We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to Complain About” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smiths Restaurant

Smiths Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Eccles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing to Complain About”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Having heard a lot of good reports about this restaurant I was looking forward to my visit. The meal started well by being offered fresh bread and butter (which was delightful) but the rest of the meal was pretty average and nothing to shout about.

It has a wonderful ambience though and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

I wouldn't complain if someone if offered to buy me a meal there but I wouldn't go again by choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    62
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked this restaurant to celebrate my boyfriends 25th birthday. We travelled from Glasgow and were staying in Salford for the weekend. We had both been looking so very forward to dining here and we were not disappointed. To start with we were about 20 minutes early for our table but this was not a problem and we were seated right away. The food was out of this world and much better than we had expected. After dinner we needed to arrange for a taxi back to our hotel which the waitress kindly done for us and watched out for the taxi arriving so we did not need to wait outside for it. Overall it was the perfect start to our weekend. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terrikane91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Three Great Courses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Dined here Saturday night on friends recommendation, have to say had three really great courses from their 19.95 menu.
Started with bacon,crab and rocket salad with parsley dressing, the slice of lime provided gave it a loverly fresh clean taste. Clean plate number one.
For mains I had chicken with very mild curried mash and sauce, sides where tasty pan fried mini potatoes, pureed carrot and cabbage, lip-smacking good. Clean plate number two.
Had to be the warm Eccles cake in cream for dessert. Clean plate etc etc.
Efficient/pleasant service all night long.
Our bill came to 70 quid, but that included 2 spanish beers, nice bottle Viognier, two coffees and a brandy, worth every penny.

Can`t wait to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Middle of the Road Sunday lunch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Having been here a few times before, and looking for somewhere nice to go with family, we decided on Smiths. It was late sunday afternoon when we arrived, and a large rowdy group were just leaving. The restaurant was quiet, and we had to wait to be greeted and seated at our booked table.

The food was good hearty food, but nothing to absolutlely rave about. The fish chowder is always a winner for a starter, be cautious with the breaded squid (or rather the salad beneath it - it was laced with sliced hot chillies!) the slow roasted belly pork & apple mash was comforting sunday food, others had the sea bass and risotto, and were complementary about them. The eccles cake with butterscotch icecream was enjoyable (but was better with the Cheddar cheese icecream last time I visited) The apricot & hazelnut eton mess was a good balance of flavours that rounded the meal off nicely.

A nice relaxed restaurant, good honest food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weimiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Went for meal 16thjan2014 it was excellent , staff welcoming and friendly. Not rushed to choose from menu plenty of choice . We went for early meal at 6pm and two courses cost £14.95 . Both courses were very tasty and presented well. I would recommend to all my friends and relatives

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliplaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiths Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Smiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing