We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous room and a wonderful breakfast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Chenies B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous room and a wonderful breakfast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed at the bedford arms with a large family group over 2 nights, we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and found the staff and facilities to be exceptional! our rooms were immaculate and beautifully decorated.. For breakfast we found ourselves spoilt for choice!! I would definately come back again!
Chenies is a quaint, well preserved, sleepy village which I adored!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank maldongirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    63
    23
    16
    3
See reviews for
43
69
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rickmansworth
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

had an informal spur of the moment dinner with some friends, and decided on bedford arms , have been there a few times before, so we had an idea what to expect.

the menu was varried, yet still including the british stalwarts such has home made pie, roast meat, and fish and chips,

the starters were all made on the premises , and could pass for a light lunch on their own !

we had the roast of the day , steak, and fish and chips for main, not a frozen chip or veg in sight !!

A good wine list with a good selection of everyday priced wine by the glass or bottle, we had the chardonnay which was chilled to perfection, with our starters and a light merlot with the mains.

we had a little left so i ordered the cheese board for one , which shared between four just about right.

for any of you thinking of going to the local beef eater, havester or other chain for british food, a trip to the bedford arms , shows you can have good quality british food, without having to go to the fat duck etc,

this combination with the picturesque english countryside setting is a hard one even for heston and co to beat

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We were staying at Latimer Place this weekend. We met friends for Dinner on the Saturday night and they were itching to try the Restaurant at the Bedford.
The food and the service were faultless. We had a lovely evening. One of the nicest meals I have eaten in a long time. We will definitely return.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Three Courses for circa. £30 - a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank LondonMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

This was my mother's 80th birthday on Oct 2nd and we booked dinner, all 10 rooms in the main hotel, breakfast and lunch on the Sunday, so a fairly substantial booking for 18 people in Feb 2010.
Two hours after arrival we found out by accident that they had double booked two of the rooms and didn't have the extra bed promised for the family room. They made no attempt to inform us of this on arrival and instead tried to 'cover it up'. If we had been informed, we would have reallocated rooms (had previously sent through room allocation list so people could be directed to the appropriate rooms, this had not produced any communication to the effect this would be a problem). They were going to randomly reallocate rooms without any reference to us, splitting the party including putting teenaged brother and sister in a double bed! and my mother, whose party it was in an adjoining building. Naturally no apology offered.
We had been told we couldn't have the resident;s lounge for pre dinner champagne and were squashed into the public bar without enough seats for everyone. The resident's bar was meant to be free after dinner but was still occupied i.e. they don't really offer this facility.
The service was awful with the main guest, my mother not receiving her meal until many of the other guests had been served. Given there were two large parties in the number of waiting staff was wholly inadequate and the consequence was several people had a cold meal.
The service at lunch the following day was similar with inadequate numbers of staff and cold meals as a consequence.
Staff themselves were pleasant enough but clearly need training in the basics of this industry. The manager at the time never introduced himself and had no form of name badge.
The only redeeming feature was the food which was good, despite going cold due to poor coordination of service.
In our experience this hotel may work well for individuals but not for parties or several people.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinson26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Nice enough place major disappointment in that breakfast was only served till 9.30am on a Sunday morning. We were nor informed this in arrival, not being told anything just given a key we presumed it would be till at least 10!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andymac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORSET
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed 9th and 10th September at this hotel with friends and extended family for my daughters wedding which was also held at the hotel. It is well run, the staff are helpful and pleasant and went out of there way to make the wedding day a success. Any small problems were quickly dealt with and in a pleasant way. The accomodation is quiet and warm and the food is superb. Our only real gripe was that we had very, very hard pillows for the first night but the problem was solved as soon as reception was told. Suggest they give customers a choice of pillows in the room. My thanks go to all the staff who helped make a very succesful day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MADGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenies
1.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Two Brewers Hotel
Two Brewers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipperfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Arms Hotel

Property: Bedford Arms Hotel
Address: Chenies Village, Chenies WD3 6EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chenies
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chenies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Arms Hotel is situated in the village of Chenies. The Village was known as Isenhampstead until the middle of the 13th century, when it became known as Chenies from the Cheyne family who occupied the Manor until the 16th century.The hotel building dates for the most part from 1842. It was converted from a house to a hotel in the 1930's and was a small eating house and bar rather than a hotel. In 1957 the restaurant was moved to it's current position. The hotel was frequently used by the Russel family who later acquired Woburn Abbey.There are eighteen bedrooms, ten of which are individually designed and decorated in a traditional style and eight new contemporary designed bedrooms.There are two four-poster suites one with a Jacuzzi, sixteen double bedrooms including one purpose built disabled bedroom. Twin and family rooms and also a cot is available on request. The majority of bedrooms have wonderful views of either the hotel gardens or the Chiltern countryside.Room Service is available during breakfast, lunchtime and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your Bedford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Arms Hotel Chenies, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing