfordshire
Royston, Hertfordshire
 
Barley, Hertfordshire
Royston, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Tally Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing