We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place with real character”
Review of Ashburton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chorleywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashburton House
Ranked #1 of 1 Chorleywood B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have recently stayed at Ashburton house on several occassions and every time have felt really comfortable. I enjoy the individual nature of the place it is the exact opposite of all of those anonymous hotel chains. Uniquely presented and spotlessly clean it is a real gem.
Whilst there are only a few rooms it has a warm, quirky, friendly atmosphere.
Breakfast is fantastic, really nicely presented in the wooden panelled dining room and with as much choice as you can wish for.

Not the cheapest in the area, but probably the best value by far!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentTimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Maybe I should declare an interest at the outset (although I should stress that I have no business or personal interest in the property other than as a paying guest): I first stayed at Ashburton House 11 months ago and since then I haven’t even considered staying anywhere else for my regular visits to the area. From the outset the proprietors, Nick and Olive Vale, extended a warm welcome to their magnificent home and I have never been disappointed during my dozens of stays during 2011. There are 3 double bedrooms, all of which (Gold, Silver and Claret) are large and sumptuously appointed with generously fitted facilities in every room. The web site provides an accurate overview of each bedroom and of the other areas open to guests.
The standard of fittings and facilities befits Ashburton’s 5star gold status and the list of included extras from sewing kits to a huge range of reading matter is extensive. Attention to detail is comprehensive from fresh flowers to a well stocked corridor fridge for drinks and nibbles which works on an “honesty box” system.
Breakfast offers an extensive selection with the full English (traditional and veggie options available) supplemented by fresh fruit and juice, cereal and a selection of breads and croissants.
There is no lunch or dinner option but the property is situated within a few minutes walk of Chorleywood High Street which offers a number of dining options as well as a fast train service to London (mainline rail plus Metropolitan underground). There is also a plethora of good pubs and restaurants within a short drive.
Ashburton is simply the best B&B I have ever encountered and my only reticence in writing this report is the fear that as more folks discover this hidden gem I myself may be unable to book a room when I want to!

Room Tip: Gold is the largest room with a magnificent bed and comfortable seating to watch TV or just relax, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlight42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashburton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton House

Address: 48 Berks Hill, Chorleywood WD3 5AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chorleywood
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chorleywood
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing