We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dined, chilled and renewed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbots Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbots Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Wigmore B&B and Inns
kidderminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dined, chilled and renewed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is our second visit to Abbots Lodge for my wifes Birthday, the rain was constant and we drove through 2 floods to get there, nothing was going to stop us from this place of sanctuary :-)

Again the place is spotless, welcoming and just so darn relaxing, i love the whole idea of just shutting ourselves away and not having to mix with other guests just wonderful, Janet again was the perfect host and wowed us again with her cooking, we even managed a late night stroll after the rain stopped to wigmore castle which was stunning as the sun began to set.

The bed is the most comfortable i have ever slept in and would love to pick it up and bring it home, the breakfast the next morning was wonderful, i can't rate John's poached eggs enough :-)

Can't wait to go back and just spend such wonderful quality time with my beautiful wife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjabbot, Owner at Abbots Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
W and S,

Once again, thank you for your return visit (and for your recommendations to others), and for your latest very generous review. We were relieved that you managed to navigate the treacherous flooded roads to get to us, and that everything lived up to your expectations again (including the poached eggs!!).

Hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes to you both

J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellefontaine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

A superb place to stay - spacious, clean and comfortable; and ideally located for visits to Ludlow, Shrewsbury, Hereford, Ironbridge and the Welsh borders. Janet is a treasure - excellent cooking, both breakfast and the 2 evening meals we 'had in'. The local pub was a disappointment (we took one look and didn't go in) but the other pub in the village is presently being refurbished and there are half-a-dozen good pubs within a few miles. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldeclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjabbot, Owner at Abbots Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
D and E

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, and of course for your long booking with us - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found Wigmore a good location to base yourself for your visit.

We too are looking forward to the village pub refurbishment! We'll be adding updates to progress on our Facebook page, which should appear on our website homepage!

Kind regards
J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have just had a wonderful stay at Abbots Lodge - it was a much needed and thoroughly enjoyed mini break! I am incredibly fussy and we absolutely loved it here! The room was beautifully presented and maintained - the little kitchen was a lovely bonus - and we really appreciated having our meals in our room. It made it really relaxing for us. Janet is really skilled in not intruding but giving us all we needed. The food was fantastic! Super location with a beautiful view from the room. We definitely want to come again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Abbots Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
R and P
Thank you very much for writing so positively about your recent stay with us. We are obviously delighted that you found everything to your liking. We look forward to hosting you again in the future sometime!
Kind regards
J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed two nights at Abbots Lodge and found it to be a pleasant place to stay. The owner was welcoming and friendly and certainly a good cook. We enjoyed the birds feeding outside and the garden aspect. We liked being able to walk up to an amazingly historic site (Wigmore Castle) and be there where people of such importance had lived: walking on their steps, looking at their view... although it was a pity so many dog owners had not picked up their animals' faeces around about -this does not add to the ambience and is really rather selfish. We concentrated on the gorgeous view -carefully!

It's pretty conveniently placed. We travelled in to Ludlow for a lovely day -and ate at the Green Cafe there -not to be missed. We would have liked a pub with nice food and decent decor within walking distance too though -the only one we found was not somewhere we would have eaten and had not had a makeover since those 'smoke inside' days -oh dear. However maybe there are others coming -the little village certainly had builders about.

We thought the oak used for building this little apartment under the house was charming and interesting and indeed as others have said it is a well planned out bed sit area with a log burner and pretty fireplace windows; the ensuite and small kitchen provided good facilities. The curved staircase coming down from the house above right into the room is a feature; and the owner is a fine oak craftsman.

We liked the meals provided very much -the food was fresh and everything beautifully presented. There was plenty of it too. It would have been nice not to have to chose our meals so far in advance though, (ie when we booked) - and, although Janet was most friendly and checked carefully about when to come down into our room with our food, we didn't especially care for the feeling of a stranger's intrusion into what sort of was 'our own space' for the time we were there. The table is just two steps from the bed and the meal served right there at it - it felt like - right in the bedroom. And in the morning we needed to get up and make our bed to have her come down right by the bed in the morning with breakfast. Yes we should have asked for it to be later - but all in all it was not the best arrangement we thought for us -and perhaps we are unduly private people, but we would have liked to eat somewhere other than in our room.

Lastly, we would say that we think the room is perhaps a little 'tired'. -not unpleasant at all - indeed quite comfortable but just a little -umm -'well used' perhaps and maybe a freshen up would be good? There have been a lot of very happy visitors we noticed from the Guest Book since opening and we think that the photos were perhaps not taken very recently -We offer this thought more as a suggestion than a terrible criticism at all.
We certainly still rate Abbots Lodge as a nice place to stay and hope Janet and John have many more happy visitors.

Room Tip: It's just this one! Neighbours are close but not too bad. his ist not an historic home at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannifee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Abbots Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your very full review of your stay with us. We’re glad you enjoyed the space and character of the room and the outlook, our proximity for walking to Wigmore Castle and driving out to Ludlow, and the quality of the food that we served.

We’re obviously sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit to the pub in Wigmore. At the time of your visit the work on the other pub in the village had just begun and we are very much looking forward to it reopening early next year, after a very extensive renovation. It will be great for us to have another pub serving food within easy walking distance from us.

We fully understand that perhaps the ‘dining in your room’ experience that we offer isn’t for everybody. We believe that you were given your stay with us as a gift, so we appreciate that it may not have been your first choice of accommodation.

We do state clearly on the home page of our website that we serve breakfast and/or evening meals in the room. Indeed we felt (and have found) that many people like this ‘room service’ approach. We also make clear on our website and on the literature in the room, that we offer the opportunity for breakfast items to be left in the attached kitchen, for complete privacy.

Finally, and as you can see from other reviews, we often receive comments that the room is equal to, or perhaps even better than the pictures we have on our website. We certainly aim with all of the images we use, to show as clearly as possibly the size, style and details of the facilities we offer, the character of the house and the nature of the village setting we are in. We have been open for just over three years, and in this time have continued to make improvements to all aspects of the accommodation. As we manage and publish the website ourselves, we often add or update photographs. We will continue to monitor, maintain and seek to improve all aspects of the facilities we offer, to make sure they are fresh and attractive for future visitors.
J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Abbbots lodge is a great place for a relaxing break away. The room is absolutely gorgeous and I thought even better than the pictures shown on the website (if that is possible!) You can tell all details have been carefully thought about and it shows. Janet and John are both very welcoming and friendly and obviously care about their guests enjoying their time away. The breakfast was superb, and the little touches such as fresh milk, cakes, fruit juice and cereal are lovely! We would thoroughly recommend a break at Abbots Lodge and after one of the nicest breaks we have ever had will definitely be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Abbots Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
K and D
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much, thank you for taking the time to post a review. It's great to know that guests enjoy their stay, and we're pleased that you found the room matched the pictures on the website! We hope to see you again sometime - maybe to coincide with another 4 x 4 day, or maybe not!:-)
Kind regards
J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We wanted to get away for a relaxing weekend, and what better place to choose. The room is as beautiful, light and spacious as the website suggests, and admittedly although I thought that the kitchen would be a little strange to have in the room, it was in fact shut off by a door, and so you don't notice it at all. The bed is divine, and Janet's cooking superb - from the breakfast through to the cakes and dinner. There are lots of nice touches - different types of teas, full size Sanctuary products, ear buds and fresh flowers. It's certainly worth a visit, and the peace and tranquility make it all the more special. Thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helsvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Abbots Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
H and A
We're glad you found everything to your liking, and the bed comfortable!! We are very grateful for the peace and quiet we have, in spite of our village setting - and we hope that helps people to enjoy a relaxing break!
Thank you for your kind review, J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Last year we stayed at Abbots Lodge and found it to be the best B & B that we had ever stayed in. Not only was the en-suite room and kitchenette just perfect, but the food prepared and cooked by Janet was wonderful. Having our own private entrance was something that added to our stay as we never felt that we intruded on Janet and John and likewise they never intruded on us - in fact it felt like being at home, but with someone to look after you and cook for you. When planning our away days this year, we simply had to go back to Abbots Lodge - and we are pleased to report that everything is as perfect as it was on our first visit. The accommodation is as good as on our first visit and the food (breakfasts and evening meals) just as fantastic as we remembered. So we would like to say thank you to John & Janet for another truly enjoyable break. Hopefully we will be back again. J & G

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjabbot, Owner at Abbots Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
J and G
Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your return visit to us! We're very grateful for return visitors, and hope we might be able to help you again in the future some time.
best wishes
J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigmore
7.8 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.4 mi away
Walford Court
Walford Court
#2 of 9 in Leintwardine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#2 of 3 in Wigmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Lodge

Property: Abbots Lodge
Address: Abbots Lodge School Lane, Wigmore, Leintwardine HR6 9UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine > Wigmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wigmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just one generous double room that includes a sitting area with log burning stove, en-suite and kitchen, with private access via its own terrace. Food is served in the room (breakfast and supper if you choose to eat with us), cooked by Janet, former Head Chef at the Ludlow Food Centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing