We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a lot of improvement” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bursledon Brickworks Industrial Museum

Bursledon Brickworks Industrial Museum
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Bursledon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bursledon Brickworks Industrial Museum is all set to become one of the key visitor attractions in the South. The only remaining steam driven brickworks in the country we show how brick making made the leap from small scale production to 20 million bricks a year. The fully restored and working machinery helped us to win the coveted Institute of Mechanical Engineering Heritage Award in 2011 and on Open Days we can show it all running as it was when it ceased producing bricks. On site you can see the patented method adopted to dry the bricks and the huge kiln block that was used to fire them ready for collection. The museum has other clay based collections on site and lots of opportunities on offer which makes a visit both enjoyable and educational.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs a lot of improvement”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited last weekend for the event. Was really disappointed with the museum. I think the admission charges were very expensive for what was included. My children were upset to hear that the two small train rides at the entrance and the "Make a brick" activity were charged as an extra as I refused to pay for them, having just paid for the admission tickets. The museum is very ramshackle and has no proper descriptions as to what is what and how the brickworks worked. The displays were very old-fashioned and the children were not interested in them. The cafe was good and reasonably priced and my children enjoyed the new play area. I believe that the museum has been awarded a lottery grant and that this will be spent on doing some of the very much needed improvements. However, until I hear that the museum has been renovated I will certainly not be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BursledonBrickw, Manager at Bursledon Brickworks Industrial Museum, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We are an old industrial site and to some eyes it looks very tatty - others love it and have asked us to try and keep the spirit of the place even when we have re-interpreted the site. By this time next year we will have completed the reorganisation of the displays and we hope that one day you will feel like coming back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A trip to the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Run by very keen and informative volunteers. My husband worked in a brick works in the late 60s/early 70s and was very impressed with the knowledge of the volunteers. Hopefully they will be successful with their second lottery grant application to enable them to restore, repair and improve more of the works. Highly recommend a visit and younger visitors can actually make bricks.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jx3Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great for all ages, my two boys love it, tractor rides, train rides, traction engine rides, displays, interesting museum and all staffed by great volunteers that are genuinley interested and full of knowledge. Go to one of the open days and you'll love it!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthUKNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Really interesting great to see what goes on brilliant for all ages

Helpful?
Thank Traceyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“chrismas open day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

we went with are two grand children first thing we did was a train ride to santa's grotto they loved that. then back on the train back to the station then on to a steamroller ride around the works.next to the husky dogs ,walk round the brickworks tea and cakes back to other train ride. there where sheep, turkeys, steam saws and so much more i will let you find out youselfs. in the car on way home they did not stop talking about how much they had done .well done all the people who have keep this place going

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bursledon Brickworks Industrial Museum also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
 

Been to Bursledon Brickworks Industrial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing