We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit....excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiths Restaurant

Smiths Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Eccles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manchester england
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“first visit....excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

it was our first visit to smiths in eccles we live about 20 mins away and never heard about we went with two who had been there before

we chose off the set menu which was £19.95 the menu as plenty to choose from

the wine list was not over priced

the staff were pleasant

we will be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    63
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Here Al-dente Means Almost Raw!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner and I have eaten many times at this restaurant. The food is very imaginative and varied, with a really reasonable Table d'Dote menu which is even more reasonable if you eat early. The staff are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The surroundings are nice too if you ignore the overpriced pictures that are passed off as art hanging on the walls.
What a shame, then, that without exception, every meal is accompanied by almost raw vegetables. I understand that over-cooking ruins the taste and nutritional value of food and agree with the al-dente concept. I do not agree with carrots and broccoli that are so hard you can't cut them without great difficulty and risk them flying off the plate in protest. This restaurant would easily deserve 5 stars were it not for this consistent failing. We live locally and have heard this complaint voiced by many other people. It says much of the quality of the rest of the fayre here that we keep returning but the disappointing vegetables mean that more and more we are going elsewhere to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank New2nA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“6 minutes from Victoria Station, Manchester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Catch the Liverpool train (20 minutes to the hour) and travel for 6 minutes to Eccles. Off the train, up the steps and there is Smiths- a great restaurant! A varied and imaginative menu to suit all price ranges, from snacks to 'specials'. A favourite restaurant for years- try for lunch- superb! Check website for opening times and try somewhere different - no distance from city centre by train. This sounds like an ad, but it's not!! Have never written a review for restaurant before, but this is truly a favourite and deserves its loyal customers and new faces too! Give it a try. Great art for sale too, by local artists, graces the walls. A culinary/cultural experience in one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBWhitefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We eat at Smiths several times a year as it is within walking distance from our house. Smith's is consistently good and we've never been disappointed.

There is a great value set menu which changes regularly. There is a wider choice on the a la carte menu and an interesting specials board but we rarely feel the need to venture away from the set menu. The wine of the month is always worth a try and the wine list has a selection for all tastes and pockets. They also do a beer of the month too, which you can have chilled (why?) or room temperature to enjoy the full flavours. I believe there is a list of lagers too but that's not my taste.

The service is always friendly and helpful

If you're in the area give it a try - you won't be dissapointed

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top food - generous portions - excellent informal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good food - with some interesting menu items to explore, as well as a few basics.
The service is very prompt and friendly without being too formal.
Portions can be a bit over-generous, but all good food and good value.
A gem worth travelling to.
I believe they also have jazz evenings, but I haven't been to one of those (YET).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiths Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Smiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing