We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, warm welcome”
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Tytherley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Traditional family run inn plenty of character, lovely garden leading you to a very comfortable
well stocked bar. It was a cool evening so a sofa by the log fire was welcome as we chose our meal from a good choice of menu. The food as stated by other reveiwers was excellent, locally sourced, home made, well presented - top restaurant quality food reasonably priced and elegantly served . Accommodation we knew was unfortunately not in the pub ,prefer old and quirky, but was clean and comfy, all in all a good choice. Mottisford Abbey nearby is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmerandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have eaten at the Star several times over recent years and can thoroughly recommend it. It has an interesting and varied menu which has even satisfied my vegetarian daughters. Food is excellent and well presented. Today' s meal included an excellent ham terrine, a bouillabaisse which my wife described as being delicious and a panettone bread pudding with apricot coulis was to die for. Courgette and Rosemary soup was an interesting combination of flavours, but not really to my taste. Service was excellent and very welcoming without being intrusive. Mid price range and very good value

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Figary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Cant fault the pub, great selection of food and drink, fireplace with sofas games and reading material, all very welcoming.
The accommodation however is need of updating and a tidy up. It comprises of 3 bedrooms in a purpose built brick building away from the pub, but overlooking the cricket pitch. The overall look is that it is run down and in need of some tlc. Just some plant pots outside the doors, cutting back the old plants that are overgrowing, or a lick of paint on the doors would improve first impressions. Inside it is like stepping back in time. Everything is old and dark. The sleigh bed was novel, but not comfortable, and the bedding was just awful. Brown sheets with stains on was not acceptable. Breakfast was served in the pub, and is mainly self service, and was adequate.
On the plus side dogs are accepted here at no extra charge.
It is situated quite away from the NewForest, and is not a particularly straight forward journey and with that said I would probably look for somewhere else if you want to be near The Forest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2holidayinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Although quite difficult to find even with a sat nav this place is well worth searching for. Nicely appointed and equipped rooms overlooking the village cricket pitch. The breakfast is very good and guests are made to feel very welcome. I only wish I had had time to sample the real ales that were on offer in the welcoming and cosy atmosphere of the Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank WalesWearsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I visit the Star Inn frequently. It is a wonderful country pub in the heart of rural hampshire. It is a true village pub. The landlady (Lesley), works hard to make the pub the centre of the community and, as well as being the village pub, also hosts a book club, Pilates classes, a regular Saturday morning mobile dog grooming session and a number if community events. The pub chef, Justin, produces some excellent menus and serves a variety of great gastro-pub meals worthy of a place on the tables of a number of good restaraunts i have visited. The bar serves traditional local ales and a selection of books, magazines and table games can be found in the lounge. The pub also has its own skittle alley. So if you want a traditional village pub that serves great food and has a great local atmosphere, visit the Star Inn at Tytherley.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was possibly the worst bedroom I have ever stayed in. At £80 it was a scandel. It is advertised as a cottage in the grounds but in reality it is a dark, dingy, cold and dirty room with a grotty bathroom. Our room (with the very uncomfortable sleigh bed) was decorated with dark red wall paper remonisceint of the 70's. The gold bed cover had a stain on it and we had BURGANDY sheets.The television was broken, the loo handle chipped and the bathroom was freezing (broken heater). The shower was so horrible I didn't bother and went home dirty.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I just love The Star. We have been a number of times now and there is always a warm welcome. Lesley works so hard to make the place so much more than just a country inn. There is a programme of varying events from music and skittles (the inn has its own skittle alley) to quizzes, book club, talks and even dog grooming (check out their web site for the latest 'what's on')! It is popular with both locals and visitors alike. The lovely local walks help build up a thirst for the wide array of real ales. The food is simply mouthwatering - imaginative menus and beautifully cooked. In Winter you can sit inside by the cosy fire; in Summer sit out in the charming garden (with a giant outdoor chess set). The rooms have been gradually renovated and whilst some decor and fittings are still slightly dated, they are clean, warm and welcoming. It's a just lovely place for a quiet break, Sunday lunch or country pub evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PingutheAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: East Tytherley Road, East Tytherley SO51 0LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > East Tytherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Tytherley
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seventeenth century inn sits on the edge of the village cricket green, and despite its growing reputation is still very much a friendly and welcoming local. The newly refurbished bar and dining room are cosy with fireplaces and beams intact. Our three bedrooms are in a small cottage in the grounds, overlooking the cricket green; recently re-decorated these stylish rooms offer comfy beds, en-suite facilities, free wi-fi and guests can even bring their dogs with them Dining at The Star Inn is relaxed, families with Children are very welcome, with a dinner menu alongside a ‘pub comforts’ menu guests can be assured to find something that suits their appetite! There is also a delicious lunch menu and a range of Sunday lunch options ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel East Tytherley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing