We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”
Review of Ascott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at this charming B&B for over 100 nights whilst working in Salford since last summer which should give some indication of how highly I rate this establishment.

For me, it ticked all the boxes: comfortable rooms, convenient location, decent breakfast, welcoming and friendly staff, reasonably priced. Unlike other similar hotels in the area, it also has more than adequate off-street car parking, even when other residents chose to park across several spaces, as sometimes happened!

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough and it would definitely be my first choice were I to visit the area again.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back; the more expensive rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    78
    12
    9
    14
See reviews for
36
131
47
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent small hotel. Room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The cooked breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Conveniently situated just off M602. Wouldn't hesitate to stay her next time I'm in Manchester

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missshep63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over night while we watched the Manchester derby.. Lovely hotel, felt very home like. Warm and inviting. Our room was number 7 situated on the top floor.. The room was small with a sloping ceiling, but was perfectly fine as we were only there a night.. The bathroom was clean and the shower lovely.. Would suggest a bath mat though.. The room was clean, although maybe a quick hoover behind the bed would be good, but then again I think how many times do I do that at my own house!! ... Would say though the plaster holding the back of the tv remote could be changed to duck tape...

Breakfast was yummy!! We had a full English each and tasted fantastic.. So would just like to thank you for our stay..

Ps... One thing I did notice was the dead bird in the blue pot left of the main door, you can see it's bones and feathers.. Hope it doesn't smell too much when you move it... I would blame local cats!! Lol..

Thanks again.xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've stayed here most week-day nights for the past 3 months. I initially tried other hotels and B&Bs in the area but settled on this one, being head and shoulders above the rest. The rooms are tastefully decorated in keeping with the age of the property. The bed and chairs in the rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is freshly cooked to your requirements. The hosts are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Home from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David20Swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELSO
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Cosy, comfortable, clean, and always a great welcome from the owner.
An amazing little hotel in a world of big bad others.
I've spent many nights in big name hotels and found many faults. Have yet to find any at the Ascott.
A great place to stay in Manchester!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IRISHLADKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longstanton Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights ( 1st & 2nd March) ,usually stay at " big name" central hotels ,but reviews were good and
my wife and I though we would give it a try.
The reviews were 100% right ! Room was large,bright, fresh and very clean , host ( Peter) was charming and helped with
Local info taxis ect .
Breakfast especially good ,would definitely stay again and recommend without hesitation or qualification?
Great VFM !


Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Firstly easy to find and a lovely welcome by the owner who was also very helpful! Great location close to the tram which is cheap. The room was nice but the floor boards are very Squeaky but im sure this is down to it being an old house the bed was comfy and nice and warm,The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it the lady was lovely and friendly, will be visiting again very muched enjoyed!
Constructive criticism the room was generally clean but in the morning i went to have coffee and the saucer had dust and dryed milk on it and then my partner went to have a shower and there was hair in there (SORRY) BUT EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
2.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.4 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - TRAFFORDCITY
4.0 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Hotel

Property: Ascott Hotel
Address: 6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ascott Hotel Manchester situated in a leafy suburb 5 miles from Manchester city centre (10 minutes by car). Our tastefully restored Victorian town house close to Monton Village with its wealth of eating places and offers individually styled rooms and also has a large period style guest lounge. We are very proud of the fact that the hotel was voted Best B&B of 2004, and has also appeared in Coronation Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Hotel Eccles, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing