We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“! Fabulous food !”

Greens Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Wickham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Greens restaurant & bar is situated on the corner of the historic Wickham square.It is very easy to find and to park. The outside of the property looks traditional and well cared for with hanging baskets and well written blackboards, the inside is light & airy with a contemporary feel. Restful colours and wooden blinds add to the ambience.Crisp linen napkins, fresh flowers, friendly professional service and superb fresh food.Everything on the seasonal menus is homemade, using locally sourced produce when ever possible. The secret graden overlooking Wickham water meadows and the river Meon is a superb location in summer for a relaxing lunch, refreshing Pimms or cream.Owners Frank & Carol Duckworth have been running this establishment since 1985 and they are as passionate today as they were when they began trading. Their tag line of 'nothing is too much trouble' is as relevant today as it was in 1985.Fresh fish including king scallops,mussels and sea bass, Hampshire 21 day aged steaks,New season lamb, Gressingham duck,corn fed chicken and vegetarian options all feature on the dinner menu. During the week they offer set lunch -2 courses 13.95 3 courses 16.95 with a superb range of local dishes, including slow roast Hampshire belly pork ,Tempura of locally caught plaice goujons,honey roasted ham with frazzled free range duck egg & hand cut chips.Homemade desserts include Caramel creme brulee,lemon meringue cheesecake with homemade raspberry ripple ice cream and chocolate fondant.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“! Fabulous food !”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Made an Impromptu stop off here without a booking for late afternoon meal on a Saturday 22nd September while driving through Wickham and so pleased we did.

I thought it would be basic pub food but we had a lovely surprise, the food was Fabulous. With friendly staff and plenty of room around the tables, there was soft background music making it easy to have a pleasant conversation with the friends we were with. Looking forward to going back soon. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    77
    25
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited Greens for probably the 20th plus time! but never felt the need to review until I went to another local restaurant (the wickham vineyard) which we were very dissapointed with...and it's very true you don't tell people when things are good but tell people when things are bad! So I thought I'd just write a little review to say every time we have ever visited the food has been exceptional, the staff welcoming and accommodating, for the children they are also very accommodating, making anything on the menu for them. I'm never disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great menu and food but no kids menu”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a birthday celebration having been several times before. Food and service are very good but this time we had a 7 year old in the party and we found a limitation - no kids menu, the only option was a smaller portion of one of the very nice main courses which doesn't really match a child's desire! We ended up with a thinly sliced chicken breast (skin on) complete with jus and a jenga of chips, they tried but the reaction was a yeuch from my 7 year old who then had to be coaxed to eat which detracted from our experience. Maybe your kids will be into fine cuisine in which case you will be ok, but if like me yours prefer the goujons and chips or sausage and mash option then they will be disappointed. We love Greens and will definately return but this time adults only

Helpful?
Thank Jem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not much to look at when you come in and to be honest I thought the meal was going to be terrible based on my initial impressions. But I was proved very wrong. Sunday lunch here is spot on - done with a bit of panache - big portions, rare beef, fluffy yorkshires, cauliflower cheese well seasoned with mustard in for a bit of a kick, crumble with whole fruit but still gooey and cooked properly, crunchy crumble on the crumble, you get the idea! Everything was just right. And good value

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch, tempting desserts”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We often visit Greens Wickham for a family Sunday lunch and have never been disappointed. The feshly baked bread and mouth watering desserts such as Eaton mess compliment the high quality cuisine and friendly service. Warm welcome and half roasts happily provided for kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Wickham, Hampshire
 
Wickham, Hampshire
 

Been to Greens Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing