We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a drive out.”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Newburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had spotted the red lion just driving through,so saturday night decided to have a drive from wigan and go have a meal,we phoned first to see if we needed to book a table,the friendly member of staff on the phoned said no but she would reserve us a table anyway,when we arrived we were met with a nice welcome,and showed to a table.Everything on the menu sounded good but we went for meals on the specials board,the food was fantastic,my partner had the steak,i had the red mullet,both meals were presented really nice,and tasted fantastic.We are sure we will be going again.Great pub,great food,nice ale,really nice staff...what more could you want.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 209 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having not been here for 20 months due to a bad experience the last time we stayed,I noticed that it was under new management so decided to see if there had been any improvement.We did not stay over this time but just had a meal.The décor had changed slightly and looked brighter ( always looked dark before), new curtains and a re-arrangement of the tables improved matters.The food and service were excellent and were made to feel very welcome.Hopefully next time we will stay over as from we saw in the bar/restaurant made it look as though improvements have been made everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had cause to stay here overnight 1st Feb as we were attending a wedding at Briars Hall and as we were able to get a room here for £35 it won over staying at the venue!
The price included breadkfast.
Check in was hassle free and the room had everything you could need. Shower gell/shampoo is provided, as are tea and coffee making facilities, together with hairdryer.
The rooms are attached to back of the pub in a two storey building. We were in room 11.
As we didn't arrive until 8pm, we only had time for a quick - very good - pint before heading off to the wedding venue.
Breakfast is served between 8am and 10am on weekends, There was a selection of yoghurt, cereal, juice and croissants set out. Tea, coffee and toast wwere upon request and your order for cooked breakfast was taken at the table. You could have pretty much whatever you wanted, but we opted for full.
The food arrived hot and well cooked, as well as being very good quality.
Check out was also hassle free, however I had thought I'd paid for the room when I booked online, but apparently not. Your card details are taken and you pay when you leave. This does need to be set out much clearer on the website.
I would definitely recommend - and have - to others and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have eaten at the Red Lion on two occasions recently and although its a nice cosy friendly pub the food was a little disappointing, The mains are acceptable but the side dishes that come with them are from our experience are less than acceptable. The first occasion we just thought it was a genuine oversite but the second was the same, the mash tasted more like smash and the greens had been so overcooked they had turned to grey mush. It a shame as its is our local pub and we would use it more often if the food was of a better standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 877JasonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My family and I have stayed at The Red Lion Hotel many times over the years, the large local family often eat in the restaurant and drink at the bar. On this occasion a close family member had passed away and I had the responsibility of booking rooms for the southern section of the family to come up to attend the funeral. Four people came the day before the funeral but two of our party were coming on the day of the funeral and needed space to change before the official check in time of 2.00 pm. I asked the Landlady if there was any chance they could book in early as the circumstances where out of the ordinary. The answer was a flat 'no' because she could not start cleaning the room before 12.00 noon so 2.00pm check in was the earliest. We said we would give them our room and maybe we could have coffee in the lounge at about 11.00am while they changed. The answer was again 'no' because they were too busy to serve coffee before the pub opened. The words 'we are not a hotel' were used which was quite a shock as the sign outside says 'Hotel'. My partner tried to reason with the landlady later and offered to pay a little extra in order to have an earlier check in. She was told the only way it could be done was for us to pay another full overnight rate for the room !!!

Not wanting to add to the stress that the funeral would bring later, we gave the two family members our room to change in and we wandered down the road to the Wayfairer's Restaurant which was closed but as we looked through the window, the owner came out and took pity, invited us in and made us coffee. Nothing was too much trouble and we were not even going to eat there.

I must say that the attitude of the Red Lion Landlady was not matched by any other of the staff, they were delightful, as was the food in the evening and indeed the breakfast. Perhaps the landlady was short staffed or had another problem? However, on the basis of her inflexible and unwelcoming attitude and the lack of any kind of empathy, particularly under the circumstances of our visit, my family and I will not be using the Red Lion ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked a one night stay with friends, we were going to a football game in Wigan. We arranged to meet our friends at noon, at the hotel. The site does say you can check in at this time, and friends had this on an email. Lady behind bar said only our room was ready, and friends would be ready at 2pm, she hadn't had anything from head office about other room, was a bit offhand. No problem our friends left their case in our room, and we ordered some lunch before we set off to the match. The hotel was very quiet at lunchtime, food came quickly, strange menu, only wanted a sandwich, no hame or cheese etc, wraps or warm things on bloomer bread. Food ok. Caught train to Wigan, station just down the road in Parbold, very handy. We had booked a table for 4 for the evening meal, as expected hotel to be busy. We were the only people eating, although I think the hotel was full. Would have gone somewhere else to eat, but weather was awful. Lots of specials on board, but again strange choices, me and my husband chose paella at £15.50 was not paella as it was white rice, friends had steak and burger, was well presented, they did not comment on food. Rooms ok for the price, modern and clean,good tv, hairdryer, even though I couldn't get it to work, no notices on plugs. Rooms very warm, even though radiator was off. Nice bathroom. Would stay again if going to Wigan but probably wouldn't eat there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baggie140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned home after spending the afternoon with friends walking in and around Newburgh and Parbold. Although we had booked a meal for a party of 14 I was pleasantly surprised by the welcome we all received. And what a late lunch it was, a great choice of food on the menu, and all top quality and excellent value for money. Very welcoming, superb service from the friendly staff and excellent food. What could be better - we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlbretherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 9 Ashbrow, Newburgh WN8 7NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Newburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newburgh
Price Range: $85 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing