We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous barn for special get together”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cothill Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Vowchurch, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amandamF2...
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fabulous barn for special get together”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This barn is perfect for a family / friends get-togethers. Setting is perfect, beautifully furnished & equipped with everything you'd ever need, including stuff you don't get in other self catering places - dishwasher tablets, washing powder, scourer, tea towels, dog stuff etc etc. Bedding, towels, showers all great quality. Kitchen can easily feed a banquet with crockery, equipment and utensils.
Its quite remote, so be prepared to yomp, or drive to anywhere. The 2 local pubs The Mill (30 mins walk downhill, 50 mins estimate walk back uphill, as we sent a runner to get the car !! ), and The Bridge 1 hour walk SAS style by 3 fit blokes; unknown duration for the return, but at least its downhill, after the draft scrumpy !!
Great touches, like the firepit, BBQ, gardens with view, hammock etc make it great for kids and dogs.
Tip for the firepit - take a saw with you, so you can gather dead wood and cut to size, as the wood provided isn't sufficient for a decent fire.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your special birthday week at Cothill Barn. It's great you were able to visit some of the lovely local pubs we have (a dozen or so within a 20 min drive)! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danandcha...
Hever, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect barn for family get together with stunning views”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

After a long journey from Kent we were instantly impressed with the location and stunning scenery surrounding the barn. Ali kindly took delivery of our Sainsbury's delivery and even packed or things away-thank you!
The barn fitted our two families perfectly - 4 adults, 5 kids (3-8) + baby. The two main bedrooms were spacious and interesting with high ceilings. One with a lovely roll top bath and one with a brilliant shower. Ours had a raised area perfect for viewing the countryside first thing in the morning. Downstairs the kids started in a twin and double (both great ensuites) plus a snug with sofa bed-worked perfectly!
Furnished with a well curated mix of antiques and vintage items as well as some great enamel signs from the local area. Look out for the ducks (real ones and plastics ones!).
The heating and hot water was modern and never let us down. The kitchen had everything needed plus more worth a beautiful table which fitted 16 of us!
Ali was great- as well as the fantastic job she did with our shopping our welcome basket of food was a lovely treat.
We could not find anything to fault this well thought out and perfectly situated barn conversion.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit a fantastic location.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Thank you for this fabulous review. We love making guests feel as welcome as possible and the mix of room types seems to work well with groups of different ages. We had great fun sourcing the quirky bits and pieces to decorate the Barn and the duck hunt is always a hit with young and old alike - the problem comes when guests hide them and I can't find them!! I hope you will visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect rural retreat”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

There is a definite 'wow' factor to this property. From its fabulous location on the top of a hill with lovely views and walks from the door, to the imaginative way the barn has been converted and furnished to provide high quality living and sleeping accommodation for all those staying, it is really quite special.
It particularly suited our party with a mixture of ground floor and upstairs bedrooms all with their own ensuites, and a lovely big (and well-fenced) garden for our dog to run around in. The owner, Ali, was very welcoming and helpful.
We all had a totally relaxing time and none of us wanted to come home.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Thanks so much for such a great review. It was lovely to meet you all and I am glad you had good weather and were able to make the most of the many footpaths from the doorstep of Cothill Barn. We feel very lucky to live in such a beautiful spot and love sharing it with our guests. I hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnyoni...
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Stable, Cothill Barns - Everything you could wish for and more”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in the Stable at Cothill Farm for a few days in March. The Stable had every amenity we could ask for. Fully equipped kitchen including fridge/freezer, dish cloths, tea towels, tea/coffee/sugar etc, clingfilm, foil & washing up liquid (all things that most self-catering accommodation does not provide. A washing machine & tumble drier were in a separate annex. Lots of books and DVDs plus a TV in the master bedroom. Beautiful views. A welcome pack of bread, milk, homemade jams, pickles & eggs from the farm were left in the kitchen to greet us plus a basket of logs for the woodburner was provided. Beautifully furnished. Lovely bathroom & shower room with towels and loo rolls provided. The Shepherds hut outside in the garden is a lovely touch. If there was one tiny criticism it would be that we felt there should be towel rails in the bathrooms. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
thank you so much for such a glowing review. We do aim to provide as many essentials as possible, in order for you to enjoy your holiday as soon as you walk through the door. I hope we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholasj...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect luxury escapism”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here in January - myself, a couple and their two year old daughter.

Wow - a beautiful barn - spacious, comfortable, and with the most wonderful finishing touches and attention to detail - even down to a pair of binoculars and bird watching book on the galleried landing. The kitchen is kitted out such that cooking is easy, and plenty of equipment for making fresh coffee, tea etc etc etc.

We ate and drank, walked and lazed about. Peace and tranquility with all the necessary home comforts and facilities to make a wonderful break away from the norm.

Hay on Wye on the doorstep, with all its fascinating shops and coffee and food culture, and the best sough dough I've ever had from the Angel Bakery in Abergavenny. (As you can tell, food featured strongly in our stay!)

Ali was most welcoming - a delicious cake on the table along with some eggs etc from the farm - happy to help with anything, but equally happy to leave us to just enjoy her wonderful barn.

I have sung the praises to all my family and colleagues and I know a return trip is already planned by my friends in October with their family.

Would not hesitate to recommend in every way.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splant961
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What can I say. Second visit, just as good as the first. We were two families of four and easily fit in the Barn. The converted barn is indeed a real delight. Warm and cosy yet spacious and airy. All tastefully decorated and immaculately kept. The barn retains the warmth of its original wooden structure even when outside it is blowing a gale.
Rob and Ali could not have been more helpful and the basket of goodies remains a really nice touch.
The barn is on top of a hill, not isolated but commanding fantastic views over the Black mountains and the Golden valley. Excellent walks all round for self, family and dogs.
Two cracking pubs within walking distance and the Bridge Inn is rather a bit special, the perfect country pub.
We will certainly return again and again for what has been a real tonic of a short break.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thank you for such a glowing review - it is always lovely to have returning visitors. It was great that you had some fine weather to enjoy a few of the many walks from Cothill. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M
1 review
“Excellent, I cannot find fault”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A group of friends from polytechnic, we had a 35 year reunion. We rented the stable as well. This is the perfect place for such a gathering. The kitchen was big enough that lots of people could cook at once and the table sat all 11 of us. I can honestly say that I have never seen such a well equipped kitchen in a holiday rental. All the bedrooms are distinctive and beautifully finished. No one argued over where to sleep because all the bedrooms were great.
There are plenty of walks for dogs or people, Hay on Wye is nearby ( could prove expensive if you like books- ask me how I know ), and the night skies were amazing.

Date of stay: December 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing