We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people great food”
Review of The Farmer Inn

The Farmer Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Horndean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people great food”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've been a few times the staff are amazingly friendly nothing is to much trouble. The food is fantastic we enjoyed the crispy belly pork. Can't say enough about the Atmoss of this pub

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daz6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovedean Hants UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Friendly local with high quality food”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have eaten here a couple of times now, with the current owners and it is a real pleasure. It is brilliant to have a friendly quality local within walking distance. The food is all freshly cooked and excellently done, no Chef 'Mic' in evidence.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colwells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just what you want for a pub lunch. Tasty, good value and friendly atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redbeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much improved traditional local pub, serving good food”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Elaine Fields & her family took the lease of this Fullers pub in the autumn of 2011.

They have substantially improved the ambiance, and their hard work has been rewarded by a growing number of customers, of which I am one.

It's a family run business, and as such the service is friendly. The food is good, light lunches are on offer, as well as good coffee, and from time to time special offers on two main meals.

In the winter there is a blazing log fire and in the summer one can eat & drink outside with a view across the car park to the South Downs.

There are many good walks in the area; if you enjoy walking The Farmer welcomes walkers, and their (well behaved) dogs.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngloFrench42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely country inn”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We decided to vist today just for a drink. Whilst we were drinking the food looked so good we decided to stay. We were not disappointed, the food was fantastic.
A lovely place to spend a few hours chilling out.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmer Inn also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Horndean, Waterlooville
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 

Been to The Farmer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing