We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & Good Value”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Newburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great & Good Value”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at this B&B as we were attending a party close by. We weren't sure what to expect but we were in for a surprise. The room was lovely, it was huge! The staff were friendly, plenty of choice for breakfast & the bar was nice too. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    46
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
46
78
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed one night for a nearby work event and we're so impressed we're looking for reasons to come back! The rooms are spotlessly clean, modern but classy and the bed was so comfortable I don't want to go back to my own! The staff are so friendly, efficient and helpful and the breakfast spot on. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Cannot rate this hotel highly enough - the staff were so accommodating and helpful. One of our group was unwell and they arranged for a room to be made up ahead of schedule, and then pretty much looked after him for the rest of the day! You cannot get service like that almost anywhere else.
The rooms were spotless and well presented, with little touches like bottled water, and the breakfast was superb (you really must try their sausages if you stay).
We've stayed before and did not regret returning - great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion whilst working in the area and was very very impressed with the room, the bed was one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in and the pillows were lush! The room had all the usual you find in a hotel room, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, shower gel, hairdryer, tv and free wifi which was a big help as i could get on with some work whilst there.
I ate in the restaurant that evening and received 20% discount on my meal as I had booked the room on-line. The food was delicious and the service was with a smile. breakfast the next morning was plentiful and just what I needed before the 180 mile drive home.
I will be booking in this hotel again when I have to visit site in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whackerv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
661 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited with family for a meal. We booked a table and there is a wide variety of choice of food and drink. All food fresh and good portions. You can sit at the front, rear and inside.

Located on the Main Street and has a good sized car park.

All staff were good with duty manager katrina friendly, pleasant and helpful.

Nice evening

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Red Lion. Would recommend. The room & bathroom were both clean and tidy, the bed was really comfortable and we had enough pillows without asking. The evening meal and breakfast were both good. The owner and staff were all polite and couldn't be more helpful. Would stay again next time we are in the area. Not far from the Leeds Liverpool Canal which was a lovely walk and access to Liverpool area was very easy. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJRJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent place. Stopped overnight and rooms were absolutely splotlessly clean, with lots of extra touches which were lovely. We also had lunch on the Sat and Sunday and the food was amazing, as was the breakfast. Staff were very helpful, very well run and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
3.3 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
3.7 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
256 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: 9 Ashbrow, Newburgh WN8 7NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Newburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing