We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Dewchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Tipis and Yurts
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Site”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Absolutely lovely site with great facilities - fully equipped kichens (with powerpoints for charging mobiles!) and lovely showers and baths. The yurt we stayed in was lovely and comfortable and the wood burning stove was a welcome addition.

Only suggestion would be it needs more covered outside seating areas, as the weather made the shared kitchen very popular.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurplePriestess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We hosted our Handfasting in Sept 2010 and hired out the whole site. It is a truly magical setting and made the day perfect.

The staff went out of their way to help us ensure the day went smoothly and nothing was too much trouble.

The yurts and tipi’s were beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The kids had the time of their lives running around the site and playing in the hammocks. The site is enclosed so the parents could relax that no harm could happen to the kids.

The kitchen facilities were great, a fridge of each one of the yurts and tipi’s, plenty of crockery and cutlery. We all had fun making our own home made pizza in the bake house.

The wash room facilities were very good; there was always hot running water when we wanted it. The showers and toilets were kept very clean. I especially enjoyed the luxury of a cast iron roll top bath!!

I would certainly recommend Woodlands. It’s an excellent venue for a private break or a large gathering. My friends are still talking about would a fab time we all had and when are we going to go back?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerchild1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed on this site with our two boys and had an excellent time. There is plenty of safe playing space for children in the woods or on the rope swings. Each tipi / yurt has its own very comfy hammock nearby, as well as an outside firepit, a bench and a table. The whole site has a special, rustic atmosphere to it.. As we stayed there for my son's birthday we decided to use the impressive handmade clay bread-oven. Our yurt "Valley" was lovingly arranged with plenty of sheepskins and fresh flowers, candles and plenty of lanterns (just the thing if you are after a bit of romance...), and the mattresses were comfortable. There were woollen rugs available for cold nights. Kitchen, showers and toilets were very pleasant, nice and clean. We found it the ideal place to get away from it all!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose503875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had Woodpecker Yurt at the back of the site. The Yurts are nice and on decking but the foam mattressing and double beds are not comfortable. We would have been better off bringing our own camp beds. The woodland is quite scruffy and badly managed. Lots of dead or dying trees and nettles. Kitchen and toilet facilities are a nightmare. The toilets are right next to the kitchen. It not a pleasant experience to cook breakfast while someone loudly uses the toilet within a few feet of you. The kitchen is filthy and full of flies. The kettle looked as if it had never been cleaned. cutlery and plates are kept on open shelves with only a tea towel to cover the cutlery. This means that you have to wash everything before using it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geraldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Some friends and I stayed here for a girls weekend. It was fab. We had never been on an experience like this before. We had the large yurt 'woodpecker' and the tipi nearby. The weather was hot and sunny so no mud in sight and we didnt need to use the indoor heaters. The yurt / tipi are beautifully decorated with rugs and throws. The people on the site are friendly and it feels very safe there. There is a kitchen area so its a bit more luxurious than camping, and the toilets and showers are well maintained and very clean. Outside our yurt / tipi there is a picnic table, trees with rope ladders for climbing, hammock, fire pit and grill and a small BBQ. Wood is provided for the inside heater and firelighters. Its a magical place in a lovely part of the world. Great for kids. It never gets overcrowded as they dont allow camping - so the only ever have the people who have booked for the yurts / tipis. No cars allowed on site - you park at the car park then use the wheelbarrows to transport your luggage down the path to your yurt / tipi.

The only suggestions I have for improvement are firstly that there was not enough hot water for everyone in our group to have showers when we wanted them. They always seemed to run out of hot water quickly so you have to time your shower right if all yurts/ tipis are booked out. I heard other families commenting on this too. Also a friend and I who were in the king size bed found the mattress very uncomfortable and springy. By the morning I had an aching back. I would have been better on a mattress on the floor I think. I was also quite surprised that although there were recycling bins I couldnt find a composing bin.

We went on a half day canoeing trip with an canoe co at Simmonds Yat which was an amazing experience. We also found a wonderful picnic spot near to the campsite by the river along a public footpath and we went swimming in the river Wye (there is a strong current though so be cautious and stay in the shallow part).

All in all a brilliant weekend and this is a fantastic and magical place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisap4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshrie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

fantastic outdoor holiday venue. All mod cons and beautiful setting. brilliant!

Helpful?
3 Thank orangecrush4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodland Tipis and Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Tipis and Yurts

Property: Woodland Tipis and Yurts
Address: Woodlands Farm, Little Dewchurch HR2 6QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Little Dewchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little Dewchurch
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing