We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!!”

Queen Elizabeth Country Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Horndean
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Gem!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I use both The Queen Elizabeth Country Park wooded areas and it's Neighbouring hill, Butser. Both are excellent for adventure and in my case dog walking. i use the open Butser Hill on ssunny days and tend to use the wooded area on less fine days. Butser offers one of the best, if not unique panorama views anywhere I know. To the south is Portsmouth and Southsea, with The Isle of Wight beyond. To the west is Southampton and to the east, Hayling Island,Chichester and the South Downs. To the North is Petersfiled. There is always plenty to see and it is a lovely area to just sit and relax if you do not want to walk. There are good mountain biking trails all around with designated routes within the forest. Horse riders are also catered for. Visit, you will not be disappointed!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollymillser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    81
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great outdoors.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Always loved the park, paths and trails clearly marked. Various walks to cater for all. Great coffee and cake.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Gorgeous parkland with plenty of walking space”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After reading some rather terrible reviews below - notably "My dogs were attacked" (cry me a river) - here's something slightly more in line with normality: Queen Elizabeth Country Park is a beautiful, sprawling stunner with plenty of tracks, trails and open space to entertain everyone.

You can explore Juniper Hill (amidst all the tall trees, towering across a steep slope), or you can head towards the ominous Butser Hill - a large, steep hill with beautiful views across the Solent and the rest of the South Downs.

We decided to walk the latter, hoping to have a brief rest at the top at the Butser Kiosk. After about 45 minutes of walking, we reached the summit and the kiosk was closed. This was slightly irritating as there was no warning of this, except a small paper sign on a rather out-of-sight noticeboard upon coming back down off the hill. It was disappointing, but we had taken a picnic, so all was well.

While the noise of the A3 is a slight disappointment, you cannot expect someone to: a) relocated a country park, or b) to move the road. Therefore, you just put up with it. And it's hardly the worst stretch of road ever, so it's a nice drive to the park nonetheless (from Portsmouth).

The tearooms are average - not good, not bad. It's not exactly a charming place, which is strange for such a charming park, but it's alright for a tea and a biscuit. Although I probably would not visit it again.

Overall, I think the park deserves four stars. The only slight let down was the insignificant signage and the average tearoom. Otherwise - including £2 parking charge - all is well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DisScrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful place full of fond memories.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have spent many an hour trampsing hrough the trails here. they are well marked and of varing degrees of difficulty. The park has a great crew which keep it going and the restaurant serves lovely cakes.
Christmas trees here are of great quality and reasonable price.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank one2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Easy to find, cheap to park, great walks, super coffee shop, easy to BBQ or picnic”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place is wonderful, we are lucky enough to live within 20 minutes drive.
Take stout footwear and walk hard up Butser Hill ( Dogs on lead).
Or drive up and run around/play/picnic atop at Jupiter.
Easy to find, easy to use, possibly easy to get lost.
Parking charges but bring enough for coffee and cake as little coffee shop is 'good enough'.
Lots of parking, borrow a dog if you have too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyHayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Elizabeth Country Park also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Hinton Ampner, Hampshire
 

Been to Queen Elizabeth Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing